45 Reviews

This was delicious!!! I did add some thinly sliced shallots and minced red peppers to the garlic to saute and then with the lemon juice and paprika I added some white wine to make a little more sauce and serve it over angel hair pasta...topped with fresh minced parsley and some parm. DH gobbled it down and wanted more. (I guess I shouldn't have cut the recipe in half). I did serve it with sauteed spinach, shallots and a little minced garlic and french bread and it made for a wonderful meal. This is going into my Favorites of 2010. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe. Made for Think Pink Cancer Awareness 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf October 09, 2010

we ahve a local spanish reatuarant and they serve Gambas al ajillo as as starter and these are just as good , if not better. i have been looking for a similar and this is most defo it. Thanks for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfcbex May 31, 2010

Allthough most of the reviews seem to be elder, the recipe still works! Tried it yesterday. Outstanding! We had it as a main meal, beverage was some nice bread, which was able to catch the absolutly great fluid. Never had such good gambas! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wilhelm July 05, 2016

I've never tried garlic shrimp with paprika before and it turned out delicious. I didn't feel like mincing my garlic so instead, I thinly sliced them and used regular parsley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olay H. December 02, 2013

Excellent! I mixed in some chorizo that I sliced and sauteed, and served it all over saffron fettuccine. I also used smoked paprika which added a little more kick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abbietomato September 19, 2012

Good recipe but the lemon was way overpowering for me. I will cut the lemon juice by half the next time I cook this again. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
7Seven June 20, 2012

I made this without butter and I think that was a mistake. Otherwise I used lime and I think I should double the garlic too as it didn't have much garlic flavour at all (depends on the garlic I think, somehow with the variety we get here in India I always tend to increase the amount). I used about 350g prawns so I halved the recipe. I will make it again adjusting the quantities and WITH butter. Will update the review then!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eva_anita April 03, 2012

what????!!!!! This is so awesome, just delicious and beautiful and perfect and ah... I'm in love. The simplicity of this dish is just lovely; perfect for serving as an appetizer for company. My husband and I ate this as an entree served with fresh, crusty, homemade bread. Yum!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
un petit chou December 01, 2011

Oh, my heavens! Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum, yum, yum! I have never liked shrimp before this. My fiance and I both loved this. So garlicky and spicy. I served this over angel hair pasta. Next time I make this I'm going to add chicken or vegetable stock for a little more broth to dip bread in. Thank you for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahBurgoon March 11, 2011

Fabulous part of a tapas evening we recently had. Great as leftovers the next night as well with spaghetti.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fayster November 16, 2009
Gambas Al Ajillo (Shrimp W/ Garlic) Catalonia