9 Reviews

The meager amount of garlic that the recipe calls for is barely detectable, but it's a great cheesy bread, so it did not go to waste at all. It's certainly worth a repeat performance, but it needs a kick in the pants from some more garlic.

50 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® June 10, 2002

Pretty good! I, too, think it could have used a little more garlic - or maybe real garlic instead of the powder. Either way, it was still good & the texas toast toasted up very nicely on a cookie sheet in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb April 12, 2009

this may be my new fave :) awesome! thanks Dancer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cass and sam December 16, 2008

Yummy! I doubled up on the garlic powder with good results. Next time, I will omit the salt and see how that goes. Thanks for such a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the6-sranch June 14, 2007

This is so easy, but really flavorful. I halved the recipe for a small French loaf, and mixed shredded Swiss and mozzarella for the cheeses. The bite of the Swiss and tang of the Worcestershire really added to the flavor. I served the bread with a green salad and Chicken Cannelloni (With or Without Spinach) for a casual Sunday night. I'll definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal April 02, 2007

Absolutely wonderful. I did go a bit heavier on the garlic, but this was better thanthe main dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DD in Michigan December 16, 2004

this was delicious! i took the advice from the other reviews and added more garlic. Everyone who had some also got seconds!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cdmattice August 08, 2004

This was really good spread. I took the advice of the other reviewers and added extra garlic. I pressed two garlic cloves and added it to the mixture. Then I spread it on sourdough slices and baked it according to the directions. DH commented on how good it was and had seconds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas April 25, 2004

Even though there wasn't much garlic, this bread was so cheesy and good. I think I will add a little more garlic salt next time. I didn't have parmesan, but did have a pre-shredded bag of cheddar and mozzerella mixed, so I used that and it was still great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSueAl April 13, 2003
Garlic Cheese Bread