Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garden Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garden Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2003

      This is an amazingly good flavoured soup! I used Maggi vegetable broth with onions for the broth that I prepared by dissolving 2 cubes of Maggi Veg broth in 3 cups of water and boiling it till the cubes dissolved completely. The only ingredient I did not have on hand was zucchini, so I had to leave that out. I did not have dried basil on hand, so I used 4-5 small leaves of fresh basil from my garden instead{After all, this is 'Garden vegetable soup';-)]. For the tomato paste, I used 1 small tomato that gave me about 3 tbsps. of paste. This soup was part of our lunch this afternoon and it went very well. I might have it again for dinner;-) Thank you very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      Very nice soup, and best of all, with a couple of small arepas (thick corn torillas) I figure lunch checked in at about 300 calories. I am still feeling quite full in the middle of the afternoon. I didn't have green beans so I put in some broccoli instead, and I wasn't too precise about measuring anything. Easy and flexible, and surprisingly filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      This was incredible! My father says that it was the best vegetable soup he'd ever had. Mom was blown away that it was so good on the first day!

      I didn't use zucchini because there wasn't any available, and I forgot tomato paste. I also didn't use cabbage. I added some red peppers and a ton of potatoes, too! If you cube them really small, they cook fine. So good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I made this tonight because my Mom wanted something a bit more health wise with the porkchops. Absolutly wonderful! I forgot to saute the celery with the onion mix and put it in with the broth insead but it still worked. We didn't have any cabbage on hand but we added some small kidney beans for a fiber boost and upped the onion to about 6 oz but otherwise followed exactly! It turned out wonderful and flavorful. I served it with http://www.recipezaar.com/Real-Southern-Cornbread-51550 Thanks for a simple and delecious soup! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      I sauteed the vegetables in butter and I couldn't find any zucchini at the supermarket so I skipped it but otherwise followed the recipe exactly with excellent results. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

    • on March 07, 2009

      I love this soup. I had some leftovers so I through it in the freezer. Took some out the other day and it was still great. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      I love this recipe. However, I don't think there was enough liquid to qualify it as a soup which is fine because it was still delicious. I added a can of whole kernel corn (drained) and a small red potato cut into small squares. Since I didn't have any celery on hand, I omitted this ingredient. I also skipped the tomato paste as I didn't want to buy a whole can for one tablespoon. The recipe needed a little more salt for my taste. I also added some pepper for a little more kick. I'll definitely make this recipe again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      I've been making this soup for awhile and forgot to rate it. I usually use canned tomatoes unless I have tasty homegrown fresh tomatoes. I like it spicier than my family so I add a few dashes of Tobasco to mine and we all add a little parmesan at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      Followed recipe exactly. It was very good and also very healthy. It doesn't make too much soup. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      I sort of made this my own, b/c I knew I'd find it a bit bland as written, and added a Tbsp of taco seasoning and dash of hot sauce. I forgot to buy cabbage, so just left it out and decreased the broth by a half-cup. This is easy & a great way to get your veggies in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      What a lovely soup...I doubled all ingredienbts and added one cup of raw pasta towards the end of cooking. Simple and very tasty...not to mention healthy. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Really nice soup, we all loved it for our sunday lunch with sandwiches. I didn't change a thing, it was perfect. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      The most tasty vegetable soup I've ever had. I usually use a can of diced tomatoes instead of dicing a tomato myself, but it tastes great either way. Also, feel free to add larger quantities of veggies or other veggies that you like. I've experimented with different amounts and types and it's always yummy. For a more hearty meal, I'll add shredded grilled chicken that's been flavored with garlic and onion. My mouth is already watering just writing this review! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      I made the soup exactly as called for with chicken broth and it was lovely! Lots of taste, lots of veggies and lots of nutrition! I'll be taking this for my lunch tomorrow if I can get my DH's spoon out of the pot ! Thanks for a winner !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      This is wonderful! It is full of flavor and so healthy. I did a couple things differently. I did 4 cups of broth because I had one of the cartons that has 4 cups worth, so I thought, why not? Plus I think it worked better with the amount of veggies that were in it. Then I also added a can of swanson chicken,which was really good with it. I also left out the celery because I don't care for it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      My mom used to make this soup. I loved it! EXCELLENT RECIPE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      This was really tasty - although I must admit I doctored it a bit. I used a large can of diced tomatoes, mushrooms instead of zucchini - I used more of each vegetable and more spices. It turned out as a thick and yummy soup. It was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      Just what I needed for my diet! I added a little hot sauce to give the soup a little kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      A good low cal soup thats quite filling & full of flavour! Aside from using 1 tsp olive oil & 1 cup of tinned, diced tomatoes, I followed the recipe. Thanx JQ!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garden Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 52.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    79%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 674.3 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes