Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Beef Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Beef Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2007

      I didn't add the flour to the sauce, because I know that the chili powder and other seasonings would thicken the sauce up enough and I was right.. the sauce is great without it! These are delicious, and I will definately make these again, the kids loved them.. I garnished them with chopped green onions, jalapenos and black olives.. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      I was quite disappointed with this recipe. I found the sauce way too thick and I could easily taste that it had been thickened with flour, which I'm not fond of. I used old, somewhat reduced crushed tomatoes and possibly that was part of the problem. If I was to make it again, I'd probably make a few changes, but I've already got 2 enchilada recipes that we love, so it's unlikely that I'll bother. Maybe the leftovers will be better. Sometimes it works that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      Made this and served it to our guests this evening and it was a hit! My husband looked at the recipe while I was making it and said that it looked like WAY too much garlic. So, to suit him, I cut the garlic in half, and it turned out great. Didn't have any sage on hand, so I substututed Thyme, which worked out fine. Also had to substitue some Chipotle Chili Pepper for some of the Chili Powder because I ran out of Chili Powder while making this. Left out the onion too (also to suit my husband.) I doubled the recipe, and it made one 9x13 pan full of enchiladas. Served with buttered corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      These were sooooo good! I made the both the filling and the sauce early in the day and put them together right before baking them. I had to stop myself from constantly tasting the filling because it was just so good. The only thing I didn't add was the sage (didn't have any) and I used a can of chopped tomatoes. I also added about 6 oz. of sausage meat to the mix because I didn't have a full pound of beef. I made six. I had one (they were filling) and my stepson ate three! He took the remaining two for lunch today. Can't wait to make these again for the hubby! Thanks Manda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      This recipe is definitely 5 stars! I added some green chilies and cayenne pepper to it and it was awesome! My DH cleaned his plate and couldn't believe how good they were. We will definitely add this our book of favorites! Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      This was very good. I used diced canned tomatoes. Next time I will add a bit of cayenne to add a little heat to the spice. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      I agree with the other reviews. This is WONDERFUL! There is a huge difference between making these from scratch and using canned sauce, ect. I'll make these again but just not a lot due to the high fat content. Just thinking about it makes me want to eat them again;)! Thanks Manda for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Really delicious! I just paired this up with a salad but next time (and there WILL be a next time), I'll make some spanish rice and a black bean salad as well. Definately worth the effort. Made exactly as written and were very much enjoyed by my whole family and a couple of stray teenagers that always seem to find their way home with my teenager LOL Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      This was my first time at making beef enchiladas and this was very nice. My husband really enjoyed the flavor of the sauce. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      I must say, these were so yummy. The inlaws loved them (mexican food is not overly common where I live). Only change I made was I was using left over taco meat so I omitted the spices in the beef. (also I use a very hot chili powder so I reduced the amount used to 2 tsp and they were still very spicy, but good) They are definitely a keeper, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      What a wonderful recipe. My wife and I often go out for Mexican food and she stated that this is the best enchilada she has ever had period. Believe it or not my brother-in-law ate 4 of them at one sitting. I will definetely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      One reviewer commented they didn't like the thick sauce--that is exactly what we DID like! Thanks for explicit directions, Manda--the enchiladas turned out perfect, and you can be sure this recipe will be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      These were exceptional in flavor, but I found the sauce to be a bit thicker than I like for enchiladas. Next time I think I will try these with corn tortillas instead of four; they were a bit more like burritoes than enchiladas. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      This was a bit of work, but the sauce is so delicious! This will be made again for sure at my house. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      5 stars for the WOW factor and of coarse taste. I questioned this recipe every step of the way for one reason or another and then I took that first bite and said Wow! Very good and I'm glad I tried these. I prepared exactly as written. I made the filling and the sauce in the morning and refrigerated. When I was ready to prepare dinner I warmed the sauce and filling a little, before assembling them. I made 6 large enchiladas and baked them for 40 minuets before adding the cheese and then baked the additional 15 minutes. We each had one and can't wait for the leftovers tonight. All recipes picky DS loves are 5 stars and golden. Thanks for posting Manda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      This was very good. I used ground turkey instead of beef. I had trouble with the sauce in that it never got really smooth, but this was still very satisfying with a side of brown rice. Thanks for the posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      I have this recipe from Tast of Home as well. Amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      These were great. I was skeptical about the sauce while I was making it, but it turned out wonderful and very creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      I am not an enchilada person, but my husband and kids absolutely loved these! I used ground beef but I think I will try the turkey next time for a more healthy alternative. A must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      What else can one add to the reviews. I thouroughly enjoyed these, however gave it only 4 stars as the sauce is much thicker (or pastier as one reviewer said) than I would have liked. I will definitely make these again, bit will add a little more beef broth and a little less flour next time. Used homemade thick tortillas and it was very good! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Beef Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (608 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1832.5
     
    Calories from Fat 777
    42%
    Total Fat 86.3 g
    132%
    Saturated Fat 37.9 g
    189%
    Cholesterol 196.3 mg
    65%
    Sodium 4845.7 mg
    201%
    Total Carbohydrate 183.4 g
    61%
    Dietary Fiber 15.0 g
    60%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    65%
    Protein 80.4 g
    160%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites