Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gambas Al Ajillo (Shrimp W/ Garlic) Catalonia Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gambas Al Ajillo (Shrimp W/ Garlic) Catalonia

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2010

      This was delicious!!! I did add some thinly sliced shallots and minced red peppers to the garlic to saute and then with the lemon juice and paprika I added some white wine to make a little more sauce and serve it over angel hair pasta...topped with fresh minced parsley and some parm. DH gobbled it down and wanted more. (I guess I shouldn't have cut the recipe in half). I did serve it with sauteed spinach, shallots and a little minced garlic and french bread and it made for a wonderful meal. This is going into my Favorites of 2010. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe. Made for Think Pink Cancer Awareness 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      we ahve a local spanish reatuarant and they serve Gambas al ajillo as as starter and these are just as good , if not better. i have been looking for a similar and this is most defo it. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      I've never tried garlic shrimp with paprika before and it turned out delicious. I didn't feel like mincing my garlic so instead, I thinly sliced them and used regular parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      Excellent! I mixed in some chorizo that I sliced and sauteed, and served it all over saffron fettuccine. I also used smoked paprika which added a little more kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      Good recipe but the lemon was way overpowering for me. I will cut the lemon juice by half the next time I cook this again. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      I made this without butter and I think that was a mistake. Otherwise I used lime and I think I should double the garlic too as it didn't have much garlic flavour at all (depends on the garlic I think, somehow with the variety we get here in India I always tend to increase the amount). I used about 350g prawns so I halved the recipe. I will make it again adjusting the quantities and WITH butter. Will update the review then!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      what????!!!!! This is so awesome, just delicious and beautiful and perfect and ah... I'm in love. The simplicity of this dish is just lovely; perfect for serving as an appetizer for company. My husband and I ate this as an entree served with fresh, crusty, homemade bread. Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      Oh, my heavens! Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum, yum, yum! I have never liked shrimp before this. My fiance and I both loved this. So garlicky and spicy. I served this over angel hair pasta. Next time I make this I'm going to add chicken or vegetable stock for a little more broth to dip bread in. Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Fabulous part of a tapas evening we recently had. Great as leftovers the next night as well with spaghetti.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Thank you so much for my new favorite garlic shrimp recipe. I made it as directed and would not change a thing. I had not thought of adding paprika to garlic shrimp but it was a lovely addition! Served as a main course with rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight - WOW! Great flavor! We loved the butter and oil mixed with the lemon and garlic. I added some fresh chives from my herb garden and took the chef's advice to turn it into a main course, serving it over angel hair pasta with parmesan cheese and fresh parsley as a garnish. I served it with crusty french bread as suggested. It was very light and very flavorful - Fantastic meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Fantastico!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Prepped everything beforehand, and then when guests arrived, I sauteed and served. Perfect little snack with good food and good conversation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This was pretty good, but I think I was expecting it to be more like the tapas place that we go to and what I remember from Spain. I didn't really expect the lemon flavour to be so strong. I think that they must use very little lemon or none at all, so maybe I will use less lemon next time to make it more what I am used to but it was a nice dish anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      I loved this shrimp recipe! I like a lot of lemon taste on my shrimp and this was perfect. I served it over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Excellent, but sadly I didn't have any good bread for sopping! I won't make that mistake again. This will go in our favorites file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      When I saw this I knew I had to have some! Am I glad I made it. The flavors are excellent and the entree was pleasing for me and my DD and DGS. We enjoyed it so much with Lemon Rice and Snow Peas in garlic sauce! Thank you for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Excellent as is!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      Delicious, quick, and easy! (My favorite combo.) DH and I loved it, and he said he could eat it again right away! Definitely will be making often. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Awesome! The beauty of Catalonian dishes. How can something so simple taste so good...oh yeah, lots of butter, garlic, and olive oil of course! I did mine with half shrimp and half salmon (cut into hunks).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gambas Al Ajillo (Shrimp W/ Garlic) Catalonia

    Serving Size: 1 (220 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.3
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    68%
    Total Fat 26.9 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 244.8 mg
    81%
    Sodium 1067.5 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 23.7 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes