Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gambas Al Ajillo (Shrimp W/ Garlic) Catalonia Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gambas Al Ajillo (Shrimp W/ Garlic) Catalonia

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2008

      Wonderful! Left out the red pepper since I was serving to young ones but otherwise made as directed. Thanks NcMystery!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Here in Catalunya they generally don't add lemon to gambas al ajillo and only use olive oil, but the rest looks pretty good! (More garlic, though!) My mother in law is Catalan and I know my gambas al ajillo will never be as good as hers for one reason: I cut the heads off my shrimps before I defrost them. Here, shrimp almost always comes with its head on, and when you pull it off (sorry!) some of the head-flavor is left on the shrimp and deeply flavors the sauce. Plus, the gelatin thickens the sauce. Pulling off the heads of thawed shrimps is disgusting, though, so I don't do it... thereby sacrificing flavor. But if you're feeling abitious (and un-queasy), buy heads-on shrimp and leave a bit of head gunk on there. Gross, right? :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      What a delicious appetizer! I served it at a Spanish dinner and everyone loved it. I did not have red pepper flakes so I used an extra portion of paprika and a mix of Mediterranean spices and instead of lemon juice I used fresh lime juice, worked like a charm. (I also used even more garlic than in the original recipe because that's how I like it.) This was really easy to make and very tasty, will definitely make it again - only next time in a larger quantity.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      This was so easy to make and OUTSTANDING. I served at a Spanish dinner party and the rating comes from all 8 of us! I would use less oil next time (personal preference), though. You have to watch this as the butter/oil heat and don't add the garlic until the instructions say! I burned the garlic and had to start over. (Luckily the shrimp wasn't in it yet.) Thanks for an easy, tasty tapa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Very fast, easy, tatsy. I served with French bread for the sauce but would also be very good over pasta or rice. I will definitely try this again with squid rings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Simply delicious. I've been pigging out on shrimp dishes and this is a great way to do them. The paprika/lemon/garlic combo is divine with the shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      WOW - so yummy! Made for ZWT3 - as a toast to the host! Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      Very similar in flavor to the dish we had in Spain! Served with crusty bread and left out the butter to save some cholesterol...the olive oil was enough to flavor and saute the shrimp. Also, added cilantro instead of parsley! Will be making again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      I had some precooked frozen shrimp to use and I chose this recipe. Big mistake. The recipe was delicious and a big hit with the whole family but the shrimp were chewy so make sure you use raw shrimp as I did the second time when it turned out perfect. Wonderful stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      I straight up followed the recipe but was sad when there wasnt much to mop up with my crusty bread :(..Next time I'll probably up the liquid and spices to make more sauce! It was a very nice combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      I certainly understand why this gets 5 star reviews!!! It is very good. I really liked the lemon flavour. I added extra pepper flakes as well as some hot sauce for my taste. I used at least 8 cloves of garlic minced. The sauce was terrific soaked up with some crusty bread. Thanks for the post ncmysteryshopper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      Another winner as far as I am concerned. On dishes like this, I always go a little light on the lemon juice, just a personal preferance, but other than that, I don't think a thing needs to be changed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      Oh my. This was just what we were looking for. Something a bit spicy to serve with pasta. We loved it, and I also never have to guess when it's one of Cheryl's recipes, I always know it will be DEE-lish, and it was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      This was ok...just did not have a whole lot of flavor for us. If I make again I will be adding more spices to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Te amo. ¡Cásate conmigo!* This was a wonderful dish. Very good with lots of fresh, crusty bread. I am going to make this again tonight and serve it over pasta with red sauce. mmmm!! Muy bien! *I love you. Will you marry me?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      WOW ! Amazing. I am a shrimp scampi fanatic and this is by far the best. Served in individual ramekins (did I spell that right?) with wild rice on the side. Fabulous ! Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      One word describes this dish....OUTSTANDING!!! Amazing to me how simple this recipe was to follow, yet with phenomenal results! The blend of olive oil and butter, along with the amounts of seasonings, lemon and garlic are PERFECTION, in my opinion! I thought I'd found the perfect garlic shrimp recipes imaginable, until I tried this one....Cheryl, this recipe takes the cake!!! My kids scarfed this shrimp down like there was no tomorrow, and now I have "1 lb. shrimp" added to my shopping list again! Definitely company worthy!!! A "Newly Found Favorite" of mine -- which I can't wait to show off to my sisters!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      Garlic lovers UNITE! This is one amazingly yummy dish! Garlic, butter and lemon oh my! I doubled the sauce in this and served it all over penne pasta. FABulous Valentine Meal that would be wonderful any day! Thanks for another fantastic recipe NCM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      Made this for dinner tonight, and it's up there with my all-time favourite shrimp dishes. It was very quick and easy to prepare, and totally scrumptious. I cut back on the butter and oil a little, but wished I hadn't. I don't think crusty bread has ever tasted as good! Thank you very much for a recipe I'm looking forward to making again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      Yummy!! The only thing I changes was to use a little more lemon Juice, for personal taste, and we served w/ pasta. Just the right amount of heat and perfect amount of garlic. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gambas Al Ajillo (Shrimp W/ Garlic) Catalonia

    Serving Size: 1 (220 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.3
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    68%
    Total Fat 26.9 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 244.8 mg
    81%
    Sodium 1067.5 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 23.7 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites