Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Basil Bow Ties Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Basil Bow Ties

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2002

      The recipe can be adjusted to meet the needs of a Solo Cook or the desires of two lovers. While the Farfalle Bow Tie Pasta was cooking ( about 12 minutes ) I placed the chopped garlic glove and fresh basil in a pasta bowl and covered with the olive oil. Just before adding the drained pasta, I added the yogurt and stired to make a sauce. After the pasta was tossed in the sauce, I added the salt, and the two peppers, tossed again and topped with the cheese. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      WOW! This was simply out of this world, and I couldn't believe how easy it was! I scaled down to 1 serving and omitted the olive oil because I didn't really think it was necessary. I'm glad I did, because this was "creamy" without being heavy. I used garlic powder because that's all I had, but I bet this tastes even more fantastic with fresh garlic! Thanks for a wonderful dish, Inez... I'm going to make this a LOT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2002

      I stopped at Safeway on the way home and picked up a precooked chicken. I diced it up and added the garlic (I used 6 cloves!) and browned. I then added the yogurt, stirred and added to the pasta. The chicken makes it very filling. I added a pre-packaged salad and bam! dinner in 20 minutes. The kids went crazy over it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      Fantastic!! A no fuss dish. I followed the recipe exactly and it backed full of robust flavor. Next time I will try lemon yogurt as one review stated. This will be a keeper. It went well with Inez's Salsa Chicken #31636.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2003

      I was really skeptical about using the yogurt, but it was really great! My daughter said "this smells like real authentic Italian food" and my husband kept raving about how he loved the "taste of lemon" in it. They were shocked to find out it was yogurt. I browned the garlic in the olive oil before tossing with the pasta, and I think I could have gotten by with 1 Tb. of oil instead of 2. Delicious and fast! Great idea to add the chicken - I'll try that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      I liked this very much, however my Grandson, didn't. The garlic is pretty strong, so it is probably suited for those of us who are real garlic lovers. Thanks MizzNezz, I'll make it again when he's not home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      I made this using half the yogurt and it turned out wonderful!! Thanks MissNezz for the easy recipe! It was quite good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      This is a great recipe and one that we will be enjoying often.Perfect for those long days when you want a great tasting meal without spending hours in the kitchen.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      It was good. I ended up buying too little yogurt (6 oz.) but put in a little half and half. I also forgot to put in the two peppers. I browned the garlic in the pan first. Definitely use Sherrie's suggestion of 6 garlic cloves if you are a garlic lover. It was a little dry but still yummy. My boyfriend sent me an email the next day telling me it was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      This was freakin delicious. I added a small chopped chicken breast I had to use up. Made in the morning so my BF could have dinner when he came home, so I didn't add the yogurt. He heated up the dish (sans yogurt) and added it to his serving as he ate. He LOVED it. He said it tasted like a homemade alfredo. (We used homemade sheep's milk yogurt). Also, he said he asdded a couple glugs of balsamic b/c he was craving the vinegar. I tried it the next day for lunch since it sounded good, and it was a wonderful addition! Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      This was very good. Everyone liked it. I didn't use the oil since I'm on weight watchers core and would have to count points for it. I used fat free yogurt and I also used whole wheat egg noodles for the bow ties. I think this would be very good with chicken in it and when I mentioned it to the family they all agreed that next time I try it that way. I think I will also try it with fresh dill rather than basil just to shake it up a bit. This recipe really is open to so many variations. Thank for posting this great, easy recipe. UPDATE: I added chicken that I seasoned lightly, broiled and then pulled into strips and I replaced the basil with dill. It was very good with the changes, next time I'll try oregano. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      Very good! Does not reheat well so eat it while it's hot! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      We were looking for ways to use up extra yogurt and found this! It was quick and easy to make. Next time we have yogurt about, we'll probably try adding some veggies and chicken, as others have suggested, since we thought it could use a little extra "something." Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      I give this 4 stars only because it's cheap and easy. None of us finished our plates which is extremely rare. It has poor presentation and was very tangy. I served with roma tomato slices on the side to liven it up. Steamed broccoili may have been good. I think this would be better as a side dish, not a meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2003

      well, I tried this for my family, and no one liked it! I also added chicken. I followed the recipe to a "T" (besides the chicken) I brought some to my mom to get her opinion...and she didnt like it either? She tasted the yogurt right away. Just not one for my family, but everyone else that rev'd seemed to like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Basil Bow Ties

    Serving Size: 1 (196 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 480.1
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    29%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 90.3 mg
    30%
    Sodium 466.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.3 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes