20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this 3 times and each time I think it tastes better and better. I didn't have any whipped cream cheese so I went online to find out if I could sub a block of cream cheese. Yes, you can. 1 block and 2 tbsps of milk whipped together with an electric mixer works nicely. My dd loves rondele and pub cheese and I won't buy it again since I have this recipe now. Thank you so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~jb4~ February 06, 2007

I tried this recipe right after eating store bought spread. This was just as good if not better. Make it a day or so in advance for stronger flavor. It's great to take in your picnic basket on wine trips. Good recipe, Anovamom. Update: I never have whipped cream cheese on hand so have always used a block plus 2 T. milk and whip with a handmixer as suggested by jb4. This time I went ahead and added ALL ingredients with the milk. It blended beautifully and the job was done quickly. Easy!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LovesCookingHatesDishwashing September 14, 2011

I love this recipe. I was looking for a spread for turkey and ham roll ups in tortillas. This was very yummy. I used two blocks of cream cheese and added a bit of milk like others suggested. I also added some 1/2 a tsp McCormick's Perfect Pinch vegetable seasoning and 1/3 teaspoon of Italian seasoning, I used a little garlic powder in mine as well as minced garlic, some extra onion powder, and some ground pepper. Very yummy. Look forward to making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Guybrarian1982 July 11, 2011

I made this over the holiday, exactly as described. I did make it in advance at the advice of other reviewers. Super simple and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stlynoberlin January 03, 2015

This is ok, it gets better on standing. Even with extra onion powder and a touch of pepper it's still missing something. I'll have to play around with this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusticgirl September 18, 2012

Italian seasoning and garlic spread, very nice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare September 02, 2012

I enjoyed this a lot. I used a block of 1/3 the fat cream cheese (which is a bit softer than ordinary cream cheese) and a bit of minced garlic in oil... then I blended it with the onion powder. Instead of italian seasoning I used a french blend. It was delicious. My boyfriend loved it too. I used a touch more spices, onion and garlic because I was going for a bolder flavor. It was stupendous. I think I ended up using a *bit* less salt but I didn't miss it. I personally loved this more than cheese balls too. I might try adding finely shredded smoked gouda next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ParadoxCake December 08, 2010

I took another chef's suggestion and used one 8 oz. block of cream cheese mixed with a couple of tablespoons of milk to get the soft cream cheese consistency. I went a little heavy on the garlic and it was great. Served it with bagels.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon July 29, 2010

I took this to a party and everyone LOVED it! The only thing I did wrong is that I added more garlic...NOT. Mine was toooooo garlicy. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef HRL July 27, 2010
Garlic and Herb Cream Cheese Spread by Todd Wilbur