44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful! Left out the red pepper since I was serving to young ones but otherwise made as directed. Thanks NcMystery!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girle July 21, 2008

Here in Catalunya they generally don't add lemon to gambas al ajillo and only use olive oil, but the rest looks pretty good! (More garlic, though!) My mother in law is Catalan and I know my gambas al ajillo will never be as good as hers for one reason: I cut the heads off my shrimps before I defrost them. Here, shrimp almost always comes with its head on, and when you pull it off (sorry!) some of the head-flavor is left on the shrimp and deeply flavors the sauce. Plus, the gelatin thickens the sauce. Pulling off the heads of thawed shrimps is disgusting, though, so I don't do it... thereby sacrificing flavor. But if you're feeling abitious (and un-queasy), buy heads-on shrimp and leave a bit of head gunk on there. Gross, right? :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karenlyn2 January 29, 2008

What a delicious appetizer! I served it at a Spanish dinner and everyone loved it. I did not have red pepper flakes so I used an extra portion of paprika and a mix of Mediterranean spices and instead of lemon juice I used fresh lime juice, worked like a charm. (I also used even more garlic than in the original recipe because that's how I like it.) This was really easy to make and very tasty, will definitely make it again - only next time in a larger quantity.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie Callaghan October 17, 2007

This was so easy to make and OUTSTANDING. I served at a Spanish dinner party and the rating comes from all 8 of us! I would use less oil next time (personal preference), though. You have to watch this as the butter/oil heat and don't add the garlic until the instructions say! I burned the garlic and had to start over. (Luckily the shrimp wasn't in it yet.) Thanks for an easy, tasty tapa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Mouse August 25, 2007

Very fast, easy, tatsy. I served with French bread for the sauce but would also be very good over pasta or rice. I will definitely try this again with squid rings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha June 24, 2007

Simply delicious. I've been pigging out on shrimp dishes and this is a great way to do them. The paprika/lemon/garlic combo is divine with the shrimp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 23, 2007

WOW - so yummy! Made for ZWT3 - as a toast to the host! Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Good Thing June 15, 2007

Very similar in flavor to the dish we had in Spain! Served with crusty bread and left out the butter to save some cholesterol...the olive oil was enough to flavor and saute the shrimp. Also, added cilantro instead of parsley! Will be making again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn May 01, 2007

I had some precooked frozen shrimp to use and I chose this recipe. Big mistake. The recipe was delicious and a big hit with the whole family but the shrimp were chewy so make sure you use raw shrimp as I did the second time when it turned out perfect. Wonderful stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Notherjack April 17, 2007

I straight up followed the recipe but was sad when there wasnt much to mop up with my crusty bread :(..Next time I'll probably up the liquid and spices to make more sauce! It was a very nice combination!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kettch23 March 15, 2007
Gambas Al Ajillo (Shrimp W/ Garlic) Catalonia