9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved this, and it will be in my regular recipe rotation from now on, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzyQ December 05, 2009

Delicious! I love the garbanzos in this, I ususally make goulash with kidney beans. I didn't have fresh parsley, but used dried and it was still fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pardeemom July 07, 2009

We loved this. BF was a little skeptical at first because it is meat-free, but he was won over at the first bite. Easy, different, healthy, delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie224 April 05, 2009

This is absolutely delicious! I loved the garbanzo beans in this. I did add a bit of chopped garlic and freshly ground pepper to suit my own tastes. That is the beautiful thing about a dish like this, there are so many things you can do with it. I think I might add chick peas to all my goulash now! Thank you for another tasty healthy meal. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ January 29, 2009

Tasty, filling and low fat! I used elbow macaroni, not shells, but made no other changes. The garbanzo beans give this a "meaty" texture without the meat. This is easy enough to make for a hot, healthy lunch. Plus, it uses things that I usually have on hand. Thanx for a lovely low fat pasta recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* January 22, 2009

I'm not going to give this a rating because I didn't make it as the recipe stated. I used all the ingredients but I didn't cook anything except the pasta. So we had it as a salad. Next time I'll follow the recipe and cook everything. Our salad was wonderful. I imagine the cooked version is as good. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty October 21, 2008

This is a good meatless goulash, and since I grew up on the meaty stuff, this is pure comfort food to me. I didn't care so much for the cumin in this dish though - I prefer goulash to be more Italian inspired. With that in mind I now omit the cumin and instead use a mix of oregano, basil and garlic powder. Also, I stir in the parsley just before serving so it retains its bright flavor. With these changes it's a 5-star meal for our family. Thanks for sharing this recipe that I could tweak to suit our particular tastes! It's one of our favorite weeknight meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama March 15, 2007

We really enjoyed this for lunch. Because of where we now live, my husband comes home for lunch most days and I am specifically looking for easy healthy things I can make quickly. This was great. I used whole wheat elbows and my can sizes (both of beans and tomatoes) were a tad smaller then what was called for. The cumin and parsely make this dish. Please do not leave them out! Thanks for a good lunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit June 28, 2006

Just made this for my lunch and am enjoying it as I type this. I didn't have cumin on hand and didn't want to run to the store. I did, however, have a can of diced chipotle tomatoes so used those. They're spicy but not insanely so. Also added a small handful of shredded cheddar to my plate. The flavors blend nicely and I feel like I'm eating a fairly healthy lunch. Another Pick-A-Chef choice for Spring 2006.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani May 08, 2006
Garbanzo Goulash