Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garden Herb Bread (For the Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garden Herb Bread (For the Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2003

      Wonderful loaf of bread! I used fresh rosemary, dried marjoram and thyme. I added a heaping tablespoon of dried onion flakes. I shaped and baked my loaf in the oven, but mixed the dough in the machine. I baked the loaf about 30 minutes at 350° F. The bread came out extremely moist and so flavorful. This one is going into my file of keepers. Thanks, Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2004

      Oh wow! This is sooooo good! I made it to serve with an Italian dinner, but it didn't last long enough. My hubby and I stood around and ate half of it as soon as it came out of the machine! I didn't have any marjoram, so I used oregano in it's place. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. This makes great garlic bread, too! I plan to use it for croutons soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2003

      I made this for a fishing trip that we took last weekend to use for BLT's. I couldn't eat it (special diet), but everyone that did loved it, and said it was delicious! It also held together very well. The ducks wouldn't eat it, but that's their loss :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      Wow, what a fabulous bread. I used dried onion instead of chives. Only half of the salt and it turned out so wonderful. The aroma alone was satisfying. It is best Served hot with real butter! YUM

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      mmmmmmmm, good Bev!! I didn't have marjoram or thyme, so I added extra basil, rosemary and onion flakes. Very crusty on outside and just plain yummy on inside. I made it to serve with spaghetti and it is wonderful! I put a little garlic butter on it and placed it under the broiler. Perfect! The leftover bread will be used tonite when I serve a roast. Thanks alot, Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      THIS IS A KEEPER!!! I made this with chives I got in our CSA and used more than double, along with Dried thyme, home dried Basil, garlic, and dried italian seasoning. It was absolutely DELICIOUS!! I mixed it in my Kitchen Aide and let it rise on the stove (while I baked a delicious chocolate zucchini cake) and then baked it on convection at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. I toasted it and put a fried egg on it for breakfast the next morning. It was wonderful! Can't wait to have this with soup or chowder sometime! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      This recipe worked really well in my Panasonic bread machine. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Wow I barley got a slice! I made the dough in the bread maker and let it rise and bake in the oven. We had it with a Roast and the bread hit the table and disappeared! The teenagers just loved it thanks for this wonderful recipe! Its a keeper!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Even though I was forced to make some changes, this bread was excellent! I used regular AP flour instead of bread flour and added a tablespoon of wheat gluten. I never run out of herbs but, guess what? I didn't have quite enough thyme, marjoram OR chives!! I added a little onion powder and a wee bit of oregano and it was still wonderful! It was a nice, high-rising loaf with a lovely texture and flavor. I imagine it would make wonderful toast, but it hasn't made it that far yet! I just keep popping slices in the microwave for a few seconds to warm them up, slathering them with butter and chowing down! I will definitely be making this again with the proper herbs as soon as I replenish. I think it will be even better with a more pronounced thyme presence. Thanks, Bev, for a lovely loaf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      This did not turn out very well in my breadmaker. You never can tell what recipes are going to do well in any partiuclar breadmaker. The loaf did not rise very well, so it turned out indented in the center and was a short loaf. Flavor was okay, but texture was too dense for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      Good stuff! Pretty straight-forward recipe. I didn't use basil because I don't care for it. I think it would work well with any combination of herbs desired. My crust was a little crustier than I would have liked, but I think it may just be my bread machine is on the fritz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      My husband loved this bread last night. And, that is saying something. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      Very delicious bread! The thyme was replaced with dried parsley and a pinch of dried rosemary. Served this with Deluxe Macaroni and Cheese and Lemon Glazed Baby Carrots for a super easy but great meal! I plan to use part of the leftovers to make croutons. Thanks for posting this bread recipe, Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      Absolutely delicious! I didn't have any chives, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. You definitely could add or take away your choice of herbs for this. Make sure the butter is softened (I saw it in a big chunk and had to soften it and restart the cycle. Oops.) I did simply use the dough cycle and then took it out and put in a loaf pan. After raising for about 45 minutes, I brushed the top with egg white and then sprinkled parmesan cheese and garlic salt on top and cooked for about 40 minutes. It was delicious. Next time I am thinking about adding parmesan and garlic salt into the dough cycle, as well. Great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      Excellent wonderful tasting bread and the texture was superb for being baked in the bread machine. I followed everything except I used some minced onions in place of the chives, as I didn't have no chives. I submitted a picture, since nobody had put a picture on here yet. I think next time I make it I will shape it and bake it in the oven, as I think it always looks much nicer baked in the oven. I just have to say the smell of it baking was so good. I will also try making croutons out of it as well. Thanks a whole bunch Bev....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      Great stuffing bread and it smells wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      This was excellent. I made it with the dough cycle and baked the dough as rolls. I had to improvise with the herbs based on what was on hand. It turned out great and got rave reviews. Thanks Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      DELICIOUS as croutons! I made this bread and then chopped them into squares and then tossed them in olive oil that had crushed garlic and garlic salt, then baked until crisp.. outstanding! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      This is really delicious bread. I made exactly as instructed. MMMmmm! I'm anxious to try and make croutons from this as well! Excellent flavored bread Bev! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      Update: I used this recipe to make the best croutons, the spices are perfect and I caught my son eating the croutons out of the bag (who needs salad).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garden Herb Bread (For the Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (759 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1766.7
     
    Calories from Fat 282
    15%
    Total Fat 31.3 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 75.9 mg
    25%
    Sodium 3768.7 mg
    157%
    Total Carbohydrate 320.7 g
    106%
    Dietary Fiber 12.4 g
    49%
    Sugars 32.1 g
    128%
    Protein 45.7 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites