Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2009

      Merci, Lynn. Nice simple and delish. I used frozen Haricot Verts from last years garden ( I love these beans-not as productive as blue lakes, but oh... great taste) and used Fleur de Sel, my favorite french salt. Will certainly make this again. Made for the Epicurean Queen Team, ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      This was a very nice side dish that I served with Lemon Chicken. The garlic was just the right amount to suit our taste buds. Thanks, Lavender Lynn. We really enjoyed this dish. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      These are great! It's very similar to a dish I already make, but I ususally don't cook the beans before I fry them. It acutally makes more sense to cook them first. I thought that tasted better. Thanks for a simple recipe, I will make all summer long. Made for ZWT5 - Epicurean Queens

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Wonderful, easy side dish. I made these last night & ended up regretting that I didn't buy more beans. I used low fat margarine & didn't worry about the salt & pepper, but followed the rest of the recipe. Served with Cajun Pork Cutlets and Creole Sauteed Cabbage for a great dinner. Will definitely have these again. Made for ZWT5 by a Hell's Kitchen Angel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      I admit that when I went to make this recipe I thought 'it will just be beans' but the truth was in the degustation (tasting). They were so yummy that I ate them all first before touching the rest of my meal. I used reduced fat margarine but otherwise kept it all to the recipe. I think the important thing is to keep the beans a bit crisp so that they have a slight crunch to them as eating. Made for Chow Hounds on ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Are there many foods that aren't improved by the additon of garlic and butter? These were very tasty beans, which ended up being the highlight of our meal. Thank you Lavender Lynn for rescuing our dinner. Made for ZWT 5 by one of the Cooks With Dirty Faces

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Excellent! Such a flavorful way to serve green beans. This is an instant favorite for our family. The garlic and butter...mmmmm...so good. I thought it was the perfect amount of garlic. I used a bag of Steamfresh green beans and cooked them in the microwave (just cook a for a bit less time than recommended since you'll be adding them to a hot pan afterwards). I then emptied the green beans into the hot skillet with garlic and butter and seasoned to taste. Easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      This is the only way to eat green beans. I like my veggies, but plain gb's are just so boring sometimes! We used frozen gb's, a little sauteed onion and garlic. No more leftover green beans!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      i needed a quick and easy side dish for thanksgiving and I saw this. This is the same way I prepare my green beans and i just love it! its a good way to sautee spinach too! so simple yet sooooo tasty! great recipe! made for recipe swap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      I prepared these beans as written with the exception of using frozen in place of fresh, a substitution I don't recommend. Other than that change (not the recipes fault) these beans are very flavourful and I plan on making them again soon with fresh beans. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Update: Made these again! Using olive oil rather than butter- healthier they say! This time I used lemon pepper and WOW oh WOW! The lemon is a sure fire hit here! This recipe is great and the lemon just adds that hit of ... oh wow! Thanks again for Lavender! Awesome recipe Old Review:Beautiful side. I really liked this alot. I think the butter could be reduced as there was an abundance of it in the finished dish, I was not sure of the heat level or the amount of time to cook the butter and garlic so I melted the butter over medium, added the garlic and reduced the heat to low/med low and slowly cooked the garlic until it became a beautiful golden color without getting brown or bitter. Served it with Tilapia Piccata which was a great compliment. I really liked the dish until some of the lemon butter wine sauce from the Tilapia Picatta drifted from the fish to the green beans- then I LOVED it! Wow! I will definitely make this again but with a splash of wine or better yet maybe some balsamic vinegar in the garlic butter sauce. I felt it did need a little more salt and pepper as well but that could just be me. Great side that will be made again! Thanks for sharing Lynn! Made for Bev Tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      The only way I cook green beans (or most other green veggies!). I find salting the water generously helps them keep their green color. Also, I'll usually boil them way early, before all the other dinner time stuff starts happening. I just make sure I drop them in ice water, or run under cold water, to stop them from cooking until I'm ready for them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      Most definitely a winner and very easy to make. I will definitely keep this in mind when my local famer's market has green beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      It absolutely amazes me that something so simple can taste so good! I sprinkled a few toasted almonds on top for a garnish and it was all so wonderful! Tasted like something for a special occasion. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      5 star all the way. Great flavor enhancer for the beans. We loved it as part of our Easter dinner Thanks Lavender for posting it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Simple and so delicious! I halved the recipe, using 1 tbls. margarine. Thanks Lynn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      These are really good and really easy to make. I love green beans and this is now one of my favorite ways to fix them. Just delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      I have made these for years. The only thing I do differently is that I don't cook them in water first. Just put 2-3 T. olive oil in the pan (I use my cast iron frying pan)and saute fresh or frozen string beans, whole or cut up, in the oil. Olive oil is much better for you than butter, so this is one way to help if you are watching your cholesterol. Love them! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Very quick, very easy and great garlic flavor! Thanks, Lavender Lynn! Made for Jan. Bev. Tag 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Great garlic flavour! I used four cloves of garlic and a bit more salt than called for, and it turn out to be a quick and tasty side dish. Lots of flavour with little effort: perfect. Thanks Lavender Lynn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 115.0
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    69%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 22.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 155.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites