13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the first time I have tried making aioli. It was really easy and turned out to be a nice accompaniment to the cold poached salmon I made for lunch. I would caution people to heed Meanie's warning about using a fruity olive oil. I used a (non fruity) extra virgin olive oil and found that the flavour of it was really competing with the other ingredients. Next time I will be much more careful about the oil I select. As with all Mean Chef recipe's, the amounts and instructions are bang on. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl December 14, 2003

Real alioli in Spain is mashed garlic untill it become a thick paste. Its amazing. One good thing of living in Spain. Its super popular everywhere here. It is amazing on Patatas Bravas or even adding it to hamburgers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fadingstarlight June 02, 2012

this was easy to make. and it was very very good. I couldn't find a fruity olive oil... so i used the regular kind. and it was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maya's Mama October 01, 2009

This is very delicious, and the only condiment I ever use now for my Chicken Shawarma People always comment on how wonderfully it compliments the flavor of the shawarma and ask for the recipe. Very simple and delicious, thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmIbrahim September 03, 2009

In Paris, I was introduced to the cooking of the Southwest, which makes a fish stew (bouride) traditionally served with aioli. This isn't quite as galicky as the one served in the restaurant, but otherwise has that wonderful flavor and consistency ... and as several reviewers have noted, the recipe is easy to follow and successful! Thanks for posting, definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gandalf The White June 26, 2009

Excellent! I had been given a recipe for garlic Aioli by a Spanish friend but it never worked. This one worked first time! I used three fresh garlic cloves grated finely - delicious with paella.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
olympitis May 15, 2009

a total hit!! This is what everyone is looking for when they ask about that garlic mayonaise sauce from Zankou Chicken...and it is sooo easy!! PERFECT!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natedbaby February 22, 2009

Just moments to make, broke the sauce though but the quick fix made it great. Next time I will use a room temp egg and slow down on pouring in the oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winging it January 05, 2007

This was a nice recipe, the garlic was quite mellow and the flavours blended well. The only thing I would say is that it wasn't as strong as some aioli I have had (the best stuff at a Spanish restaurant when I was in Europe), I think next time I will add a bit more garlic. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilKiwiChicken October 06, 2006

Couldn't have been easier. Or tastier. I have always been afraid to attempt these sauces, but NO MORE! Thank you for breaking me in gently and successfully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina*S January 16, 2005
Garlic Aioli