Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garantita (Algerian Chickpea Pie) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garantita (Algerian Chickpea Pie)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2013

      Wow, this turned out so moist and creamy... almost like cheese! The flavor actually reminded me of Cheetos for some reason, which I liked. I just ate this as a side dish without any bread- very tasty by itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Let it sit in the refrigerator a day, then cut thin slices, fry them in oil or olive oil and pour a tomato sauce with harissa over it and eat like fried pasta...not healthy at all, but it's so good !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Adding a couple of teaspoons of cumin with the mixture before cooking should give it a yum yum taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      i loved this, it is just one big falafel! how cool is that. We had sour cream, salsa and hummus with it and served it with lots of fresh veggetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      hi, thanks for the recipe. my algerian husband thought it was perfect & asked me to make it again. We reduced the salt to 1 teaspoon & (at my husband's insistence)turned on the top heat of the oven for the last 20 minutes of cooking, til the top became reddish-brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This is a weekly must have in our home! My husband is from Oran. He taught me how to make this, and now doesn't like to admit I can make it better than him. My variation: 2 cups chickpea flour

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      My husband drools at the mere mention of this! Spot on recipe - try a little cumin in the batter too, which is how we make it in our house. Best served in a baguette with plenty of harissa! Rezika

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      I'm so sorry to give this such a low rating, but this just didn't work for us flavor-wise. I did use the optional hot sauce (sriracha) and that seemed to be the only source of flavor. Maybe my tongue's out of whack? The consistency was good, though, and I might try again with some variations/additions. Thanks anyway, Happy Mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      Okay.... I found the flour and tried your recipe.. When I poured the mixture in the baking dish I thought "No way this will work out right, she must be joking!". It was all liquid, like soup! To my surprise, it DID work quite well!! I had it in the oven a little too long, have to adjust this, but the taste was great! Eve my picky husband was quite satisfied with the Garantita. Will definitely try again, thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garantita (Algerian Chickpea Pie)

    Serving Size: 1 (131 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 174.8
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    64%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 18.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 719.3 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites