13 Reviews

This bread is so incredibly aromatic that it's almost sinful. I used olive oil, fresh shredded parmesan cheese and about 5 small cloves of fresh garlic. The wet to dry ingredients ratio was a bit off for me. The dough was way too bulky and dry (my bread machine had trouble with it) so I had to add an additional 1/4 cup of starter and about a 1/4 cup of water to get a workable consistency. The dough then came out silky and smooth. I hand formed it into an elongated rustic loaf and we're using my garlic cheese spread as a topping for dinner tonight. I ate both heels already and the flavor is magnificent.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraFish September 15, 2002

I found that 3 cups of flour was just the right amount to make great bread from this recipe. I used Parmesan and some shredded Asiago, and also added about 1/2 tsp of Lumberman's Steak seasoning, a tremendous mix of various herbs and salt. Next time I will use it instead of the salt. The loaf I made is still baking, but the rolls I made are done - I sprinkled half of them with the lumberman's seasoning- Oh My!Delicious! So start with 3 cups of flour and adjust from that - I think you will be happy with the results. UPDATE: I just sliced into the loaf today, two days later, to make sandwiches. The texture is just perfect - I could make thin slices that were just heaven with ham or mortadella and cheese. The flavor has matured, as is so common with sourdough loaves, and if anything, the bread tastes better than did the rolls I scarfed down straight out of the oven.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte September 12, 2005

This is a very flavorful bread. "Rich" in taste. I paired it with a lobster/shrimp pasta with a vodka-red sauce. Great balance! This bread did take a bit more rise time for me, but I used 1/2 whole wheat flour as well. Update: After making this bread a couple more times, it has become one of my favorite sourdough. What I've learned: *Don't use half WW in this recipe, or you'll lose the taste of the parmesan. *I actually prefer parmesan reggiano cheese in this recipe. *I typically require about 1/2 to even 1 less cup of flour for this recipe. Fantastic flavor.... this is what I would call a 'decadent bread'!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 January 21, 2008

Very tasty! I used 1 cup less flour, and still had to add an addition Tbl. of milk. Nice balance of garlic and parm. Thanks for sharing.

D

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianegrapegrower January 16, 2011

Like others, I wish there were a rating higher than 5 stars. I found that only 3 cups of flour and a cup of milk was about right. I also substituted molasses for honey for a more distinct flavor. I made a "tear&share" like Jenny (great idea by the way!) and sprinkled it with mozzarella cheese and spread sun-dried tomato and basil tapenade on it, then stuck it back in the oven so the cheese would melt. My husband loved it. If he weren't already married to me, I feel certain this would've cinched the deal. The sourdough loaf I made also came out great. I plan to make this next time company comes. WONDERFUL!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Gourmande July 17, 2007

Just finished cooking this and the smell is so amazing. I followed the ingredient list as given and did not have dryness as others have described. I do not have a bread machine so mixed the ingredient in my stand mixer at about 8.30pm and then placed dough in a Pyrex bowl which I had oiled, covered with plastic wrap and left to proof over night. At 7.30am the morning I pre heated my oven to 450c with my pizza stone tipped the bread on a little flour, extra Parmesan and smoked paprika on the top. Threw some ice in the bottom of the oven and cooked for 10min then dropped the temp to 200c for a further 20min. The loaf looked amazing and has a great crust ....see pic. ;))

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K1968 August 15, 2013

This is so good. I love the texture and the flavour. I'll definately be making this again and again. Bill took a bite, and just smiled. No words were needed here! Thanks Donna for *another* fantastic recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 November 10, 2008

This is an absolutely wonderful bread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
esprasad March 01, 2008

This is one very tasty recipe! I would agree with some of the others that it needs more liquid, I used about a cup of milk in total, maybe even a bit more. I made a 1lb loaf and also a "tear and share" loaf in a round tin, using about 8 small balls of dough arranged in a circle. This was gorgeous with our Italian meal, and I would definitely do again. Well done Donna another flavoursome recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Mac September 27, 2006

Donna: Wish I could vote this one more than 5 stars. Very easy to make and so flavorful! I used the doughcycle of my bread machine, however, I too only needed 3 cups of bread flour, but of course that all depends on the thickness of the starter. Instead of fresh garlic I used 1 tablespoon of Just Garlic and 1 tablespoon of Just Tomatoes and it turned out wonderfully. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench July 31, 2006
Garlic and Parmesan Sourdough Bread