109 Reviews

This is by far the best enchilada recipe I have ever tried. It's perfect, nothing needs to be changed! I have been searching for a good one for a while now, and you definitely hit the target! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Finn #2 March 28, 2008

The only enchilada recipe I've made since finding it in the April/May 1999 issue of TOH. This is the recipe that convinced DH that there is a place for cheese in food & that eating chili powder can be pleasant. The original recipe states that it feeds 4-6 but I can usually feed 6-8 on it. Don't let the long ingredient list scare you. To save time I usually take two small bowls or measuring cups & pre-measure the spices for the enchiladas & the sauce all at once. Then beside each bowl I place the canned or other ingredients needed with those spices. I was going to post this recipe because my original clipping is rapidly disappearing... almost as fast as a pan of these enchiladas will!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** February 15, 2008

Delish! They took a little time but it was fairly easy and totally worth it. I was a little afraid of the sauce because it looked so thick but after baking it and eating it I'm totally converted. This recpe will definitley be used again. The only changes I made was that I added some salsa to the beef and next time I think I'll add some corn. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jez * January 30, 2008

When I first made this I thought it was alright, but then as I had continued to eat the left overs I liked it less and less. I followed everything according to the recipe except I used Vegetable broth instead of beef broth. I thought that the chili powder flavoring was overwhelming and it wasn't a very complex blending of flavors as I would have liked, it just tasted like chili powder broth. Ugh. I don't plan on making this again, the search continues for a good beef enchilada recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah&Hannan January 26, 2008

These enchiladas were simply diVINE. We LOVED THEM!!! You said they took time to prepare, but really it was pretty simple and WOW. Next time I make chicken enchiladas I am definately making this sauce with chicken broth. Thanks a lot. Great recipe that will be used often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Che~Sara` January 24, 2008

These were very good, but next time I'll make a few changes. For me, the stewed tomatoes gave this dish a slight sweetness that I didn't particularly care for. Next time, I'll use Ro-tel instead, as I think it would add a better flavor and it doesn't contain sugar the way the stewed tomatoes do. I did add a can of green chiles, which I will definitely do again. The only other change I made was to reduce the flour in the sauce to 1/3 cup. I will definitely make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen January 06, 2008

This is a great recipe that I first got from an old Taste of Home magazine. We love the garlic flavor (I think I usually use 4 cloves in the sauce so it won't be too overpowering for the kids. I also use ground turkey instead of beef and sometimes use the 2% cheddar cheese to lighten it up a bit. Thanks for posting! : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Diva December 20, 2007

I loved the sauce, but felt the filling could've been punched up, and I think it would benefit form the addition of some beans, maybe. Or a bit of tomato sauce. I did add a little more chili powder & cumin to the sauce, but the cooking method for the garlic - it just really brings out a great, mellow flavor. I will definitely make the sauce again, and probably play around with the filling :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal December 20, 2007

These were easy to make and tasted good. The filling was great and I loved the thickness of the sauce. The garlic was a little overpowering for us, but that's just us. (They are called "GARLIC" enchiladas afterall). If we make them again, we will scale back on the garlic by about 1/2. Thanks for posting. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troseOR November 15, 2007

UPDATE: changing to 5 stars after leaving out the salt - perfect! ORIGINAL REVIEW: Very nice dinner, not too much work at all! Served with salad and lite sour cream; I halved the recipe and it made 3 good size servings. Note to any Aussies trying this: the chilli seasoning we get here is already salty enough - you really don't need to add more salt, the end dish was quite salty. I'd probably add some real chilli powder to the mix next time to spice it up a bit. Thanks for posting your great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
currybunny November 14, 2007
Garlic Beef Enchiladas