12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

FANTASTIC! These are to die for! They go together fast and taste delicious! The crust is buttery and tender, and the filling lemony and velvety. I cut back abit on the sugar as I like my bars with a little bite (can't STAND sugary sweet lemon bars, no lemon flavor that way!) and it was perfect. This will be made often at my house!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. February 04, 2003

just delicious! nice crust, great filling. they are sweet and not lemony, but i used the zest of 1 lemon and the juice of 2, i hate a bald lemon. thanks heather for making me use my pastry cutter and help me find my missing blades- and for this great recipe, of course

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia April 05, 2003

If I could give more stars, I would. I made these with lime instead of lemon and they were amazing. I ate the entire pan! I like less crust, more filling for my bars, however, so with the leftover crust I made cookies. After cooling all night they became even better tasting and I will definitely make them again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
honey fudge April 13, 2007

Quick and Good. I made it in a pie pan and took a picture. I thought 3 tbsp of lemon juice is too much, but it was just right. I didn't reduce sugar, and it was just right for me :)Only thing: the crust was good (tastes like butter cookie) was too crumbly and it was hard to scope it up. The bars harden as they cool. I actually prefer them warm. thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MooseCall February 18, 2004

Yum! I have tried several recipes for lemon bars, but these are my new fav. They are so good and very easy to make. I have to admit that I didn't use any lemon zest because I decided to make them at the last minute and didn't have any lemons on hand, but it was still wonderful. I also halved the recipe (I couldn't decide between 2 desserts and decided to make small dishes of them both). Thanks for a great recipe, HeatherFeather!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ February 07, 2004

These were delicious, my first attempt at lemon bars. They came out just as I had hoped and were extremely easy to make. Two notes I'd like to make however, the first being that I used an 8x8 pan but I only got about 8 bars tops. The bars would have to be sliced extremely thin to make 16. Second note is that it took me much closer to 30-35 minutes to get the batter to set. Great recipe though! Will make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlamCandy May 26, 2010

Simply so very good! I used the zest and juice of one lemon (about 1 tbls zest, about 4 tbls juice) and added a sprinkling of flour to the filling as there was more liquid. Lovely bars! Thanks, HeatherFeather!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee November 15, 2009

The bottom was burnt at 350 during the precook. I think next time I may try these at 300 for the 15 minute precook. The rest was fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana in KS January 15, 2008

good bars, easy recipe! This was my first time makeing lemon bars and they turned out great. I was a little worried when I first took them out of the oven. The bars looked like scrampled egg casarole, but not to worry, after they cooled completely they looked like, well lemon bars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocoholic in AZ January 13, 2008

These were very tasty, and can be put together in a jiffy! I made them for a scrapbooking get together, and we all really enjoyed them. I made the recipe to the T, and had no troubles at all! Thanks so much for the quick and wonderful treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy Sandra July 04, 2007
Garden Club Lemon Bars