10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fresh and pretty and delicious! I removed kernels from fresh corn, lightly steamed, rinsed with cold water, drained then combined with the other ingredients. Served over a bed of fresh baby arugula. Mostly locally ingredients including heirloom tomatoes, too! The fresh basil was perfect in this salad! Made for ZWT 8. Will make again soon! Very well received! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl August 12, 2012

Simple and delicious! I did add 1 green onion and an extra couple splashes of vinegar but otherwise made recipe as written. My tomatoes were darling heirloom cherry tomatoes from my organic coop box (orange small ones, yellow pear shapes and deep redish-purple larger round ones). So fun! Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT8 for Team Jammin Jazzberries for AUS/NZ.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride August 08, 2012

I used grape tomatoes, yellow cherry tomatoes, diced red onion and fresh corn. I always cut the fresh corn off the cob before warming in a little butter and salt. About 2 minutes will make tender/crisp just as the butter melts. Add to the tomatoes while warm, and use the tomatoes only at room temp, the flavors are much sweeter if never refrigerated. Thanks for the recipe, perfect for summer on the patio. Thinking about adding some crumbled bacon next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marinecopper June 26, 2012

I used fresh corn in this recipe and we loved the mix of flavours; I made the vinegrete heavy on vinegar and less oily out of preference

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini August 27, 2011

I made this with fresh bicolor corn that I had blanched and put in the freezer. So all I had to do was thaw it out and throw it into the salad. Next time I will increase the vinegar a bit. Maybe add a bit of sliced green onion. I loved the fresh basil! This is so colorful and looks great on the plate. I love corn, and this recipe did not disappoint! Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom August 20, 2011

Simple, pure and delicious! I love that the dressing is light and unassuming, so the fresh flavors of corn, tomatoes and basil can shine. I used 4 ears of corn and thought it was plenty for a good ratio. To cook the corn, I only boiled them for about 3 minutes so the kernels would still be pretty firm. I also added some more basil, because I LOVE that ingredient. Thank you for a lovely addition to summer meal! Made for Please Review my Recipe tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood July 23, 2011

We really enjoyed this fresh, light salad. The dressing was lovely but with English cherry tomatoes never being very ripe, I had to add a tiny pinch of Splenda to reduce the tartness. I will definately be using this recipe again, probably adding some finely diced red onion to lift the flavour. Thanks for a keeper! UPDATE: I made this again using baby plum tomatoes which are sweeter. No Splenda was needed! I'd definitely recommend using baby plum tomatoes in this recipe as they really lift the sweetness of the corn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud July 10, 2011

I cut this recipe in half for just the 2 of us, & although I did use frozen corn, the rest of the ingredients were fresh, & we had a wonderfully tasty salad! I look forward to making it again during the height of the corn growing season locally! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hits Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 14, 2011

This was sooo good. I really enjoyed it, kept a bowl beside me to snack on all night

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba October 20, 2009

This was surprisingly good! It was very sweet, light and refreshing. I used sweet baby white corn. I added a little granulated garlic powder and I used a whole tablespoon of vinegar. Thanks for posting this one. I will be making this again when local grown, fresh corn is available. Made for 123 Hit Wonders game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night May 04, 2009
Gardener's Sweet Corn and Cherry Tomato Salad