Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garbanzo Beans (Chole) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garbanzo Beans (Chole)

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2012

      So good! The blend of spices is fantastic! We loved the addition of the lemon at the end, added a nice extra pop of flavor. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      This was excellent. I used it as a main dish over basmati rice and served it with tortilla and a veggi. It was a great meal. I added a can of tomatoes rather than the tasteless variety here at this time of year. Would make a good side dish for a meat dinner as well I think. Thanks Rita

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      Excellent mixture for curry, though I added about 1/2 teaspoon more of all the spices, especially ginger. The times and order of spice addition are all spot on, though, and the tomato sauce is how I like my Chole! One note: this could use with a sweet-sour kick -- perhaps add a tbs or two of lime juice?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      Another good one, Rita! Made this tonight along with Aloo Gobo #1738 and jasmine rice. I did tweaked it some..Added cumin seeds and 1/2 tsp anchur powder. I also cooked the seasonings for a minute or so in hot oil before adding onion, and ginger. Left out the garlic. Also used dried cooked chickpeas. This was enjoyed by my Indian student as well as myself. Will be aking this again...soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Very tasty. Mine didn't turn out very spicy but the flavor was great. I even made a sandwich out of leftovers. Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

    • on May 31, 2008

    • on May 29, 2008

      My first Indian dish I've made and it was very easy. I used saffron because I didn't have turmeric. Tastes good, but I've had better in Indian restaurants. Mine didn't look as saucey as the picture and was a bit more dry. Perhaps I'll add more tomatoes next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      This recipe was awesome. I didn't have garam masala (or just couldn't find it in my pantry) so I used curry powder instead. I think I won't be spending so much money on those shelf-stable tasty bite indian meals any longer. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Wow, great stuff! I love Indian food and spicy food so this was just awesome for me. I didn't have garam masala on hand one day and substituted it with curry powder - also great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      I have never had Indian food per se, so this was a completely blind study. I had a can of garbanzo beans, thought I'd try it. Was I ever glad I did! This is outstanding! Even my 8 year old loved it! I only had cumin, so I used that and a dash of paprika. Yummy. I served over spaghetti noodles, my family raved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      I have been looking for a decent Indian inspired garbanzo bean dish for the longest time. This is an awesome dish. I couldn't find ghee or garam masala at my local grocery store, so I omitted them. But it turned out like I imagined it would...Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      YUM! I used pintos beans as when it came time to add garbanzo I realized the pantry was empty (rare occurence!) But this was delish, healthy and very easy. I didn't have garam masala so used cinnamon and nutmeg but it still came out tasty. I served with brown rice, broccoli and naan (203261).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      A wonderful side dish. Very flovorful. I've never had garbanzo beans before so I didn't realize how crunchy they were. I cooked them for a long time to soften them up. I also added 2 drops of Dave's Insanity sauce to make it "hotter".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      This was easy to make, but even after using only 1/4 tsp chilli powder, it was much too hot. I couldn't really taste what it was like over the chilli, but it was good with some plain yoghurt on the side to calm it down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      This tasted as good as, if not better than, the chole we get at the Indian restaurant. I have permanently added this to my personal cookbook and will make it many times over. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      Great chole recipe. I added some cayenne for a kick. Will make this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      OK I admit it, I'm a chole addict, and I find myself craving this stuff- often. This recipe was simple, economical healthy and delicious. The only change I made was to use cumin seed instead of cumin powder. Thank you Rita for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      Very easy to make and very tasty. I didn't use a whole tsp of chili powder (eek!), just a pinch and it was just right. We served this over rice with Soor Vindaloo (curried Pork) #92483 and a Madhur Jaffrey recipe for cauliflower with onion and tomato. I followed the recipe exactly, but I felt the flavor of the garam was too strong and overwhelmed the other flavors. Next time I would only use a 1/2 tsp garam. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      Similar to a recipe I make and love. I used the canned beans and a couple of mild to hot fresh red chillies rather than the dried chilli. I also squeezed the juice of half a lemon over this before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garbanzo Beans (Chole)

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.8
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    23%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 8.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 354.1 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes