Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garbanzos in Coconut Milk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garbanzos in Coconut Milk

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2008

      Easy as opening a can of soup. It really is. So delicious and soothing, almost- the flavors are hearty and turmeric is so healing. It's a good option for a work lunch- travels well. I used ground cloves and light coco milk. Awesome stuff. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Great recipe. My 5 year old was not impressed but my 2 year old and 1 year old enjoyed it as did my husband. I didn't have any turmeric on hand so I used a teaspoon of dry mustard instead and added a tablespoon of sugar. Will definately be making this recipe again. Very very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Very creamy and interesting blend of flavors. Makes a nice change from our usual fare. My 2-year-old inhaled it! Very quick and easy recipe. Even hubby who does NOT like foods with funny spices in them went back for seconds and thirds!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      OMG!!!! This is IT! This is Indian food that even my hubby (who does not do spicy) can eat without trepidation. My two year old DEMANDED her own bowl and didn't get down from the table until it was fingerlicking clean! And that is WAY out of character for her. Okay. So I had a favorite Indian restaurant in the San Francisco Bay Area, and they would make me this special dish called a fish vindaloo. Wasn't even on their menu. This "gravy" reminded me of that vindaloo. I like that this is vegan, for those kosher cookers this can be eaten at either a dairy or a meat meal. And it is a good base to play with. I always wondered "how they did that". THe vindaloo that I used to eat was often cooked with pieces of whitefish and potatoes and MORE gravy (so next time I will double the amount of liquid and the seasonings and just add chunks of potato and maybe some steamed fish). This is a WOW WOW WOW YOWZER WOW dish all the way. I have reviewed a LOT of recipes, but this one may have been one of my favorites to date. Delicious. Nutricious. Screaming of India (I don't know Tanzinian cuisine) but not too spicy. Serve over brown rice or with Naan (recipes for this bread can be found on the Zaar, though I've never made it myself, but hear it is relatively easy to make). Wonderful. Thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

    • on May 09, 2013

      This is delicious! I used "lite" coconut milk (a holdover from my ex, who was horrified by the fat content of regular coconut milk), so I let it cook down a good bit. Topped it with a little cilatro and BAM! Deliciousness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      Has the flavors of exotic cooking without the complicating extra cooking steps or visits to exotic stores to buy a few ingredients you'll never use anyway. Very creamy and my kids enjoyed as well.

      Added a bit of salt to taste and it was perfect. Was a very quick meal to make. I used canned diced tomatoes in another recipe I made at the same time, so threw in a small handful instead of using the 1 fresh tomato in this recipe. I also added in a can of yams, drained and it gave the recipe a wonderful additional flavor without adding more cooking time or stress. I loved this and will add this to my repetoire...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      I didn't have any tomatoes on hand so I used a small jar of artichoke hearts. Delicious! Hubby and I both loved it. Simple and easy but yummy comfort food. The flavour is mild but tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      I tried this tonight for dinner and both and husband and I found it to be a bit bland and boring. I think curry in place of the turmeric (which is in curry) would be better. If I make this again, I'll use curry. The recipe was easy to make and the directions clear and simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Such an easy and flavorful dish! I will definitely make this again. As a main dish with rice, I only got about 2-3 good sized servings, but it would be very easy to just double this for more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      I used a 400g can of chickpeas, a vine-ripened tomato and lite coconut milk. Not having any cloves I used cardamom, and I added about a half a teaspoon of hot chilli flakes. Also tastes good cold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      This is so easy to make. I precook chickpeas and freeze them, and then just whip this together. It really does only take 5 minutes to make, and it's delicious. Dh loved it, so did the toddler. The older children didn't love it, but I serve it as a side so it's no matter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Quite surprised and pleased with this tasty dish. Easy to prepare and delicious over brown rice. Would definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Was ok, just not my type of taste, if that makes sense...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      Well...I like trying new things...but this one just didn't end up being to our tastes. The ground cloves ruined it for us. Found by chance for Random Draw Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garbanzos in Coconut Milk

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 371.0
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    32%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 464.4 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 38.7 g
    154%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites