Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic and Parmesan Sourdough Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic and Parmesan Sourdough Bread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2002

      This bread is so incredibly aromatic that it's almost sinful. I used olive oil, fresh shredded parmesan cheese and about 5 small cloves of fresh garlic. The wet to dry ingredients ratio was a bit off for me. The dough was way too bulky and dry (my bread machine had trouble with it) so I had to add an additional 1/4 cup of starter and about a 1/4 cup of water to get a workable consistency. The dough then came out silky and smooth. I hand formed it into an elongated rustic loaf and we're using my garlic cheese spread as a topping for dinner tonight. I ate both heels already and the flavor is magnificent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2005

      I found that 3 cups of flour was just the right amount to make great bread from this recipe. I used Parmesan and some shredded Asiago, and also added about 1/2 tsp of Lumberman's Steak seasoning, a tremendous mix of various herbs and salt. Next time I will use it instead of the salt. The loaf I made is still baking, but the rolls I made are done - I sprinkled half of them with the lumberman's seasoning- Oh My!Delicious! So start with 3 cups of flour and adjust from that - I think you will be happy with the results. UPDATE: I just sliced into the loaf today, two days later, to make sandwiches. The texture is just perfect - I could make thin slices that were just heaven with ham or mortadella and cheese. The flavor has matured, as is so common with sourdough loaves, and if anything, the bread tastes better than did the rolls I scarfed down straight out of the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This is a very flavorful bread. "Rich" in taste. I paired it with a lobster/shrimp pasta with a vodka-red sauce. Great balance! This bread did take a bit more rise time for me, but I used 1/2 whole wheat flour as well. Update: After making this bread a couple more times, it has become one of my favorite sourdough. What I've learned: *Don't use half WW in this recipe, or you'll lose the taste of the parmesan. *I actually prefer parmesan reggiano cheese in this recipe. *I typically require about 1/2 to even 1 less cup of flour for this recipe. Fantastic flavor.... this is what I would call a 'decadent bread'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Very tasty! I used 1 cup less flour, and still had to add an addition Tbl. of milk. Nice balance of garlic and parm. Thanks for sharing.

      D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      Like others, I wish there were a rating higher than 5 stars. I found that only 3 cups of flour and a cup of milk was about right. I also substituted molasses for honey for a more distinct flavor. I made a "tear&share" like Jenny (great idea by the way!) and sprinkled it with mozzarella cheese and spread sun-dried tomato and basil tapenade on it, then stuck it back in the oven so the cheese would melt. My husband loved it. If he weren't already married to me, I feel certain this would've cinched the deal. The sourdough loaf I made also came out great. I plan to make this next time company comes. WONDERFUL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      Just finished cooking this and the smell is so amazing. I followed the ingredient list as given and did not have dryness as others have described. I do not have a bread machine so mixed the ingredient in my stand mixer at about 8.30pm and then placed dough in a Pyrex bowl which I had oiled, covered with plastic wrap and left to proof over night. At 7.30am the morning I pre heated my oven to 450c with my pizza stone tipped the bread on a little flour, extra Parmesan and smoked paprika on the top. Threw some ice in the bottom of the oven and cooked for 10min then dropped the temp to 200c for a further 20min. The loaf looked amazing and has a great crust ....see pic. ;))

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      This is so good. I love the texture and the flavour. I'll definately be making this again and again. Bill took a bite, and just smiled. No words were needed here! Thanks Donna for *another* fantastic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      This is an absolutely wonderful bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      This is one very tasty recipe! I would agree with some of the others that it needs more liquid, I used about a cup of milk in total, maybe even a bit more. I made a 1lb loaf and also a "tear and share" loaf in a round tin, using about 8 small balls of dough arranged in a circle. This was gorgeous with our Italian meal, and I would definitely do again. Well done Donna another flavoursome recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      Donna: Wish I could vote this one more than 5 stars. Very easy to make and so flavorful! I used the doughcycle of my bread machine, however, I too only needed 3 cups of bread flour, but of course that all depends on the thickness of the starter. Instead of fresh garlic I used 1 tablespoon of Just Garlic and 1 tablespoon of Just Tomatoes and it turned out wonderfully. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      The recipe's flour amount needs to be corrected if it is off by a full cup. This is the first bread I have made in my ABM that had odd pieces of dough sticking out. It smelled so good while it was baking; it's a shame to waste premium cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      This bread was the most loved item of all the Christmas presents we gave. I do not use a bread machine since I consider it important to be able to feel the texture of a dough to get good bread. Flour can vary by how much moisture it has in it and no one recipe will come out the same every time if you are using flour from different batches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      I also found the dough to be too bulky but, even with the suggested changes, could not get the right consistency. I eventually gave up and baked it anyway-- the flavor was delicious, but it was definitely dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic and Parmesan Sourdough Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (800 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2504.5
     
    Calories from Fat 502
    20%
    Total Fat 55.7 g
    85%
    Saturated Fat 18.6 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 76.0 mg
    25%
    Sodium 3422.0 mg
    142%
    Total Carbohydrate 410.2 g
    136%
    Dietary Fiber 13.7 g
    54%
    Sugars 19.2 g
    77%
    Protein 82.0 g
    164%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites