8 Reviews

If I could give this 500 stars, I would. DH ate every single bite. His dialysis requires extra protein, so any main course that is safe for his AND that he'll eat is a blessing. I added baby carrots to the potatoes & they were almost carmelized. Simple & scrumptious. THANK you SO much !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sparky955 March 30, 2004

Love the recipe! Mine ended up being Chicken soup. I made my own broth because I didn't have any (1 tbsp butter to 1 cup of water). I added spices to the chicken before I put in the crock pot because I saw in other reviews that chicken was bland. I also added spices to the broth. I did not have honey so I used apples and even they came out deliciously topped on the chicken. Chicken was tender. I added carrots and broccoli because I had it there and my husband loves broccoli. Such a great recipe and was my first time using the crock pot wish I would have taken a picture of it to post here and show my mama. Thank you so much! Loved the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beca J. July 29, 2015

This chicken was very tender--but bland. I followed the recipe exactly, I added 1 1/2 cups chicken broth. Something missing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaWags March 03, 2008

The 4 stars are for the chicken. It was very tender and had a wonderful flavour to it. I can't give it 5 stars because I didn't really like the way the potatoes turned out, and I also followed the recommendation and added about 1.5 cups of chicken broth - there was more than enough liquid, so it actually ended up rather soupy (nothing a couple of slices of bread couldn't help soak up, though). I loved the butter and honey combination. I'm not sure if I'd make this one again, but if I do I would just follow the recipe as it is written, or omit the potatoes and just roast a few separately or something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeff.c.taylor October 02, 2006

Absolutely yuummmmy. We all loved this one. Smelled so scrumptious as it was cooking I could hardly wait. The only changes I made were a little more butter & honey and I used chicken tenderloins instead of breast as that is what I had on hand. Also I squeezed the juice of two lemons over the top before cooking. An absolute keeper. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xanthe October 01, 2004

This smells great as it is cooking but really didn't have as much flavor as I had expected. It was super easy to do and great to come home to. If I made it again, I would probably add more lemon pepper and garlic but I'm not exactly sure what it was missing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu April 29, 2004

This did not go over to well with my family. The kids (15 yr & 9 yrs) wouldn't eat it, DH did though yet he said this is not a "repeater". I guess we just didn't like to flavor combination.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat Rahal April 22, 2004

I'm going to give this one three stars simply because it did NOT work for my family. The sweetness of the honey was very disconcerting and no one finished their potatoes. I was really hoping to like this one because it is so simple to make and the ingredients are staples in my kitchen but unfortunately it did not go over well. I'm sure others would love it but the flavors did not blend for our tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momofallboys April 20, 2004
Garlic Chicken and Potatoes (Crock Pot)