Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Bread ( Regular Loaf) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Bread ( Regular Loaf)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2002

      Made this to go with Greco Chicken and Pasta tonight. I set the breadmaker for "dough" and shaped it into a traditional french bread shape. Let it rise for 30 minutes then baked at 400F for 25 minutes with a dish of water on the bottom rack to mimic a stone oven. The kid loved it. Nice and crusty with good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      This is a great recipe!! I used 1/2 tsp garlic and herb mix and skipped the garlic paste, and it was just right for my family .. thanks Karen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      Another yummy keeper for our house. Thanks Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      This is very good. This is so quick to put together and since the machine does all the work, its easy too. We really liked it and will make again for any Italian dishes. Thank you for sharing, its soooo yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Very Good. Also let the breadmaker do the doughy work. Didn't have any sweet basil, so I subbed 1/2 tsp of italian seasoning. Didn't have any garlic paste either, so I upped the garlic powder to 1 tsp. Shaped it into a loaf and baked at 425 degrees until golden brown on top. Will make again. Also, this dough does not rise very high in the bread machine, however, it rises almost double in height after baking starts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      This was good but came out of my breadmaker in a very lumpy and unattractive stone. Apparently my rapid cycle is not the same as yours because it did not really rise. The flavour seems good though so I will try and remake on the regular cycle. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      I let the bread machine do all the work (I took all the credit...lol) when it was done I took out the dough and shaped it like a loaf of french bread, slashed the top with a razor blade, brushed on some melted garlic butter with some Italian seasoning. Sprayed the inside of the oven with water (don't spray the bread) a few times while baking to get that crusty top. It was wonderful. Now I can't just serve store bought anymore, don't think I want to either. Thanks so much for sharing.......now if I could just find garlic paste.... Lee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      Yes, this does smell incredible while baking! As written, I did use the rapid bake cycle. I got a very small, dense, irregular-shaped loaf. The taste was wonderful. I do have another "rapid bake" cycle on my machine that takes 30 minutes longer. I will use that cycle next time and allow a bit more rising to yield a larger, slightly airier loaf. Thanx for a great bread recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      Here is an interesting note from another Colorado gal. I made this recipe here and in New York when visiting there recently. It was almost a flop out there and perfect here. I don't know why, but I trully believe that elevation has something to do with the success of this recipe. I didn't have garlic paste, so I used more minced garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      We loved this garlic bread, made it to go with left over pot roast, gravy and veggies, it was the perfect match. Wonderfull and garlicy, did the whole thing in the bread machine, turned out smaller than most loaves but perfect crumb and lovely crunchy crust. Didn't have any garlic paste so used some fried garlic from the Oriental store, worked great. We will definately make this again, thanks Karen for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      The bread was very good, but I found it a tad bit dry. I used the bread machine on dough cycle. Kneaded it slightly, formed it and left raise fro 1 hour. I baked it like Debbie did, 400F for 25 minutes with the pan of water in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      I agree with Christina G. My loaf was very flat. I think that next time I will double the amount of yeast, and bake it in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2002

      This tasted allright, but my loaf did not turn out as a regular size loaf. I followed the instructions you gave but my loaf looked more like a half a loaf. Next time I think I'll use the "bread dough" and finish it in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Bread ( Regular Loaf)

    Serving Size: 1 (450 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 985.7
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    21%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 8.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 1249.7 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 199.7 g
    66%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 29.1 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites