Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garbanzo Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garbanzo Tacos

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2010

      I tend to eat a vegan diet, so I am not usually as skeptical as most. But I really questioned this. I was wrong. This was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      These were very good. The garbanzo beans give an appealing flavor to the tacos that is a little different, but not to the point of being strange. Even my daughter who was skeptical, saying, "But I don't like beans!" cleaned her plate without being pushed. I'll be making them again frequently. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      I am amazed at how wonderful this filling is! I made it because I needed something quick and had everything on hand, but I never imagined it to be so delicious. The color, texture, and flavor are all right on. Thanks for posting this fabulous recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Simple and delicious! I don't like the extra sodium in the canned juice, so I rinsed and drained the beans and then added some water. I sprinkled the beans with cayenne pepper, cumin, and chili powder before serving and used shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes and onions, a shredded cheese blend, sour cream, and salsa for the toppings. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      I have made these at least 3 times now and they are SO tasty and quick to throw together for a delicious meal! I like to throw in a little adobo seasoning and cumin sometimes just for a twist. One time, (after the kids had gone to bed), I heated up just the leftover garbanzo beans and ate them without the taco shell, yummmm! Thank you so much for sharing *Lena*!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Great flavor and texture in enchiladas too! I added corn and black beans to this taco mixture and used it to make a rack of vegetarian enchiladas: a big hit among my carnivore family :-) Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I am not a vegetarian and I love my burger-filled tacos, but I also love garbonzos. I just made half the recipe and I enjoyed them so much, it won't be long before I use the other half package of taco seasoning and try the taco salad version. Thanks for posting a keeper *Lena*. Made and enjoyed for PAC Spring '09 .

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      The two vegetarians in the family really liked these (I didn't try them myself). I did fry a little garlic in a little oil first, before adding the rinsed and drained chickpeas. They were a bit dry so I added some water. They were a bit hard to mash, so they just got roughly mashe with the taco seasoning mix. I added one sliced green onion at the end. Easy and economical.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Seriously, great recipe. So simple and easy and tasty! My husband, 1yr old and 3yr old all ate it up in burritos! I really didn't miss the meat at all and my husband had no idea that he was eating garbanzo beans until I told him. Thank you so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      What a great recipe. It just doesn't get any easier than this for a quick and heathy treat. Hubby did not miss the meat at all and insists I make them again. I topped them with lettuce, tomatoes and chopped onions. WOW! Thanks for sharing *Leana*.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      I made this as a vegetarian alternative for the taco dinner party at my house. The vegetarian at the party absolutely LOVED them and as a meat eater I can tell you that this was heavenly. The taste and texture was similar to really flavorful re-fried beans. I added a bit more water and ended up simmering for around 20 minutes just to make sure they were plenty soft... ate them in leftovers mixed up with braised pork and OH EM GEE! <br/>Thank you Lena!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

    • on April 03, 2011

      I had passed over this recipe b/f--REALLY unsure about it! But the good reviews made me take a 2nd look & am glad I did!! I cut the recipe in half, used low sodium beans & used my own seasoning blend. I drained the beans into a measuring cup & used 1/2 of that amt in the recipe (I used about 6 tbsp). I covered the skillet while it simmered & liked the bean mashing--the consistency was much better. I added salsa at the end, when the liquid was absorbed, which REALLY kicked up the taste (I used about 1/4 cup salsa). It was quick too, and delicious. Thank u very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garbanzo Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 815.7
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    17%
    Total Fat 15.9 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2463.5 mg
    102%
    Total Carbohydrate 142.9 g
    47%
    Dietary Fiber 16.4 g
    65%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 25.0 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites