11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This dish is very flavorful, with a rich sauce. I used the honey instead of sugar, and we did not have the rice; just served it with a salad. A very enjoyable meal.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leta November 16, 2002

THANK YOU!!! This was YUMMY!!! We used pork loin instead of chicken. I think if we just had a bowl of rice and the sauce we would have been just as happy :o) This is a great work night dinner...easy but definitely satisfying. I was a little heavy handed on the balsamic and garlic because we love those flavors. This is a keeper without a doubt!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLM808 January 13, 2004

Good dish! It has really nice flavor and the sesame oil is a great touch. I used honey and cut the pepper flakes by 1/2 (feeding kids here). Next time I think I'll cut down on the broth -I had enough sauce for 8 chicken breasts. I will also cut back on the garlic - we LOVE it but it was a bit more than my stomach could handle. Your adaptation of Mirj's recipe is really good. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW December 04, 2003

We had the chicken for dinner. Will be serving the sauce with rice during the week. I used honey. This has a very nice flavor. I will be making this again. Thank you Kari.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit^..^ty Of Canada November 03, 2003

This was a good dish. Followed instructions to a tee. Mom really enjoyed it more than I. We served with plain rice and grilled asparagus.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff October 30, 2003

This recipe deserves more than 5 stars. Truely a great dish. Fairly easy to prepare, and the end result was so wonderful. Very rich, and flavorful, the perfect balance of spice and splash of the balsamic. Thanks for a definate keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty October 25, 2003

Wonderful flavor! DS's comment was "this chicken tastes awesome!" I used 6 large cloves of garlic and 1/2 cup of balsamic vinegar. Kari, thanks for sharing your recipe. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas July 26, 2003

Loved it! I did not thicken the gravy with cornstarch (didn't have any) and just soaked up the delicious gravy with whatever was on the plate...chicken, rice, vegetables!! This will be made again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
You Do the Dishes June 29, 2010

We liked this, but actually preferred Mirj's#15507. This was good, no doubt about it. We thought the sauce was too thick and didn't really think it was spicy enough even though I had increased the red pepper flakes to 2 tsp. What moved me to make this was the "spicy" in the title since we love hot food and we love #15507. My husband added Tapatio hot sauce to his chicken and sauce and liked it very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristianne October 12, 2006

I absolutely loved this dish! At first I was a little caught off guard by its tartness from the vinegar. By the time I finished my piece I couldn't get enough! It had the taste of sweet and sour chicken, but definitely much better than any I've ever had at a restaurant. Wonderful, wonderful flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPharo September 24, 2006
Garlic Chicken Breasts with Spicy Balsamic Vinegar-Sesame Sauce