49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Merci, Lynn. Nice simple and delish. I used frozen Haricot Verts from last years garden ( I love these beans-not as productive as blue lakes, but oh... great taste) and used Fleur de Sel, my favorite french salt. Will certainly make this again. Made for the Epicurean Queen Team, ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby June 05, 2009

This was a very nice side dish that I served with Lemon Chicken. The garlic was just the right amount to suit our taste buds. Thanks, Lavender Lynn. We really enjoyed this dish. Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal June 05, 2009

These are great! It's very similar to a dish I already make, but I ususally don't cook the beans before I fry them. It acutally makes more sense to cook them first. I thought that tasted better. Thanks for a simple recipe, I will make all summer long. Made for ZWT5 - Epicurean Queens

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York June 03, 2009

Wonderful, easy side dish. I made these last night & ended up regretting that I didn't buy more beans. I used low fat margarine & didn't worry about the salt & pepper, but followed the rest of the recipe. Served with Cajun Pork Cutlets and Creole Sauteed Cabbage for a great dinner. Will definitely have these again. Made for ZWT5 by a Hell's Kitchen Angel.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl June 02, 2009

I admit that when I went to make this recipe I thought 'it will just be beans' but the truth was in the degustation (tasting). They were so yummy that I ate them all first before touching the rest of my meal. I used reduced fat margarine but otherwise kept it all to the recipe. I think the important thing is to keep the beans a bit crisp so that they have a slight crunch to them as eating. Made for Chow Hounds on ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne May 28, 2009

Are there many foods that aren't improved by the additon of garlic and butter? These were very tasty beans, which ended up being the highlight of our meal. Thank you Lavender Lynn for rescuing our dinner. Made for ZWT 5 by one of the Cooks With Dirty Faces

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet May 27, 2009

Excellent! Such a flavorful way to serve green beans. This is an instant favorite for our family. The garlic and butter...mmmmm...so good. I thought it was the perfect amount of garlic. I used a bag of Steamfresh green beans and cooked them in the microwave (just cook a for a bit less time than recommended since you'll be adding them to a hot pan afterwards). I then emptied the green beans into the hot skillet with garlic and butter and seasoned to taste. Easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 04, 2009

This is the only way to eat green beans. I like my veggies, but plain gb's are just so boring sometimes! We used frozen gb's, a little sauteed onion and garlic. No more leftover green beans!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamplemoussee January 22, 2009

i needed a quick and easy side dish for thanksgiving and I saw this. This is the same way I prepare my green beans and i just love it! its a good way to sautee spinach too! so simple yet sooooo tasty! great recipe! made for recipe swap!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeliBug November 30, 2008

I prepared these beans as written with the exception of using frozen in place of fresh, a substitution I don't recommend. Other than that change (not the recipes fault) these beans are very flavourful and I plan on making them again soon with fresh beans. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario November 09, 2008
Garlic Green Beans