Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Beef Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Beef Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2008

      This is by far the best enchilada recipe I have ever tried. It's perfect, nothing needs to be changed! I have been searching for a good one for a while now, and you definitely hit the target! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      The only enchilada recipe I've made since finding it in the April/May 1999 issue of TOH. This is the recipe that convinced DH that there is a place for cheese in food & that eating chili powder can be pleasant. The original recipe states that it feeds 4-6 but I can usually feed 6-8 on it. Don't let the long ingredient list scare you. To save time I usually take two small bowls or measuring cups & pre-measure the spices for the enchiladas & the sauce all at once. Then beside each bowl I place the canned or other ingredients needed with those spices. I was going to post this recipe because my original clipping is rapidly disappearing... almost as fast as a pan of these enchiladas will!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Delish! They took a little time but it was fairly easy and totally worth it. I was a little afraid of the sauce because it looked so thick but after baking it and eating it I'm totally converted. This recpe will definitley be used again. The only changes I made was that I added some salsa to the beef and next time I think I'll add some corn. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      When I first made this I thought it was alright, but then as I had continued to eat the left overs I liked it less and less. I followed everything according to the recipe except I used Vegetable broth instead of beef broth. I thought that the chili powder flavoring was overwhelming and it wasn't a very complex blending of flavors as I would have liked, it just tasted like chili powder broth. Ugh. I don't plan on making this again, the search continues for a good beef enchilada recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      These enchiladas were simply diVINE. We LOVED THEM!!! You said they took time to prepare, but really it was pretty simple and WOW. Next time I make chicken enchiladas I am definately making this sauce with chicken broth. Thanks a lot. Great recipe that will be used often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      These were very good, but next time I'll make a few changes. For me, the stewed tomatoes gave this dish a slight sweetness that I didn't particularly care for. Next time, I'll use Ro-tel instead, as I think it would add a better flavor and it doesn't contain sugar the way the stewed tomatoes do. I did add a can of green chiles, which I will definitely do again. The only other change I made was to reduce the flour in the sauce to 1/3 cup. I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This is a great recipe that I first got from an old Taste of Home magazine. We love the garlic flavor (I think I usually use 4 cloves in the sauce so it won't be too overpowering for the kids. I also use ground turkey instead of beef and sometimes use the 2% cheddar cheese to lighten it up a bit. Thanks for posting! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I loved the sauce, but felt the filling could've been punched up, and I think it would benefit form the addition of some beans, maybe. Or a bit of tomato sauce. I did add a little more chili powder & cumin to the sauce, but the cooking method for the garlic - it just really brings out a great, mellow flavor. I will definitely make the sauce again, and probably play around with the filling :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      These were easy to make and tasted good. The filling was great and I loved the thickness of the sauce. The garlic was a little overpowering for us, but that's just us. (They are called "GARLIC" enchiladas afterall). If we make them again, we will scale back on the garlic by about 1/2. Thanks for posting. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      UPDATE: changing to 5 stars after leaving out the salt - perfect! ORIGINAL REVIEW: Very nice dinner, not too much work at all! Served with salad and lite sour cream; I halved the recipe and it made 3 good size servings. Note to any Aussies trying this: the chilli seasoning we get here is already salty enough - you really don't need to add more salt, the end dish was quite salty. I'd probably add some real chilli powder to the mix next time to spice it up a bit. Thanks for posting your great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      The garlic was so overpowering on this dish that it left me sick for a couple of days afterwards :-( It was one of the easier and quicker enchilada dishes I had prepared so I was disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      good meal, it was my first time trying something mexican, and this turned out well! i liked the sauce; very flavourful. the only thing is that this dish is really rich and filling, half an enchilada and i am beyond satiated with the dish. thank you for a great recipe anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      These are really good, real good flavor. My hubby loves beef enchiladas, but I've never tried to make them myself. I've made his family recipe for chili enchiladas, but not beef. The only problem was they totally fell apart when we took them out of the pan, so it was more like a casserole then enchiladas. Instead of flour tortillas I used corn tortillas, I knew he would prefer the corn tortillas over flour. I fried them in oil to soften them some. And since I can only find small tortillas at my store they were really over stuffed. All in all we liked them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      These were wonderful...I made them exactly as stated, but used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. They came out wonderful...will put in our favorite recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      We really liked the flavor of these and the house did smell wonderful while they were cooking! I thought the sauce was a little thick, but DH thought it was fine I do think next time I'll cut back on the flour a bit. I used diced tomatoes instead of of stewed and corn tortillas instead of flour. I had a a bit of trouble with the sauce - it was a little lumpy, but it was fine after baking. Based on other reviews, I'm really looking forward to trying the leftovers tomorrow! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      This is my all-time favorite recipe! The flavors combine so well with the sage, cumin, and chili powder. The sage is something I've started putting in a lot of my Mexican dishes and it just enhances the flavors so well! This is a very, very rich-tasting recipe so watch out! Yummy! Thanks for posting and sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      My family loved these, and they are always a hit at gatherings. I have been making them since they first appeared in Taste of Home years ago.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      Truly wonderful enchiladas! I just realized that I forgot to add the flour to the meat mixture, but it definitely did not have any sort of negative effect because these were the most wonderful enchiladas I've ever tasted. I was looking for a recipe where I could make my own sauce rather than using pre-made, canned stuff and this recipe was perfect. Thanks so much!! We added a bit of hot sauce and cayenne to the meat. We topped with sour cream, lettuce, tomatoes, cilantro and lime wedges. Thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      These are the best enchiladas I've ever meade, I absolutely LOVE them! I will probably add some veggies in the future but it is great as is. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      Great dish. Everyone loves it. I followed the recipe exact except I decided to use corn tortillas instead of flour. After rolling them up, I sprinkle some extra cheese on top, bake it for 15 minutes in 350 oven then garnish with some cilantro and chopped scallions. To Die For!! Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Beef Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (608 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1832.5
     
    Calories from Fat 777
    42%
    Total Fat 86.3 g
    132%
    Saturated Fat 37.9 g
    189%
    Cholesterol 196.3 mg
    65%
    Sodium 4845.7 mg
    201%
    Total Carbohydrate 183.4 g
    61%
    Dietary Fiber 15.0 g
    60%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    65%
    Protein 80.4 g
    160%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes