Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Brown Sugar Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Brown Sugar Chicken

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2007

      We really liked the taste of the chicken. My hubby was pretty skeptical at first, but he decided he liked it in the end. One thing I will do differently next time . . . I added the broccoli to the crockpot at the end as suggested. I don't know if it soaked up too much of the sauce or what, but it was way too bitey and took away from the good flavor of the chicken. In the future, I will just keep it separate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      This is SOOOO good!!! I started with frozen chicken breasts, and they were still done on time. Couldn't be easier to throw together! The sauce didn't quite cover my chicken, so about three and a half hours in, I turned the chicken breasts. I know its a no-no for the crockpot, but still turned out fabulous. The chicken breasts were a fabulous mahogany colored, and sooooo flavorful!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      Very delicious dinner! I used ginger ale, rice wine vinegar and white vinegar. I doubled the sauce and I'm glad I did. My crock pot makes everything really watery so I poured the sauce into a pot and reduced it over med-high heat while I made the rice until it was a syrupy consistency. My chicken was done in 3 hours on low. My husband took this for lunch the next day and it was still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Very easy, tasty recipe! A bit of a tang from the vinegar and pop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      This turned out really good! I found the recipe about an hour before we needed to eat, so I made it on the stove instead. I am sure that cooking it slower would have been better, but the sauce was so yummy we didn't mind. My husband was in raptures. He says that this is what "sweet 'n sour" sauce should taste like! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      The ingredients in this dish seem like they wouldn't go together but they do mix together well. I use white vinegar and I don't have a problem with a vinegar-y taste, but I did add more soda than the recipe calls for. I think the vinegar is there to cut the sweetness of the sugar and soda. The end result doesn't taste like any of the ingredients specifically, it's one of those things where everything together makes a new flavor. I serve this over white rice with sugar snap peas and it always turns out really moist and delicious. I like to use the leftover chicken in a salad the next day, as it also tastes good cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      I must say that the chicken breasts turned out very, very dry - I'm not sure why, as no one else seems to have had this problem. Also, the sauce was way too vinegary for my liking, very sharp. I used red-wine vinegar as that's what I had. Perhaps another type of vinegar might have worked a more subtle effect?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      I altered the recipe a bit, but it turned out perfect! It was tender and not dry. The taste was a delicious misture, nothing stood out as a dominating flavor. Everyone in my family loved it, and I will definitely be cooking it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Brown Sugar Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 484.7
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    24%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 612.5 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 54.9 g
    219%
    Protein 31.5 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes