11 Reviews

Sorry, but these sounded (and smelled) better than they tasted. They were really bland. I am not sure what I did wrong, but agree with the ratings that said it needed some salt. (And I am not really one who likes much salt.) I do think they will be good for dipping into oil; will try that with the rest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 July 29, 2014

These were great! Whole family enjoyed them. Followed recipe and made 8 large rolls. Sprinkle oregano and parmesan cheese ontop. Thank You. Made for ZWT7~Emerald City Shakers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 June 09, 2011

I thought these were terrific! I followed the directions and made 8 buns. I topped them with garlic powder and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7-Italy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY June 01, 2011

I chose this for the recipe swap, but I didnt read any of the reviews. I have to agree with the last reviewer who said the buns were bland. So were mine, they didnt taste like herbs or cheese or anything. I really think that a teaspoon of salt would have made a big difference. I am not going to "rate" this, as everyone has different tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills October 31, 2009

I really was not impressed with these. I did them in the bread machine and followed the directions, but I felt like they really needed some salt.. the flavor was really lacking. I will try again and rerate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Gal September 13, 2009

Wonderful flavor! For some reason unknown to all except the kitchen gods, my bread machine decided to malfunction mid-cycle. I had to start over using the stand mixer and the bread hook. I proofed the rolls in my warming drawer on "bread proof" setting. We added Italian seasoning to the bun tops. They came out simply divine. Made for ZWT5-Genies of Gourmet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamela t. June 06, 2009

These were great, I will definitely make them again. They are soft and chewy. I made them a bit different because I do not have a bread machine. I used 3/4 tsp garlic powder instead of minced garlic. I would add more next time. I also used 2 c all purpose flour and 1 c whole wheat flour and they turned out fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahubasics June 01, 2009

I used one packet of Red Star Active Dry Yeast in place of the fast rising yeast. I used grated/minced garlic and plain old all purpose flour. Topped with Parmesan cheese and Italian seasonings. Came out pretty good – very yummy with butter or olive oil with Italian Seasonings and crushed garlic clove for dipping. Made for ZWT5 French/Cajun region; Team: Saucy Senoritas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Cherry Blossom May 31, 2009

This was pretty good. My hubby didn't think it was great, though. I liked them! Served them as hot dog buns with Smoky Link Burgers . Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiersten Phae May 08, 2008

Quick and easy and they were very crusty on the outside (my favorite). I sprinkled numerous toppings on them. Poppy seed, basil, garlic etc. I used them for my portabella mushroom burger tonight and plan to freeze the rest. I may have cooked these longer than the recipe calls for but that is because I love the outside to be very crusty. Thanks for a great recipe. Made for 1-2-3 Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff February 16, 2008
Garlic and Herb Parmesan Buns (Abm)