Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Beef Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Beef Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2010

      These were great ... made them just as stated and used corn tortillas. If you warm them in the microwave first, they don't break up when you roll them. The only change I will make next time is to use turkey instead of beef. I think you could easily substitute any kind of meat and these would be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Very good -- used corn tortillas instead. I've had trouble with soggy flour tortillas in casseroles. Corn tortillas do want to break a bit - but the're going to be smothered in sauce and cheese anyway -so no worries! I also added a tsp or so of cilantro -cuz we love it -(it's in alot of the food you get at the restaurant Chipotle) to both the sauce and the beef filling. I agree that you should make the sauce ahead of time - I made it in the a.m. and fridged it til I put the rest of it together in the eve. Otherwise - fabulous basic recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I too have made these many times from the TOH cookbook. I love how smooth the enchilada sauce tastes! Thanks for posting this favorite! PS - I usu use corn tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      I got this recipe a long time ago out of the local newspaper. It came from Taste of Home Magazine & was a prize wining dish from a woman named Jennifer Standridge in Dallas Georgia. They are THE BEST enchiladas I have EVER had. Today I was looking for a recipe to use up some ground beef & I'm glad I came across this again. Thanks for the reminder Manda looking forward to making these tonight!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Wish I could give this more than 5 stars! This was wickedly good! And simple to make too! I modified a couple things because we are a bit fussy. lol I pureed the tomatoes (we dont like chunks) and I sauted the onion and pureed it and then added it to the meat to cook together (again with the chunks). Best we have EVER had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      best beef enchiladas EVER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      These were delicious! Thank you for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      If I tried to make these again, I'd add more chili powder and cumin, as these flavors get lost in the beef, tomato and cheese flavor. It tasted more like an Italian dish than Mexican.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      Time consuming, but worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I first discovered this recipe in "Taste of Home" cooking magazine a while back and it is one of those recipes that my husband asks me to make for him. Don't let all the ingredients scare you it is overall an easy recipe to make. I usually use less salt than called for. It makes a large pan and these are hearty enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I have been making this recipe from Taste of Home for at least 4-5 years. It is a big family favorite! I make the Chi-Chi's Sweet Corn Cake to go along as a side dish. Lots of carbs, but its a once in a while special meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      AWESOME! This recipe came from "Taste of Home" magazine, and I have been making these for about 3 years. They are unique, and I am asked EVERY time, for the recipe. ONE NOTE...I don't add the SALT...there is plenty of flavor going on here, and no need for it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      AWWW MAN Slap me silly . These are just like what my maw maw made Ohh thank you for posting so much now i can brag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Hands down these are the BEST Enchiladas EVER!!!! GREAT FLAVOR. They do take a little bit of time but it is well worth it. I did use corn tortillas because I do think they taste better for an enchilada.I did use a can of diced tomatoes and not the stewed, we just don't like the taste of them. Served them with home made refried beans and Green Cilantro Rice (108262). My DH says this is now one of his favorite meals. Thanks Manda for sharing such a Fantastic recipe!! I highly recommend these :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Very tasty dish! I used corn tortillas, since that's what we prefer for enchiladas. Served up with Quick Mexican Rice. Sprinkled the top with a few chopped scallions for garnish. Better than eating out! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Just average. The sauce taste like the sauce in a can which is not a bad thing because now I can make my own sauce and not worry about what is in it. The filling however, is just not right. I agree with another reviewer that I won't use stewed tomatoes next time. Infact, I don't know if I would use tomatoes at all. Sorry this just isn't the best recipie. Update. Ok I still don't like the filling for these enchiladas however the sauce is perfect. I won't ever buy a can of sauce again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I made these for a birthday party. They were a hit! Friends asked me for the recipe and were surprised about the amount of garlic used for this yummy enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      I followed other recommendations and made the sauce ahead of time. I will be using this recipe for some time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Very good! I made the filling and sauce the night before so I could quickly put them together after work. Just warmed them up a little in the microwave and had to add a little extra broth to the sauce. Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      My DH amd I really liked the flavor of these enchildas... i used flour tortillas and we thought they were too wet and mushy..Next time I will try corn tortillas..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Beef Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (608 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1832.5
     
    Calories from Fat 777
    42%
    Total Fat 86.3 g
    132%
    Saturated Fat 37.9 g
    189%
    Cholesterol 196.3 mg
    65%
    Sodium 4845.7 mg
    201%
    Total Carbohydrate 183.4 g
    61%
    Dietary Fiber 15.0 g
    60%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    65%
    Protein 80.4 g
    160%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes