Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic, Chickpea & Spinach Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic, Chickpea & Spinach Soup

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2002

      Another great soup Friedel, come live at my house and cook me soup please! Had guests for lunch today and served this (doubled the recipe). Only change I made was to omit the cornstarch-I felt that with all the stuff in it, including the potatoes, it was naturally thick enough. It's just as Friedel say, subtle, garlicky, creamy, yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      I tried this tonight for dinner as I needed to use up some of the spinach from the garden. It was really good. Everyone liked it! I did make a few changes tho. I added 2 celery stalks, I left out the coriander, as I didn't have any, and I didn't add any double cream as I can't have dairy. Even without the cream the soup was very thick and "creamy". Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      I can't get enough of this soup! I have an empty soup bowl in front of me as I type (and that was my second helping).

      I've just made it for about the fourth time. I have this recipe in a veggie cookbook but thought I'd see if it had made it up here to zaar (as I still think of this place) because I want to urge as many people as possible to try it.

      The only thing I do to deviate from recipe as written is put in double the amount of potato.

      Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      this is a wonderful soup!! Made it a few days ago and looking forward to making it again. I didn't have fresh spinach, used frozen one and added it with chickpeas. Thank you for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Delicious! My husband said, "Put this on your list to make again!" To reduce the fat content, I used skim milk instead of cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Really wonderful soup for a cold (-14 degrees here) winter's night! The only changes I made were to use chicken broth and to add some sliced turkey kielbasa along with the spinach (hubby must have some meat). I served it with some Thai chili garlic sauce and crusty Ciabatta bread. I will definitely be making this again and will probably use it as a company recipe in the future. It's the perfect consistency and the spinach adds a beautiful color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This is very very good. My DH and son who tend to be a bit picky enjoyed it. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      This is a wonderful vegetarian soup. My entire family loved it. I left out the cornstarch because I don't like thickeners in my soup- so it was a thinner base.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      This was wonderful. I didn't have any tahini so substituted 3-4 tablespoons of Costco hummus. Used a variety of vegetables I had including carrots, potatoes sweet potatoes and some mushrooms. Didn't have any double cream but added a dollup of sour cream after I served it and it was very yummy. My daughter who is the picky eater came back for seconds. Thanks for a great (and easy) recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      We really enjoyed this soup. Lots of different textures and flavors come together perfectly here. I did use chicken broth rather than veg stock, but otherwise followed all instructions. Really wonderful - thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      mm good. love the cumin. we ate it with turkey bacon crumbles on top, which was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This was amazing! I had some Tahini I needed to use up, so this was the perfect recipe. Even my husband commented on how good the soup was and he despises chickpeas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Yummm. The other day we had our wettest day in 3 years in Melbourne, and it's SUMMER! That made us feel like a comforting soup and were also on a spinach kick, so this worked out really well. I also made it without the cornstarch and found it to be thick enough for us. We've always got these ingredients on hand, so it'll be sure to make it's way to our table again. Thanks for sharing, Sackville. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      We loved it! I did use milk instead of cream. It looked devine and smelled even better. A tasty soup on a cold winter day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Sensational soup. I lost count of how many times our Czech exchange student said 'really' before he added 'good soup'. We all loved it. Used chicken stock and only two teaspoons of cornstarch. The broth was delicious, so you could skip step 4 and its ingredients (cornstarch, cream and tahini) if you needed to for any reason. Will be making this often in future. Meant to add some lemon, but forgot. In too much of a hurry to wolf it down. A wonderful find from Pick a Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      A chef I used to work with used to make a variation on this exact recipe (I can't remember the name of the cookbook). For those of us who don't like creamy soups, or don't want all the fat, instead of using the cornstarch, cream, and tahini, substitute a large can of chopped tomatoes, a bit of garlic oil, and some basil, lightly pureed and heated, then add with the spinach. I thought it was really grogeous, as I don't really 'do' dairy:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      Easy and filling, very nice soup. I omitted the cream but added the cornstarch, and I pureed most of the soup because I'm a lazy eater. So I ended up with a pretty thick consistency which was just great. I also added a good squirt of lemon juice at the end. Yum. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      I am not a soup fan (I generally don't even consider it a "food"), but this was wonderful. I threw in a lemon too. Nothing wrong with that. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      Picking this soup to make was a no-brainer for me. As far as I am concerned, this is a hommus soup and my favorite hommus flavor is spinach. This alone makes the recipe incredibly versatile - just substitute spinach for your favorite hommus flavor, be it lemon, sun-dried tomato/basil, olive, etc. etc. I felt the tahini was important to the texture of this soup, but I'm sure sesame oil tasted good too. Since I too used milk (and reduced oil somewhat) I included the cornstarch but had I used cream I could see omitting it. This is the second of Friedel's soups I have tried and I think she has a well-deserved reputation as a soup expert! Thanks very much, I'm going to try this again with variations. No doubt I will love every one of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      Absolutely loved this soup. I didn't add any cornstarch (Forgot to put it in, doi) and it still turned out lovely, plenty thick enough. With the amount of cream in this recipe I thought it may be too rich for my taste, but this wasn't the case. 6 out of 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic, Chickpea & Spinach Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (332 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 474.9
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    51%
    Total Fat 26.9 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 54.3 mg
    18%
    Sodium 387.0 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites