Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Galuska for Stew (Dumplings) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Galuska for Stew (Dumplings)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2011

      Galuska also tastes great as the noodles under some other great Hungarian dishes like Chicken Paprikas... Yum yum yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      I have used this dumpling in my Cream of Potato Dumpling Soup recipe for years! I always get rave reviews, and it helps to keep the soup richer and creamier. (If you want to try it, mix up your dumplings while your potatoes are cooking. Add more water to the pot when potatoes are done. Bring water back to a boil and drop the dumplings into the water. After all the dumplings are cooked and float, add enough cream to the water to cover the dumplings. Bring up to temp again and enjoy!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Great!! Just like I remember my Mom making them. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Because of my forgetfulness, I am late posting this review tagged for the December Beverage tag game. This recipe is absolutely wonderful. I did cook them in chicken stock from my soup and the texture and flavor were just like I used to have years ago. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      I have been looking for the old fashioned rolled out cut in strips kind of dumpling for years. This is the way My Grandmother made dumplings and nothing else will do as far as I am concerned. This recipe worked really well for that purpose! For the first time in many years I had Chicken and Dumplings the right way! Yippy! Thank you so much for making a fond memory come back to life for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      these are superb dumplings. Not the fluffy sort that falls into nothing but like the old fashioned rolled dumplings without the work! I loved them and will use this often! The ingredients make you think it wont be special but what a mistake that is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Made for Holiday Tag 2007. I made these to put in my chicken dumpling soup. These came out perfectly. I added them directly into my soup which help thicken it into almost a stew consistency. The dumplings fluffed up beautifully and made a great addition to the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      An excellent starting point. I hate fluffy dumplings, and this one is much closer to my grandmother's. Chewy on the inside, fluffy on the outside. But my grandmother's were the old fashioned "make depression, eggs in well, ...." type. I did not do the water trip and, as is my nature, I fiddled with the formula, but I loved the simplicity of it. Basic formula, but using chicken stock is excellent. I'll publish my variation, which contains garlic and jalapenos once I verify the results. But of all the (OMG) 478 recipes, I like this one best. :-) Thank you, NoraMarie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      I made these last nite to go in a chicken soup instead of noodles. They turned out very nice. I wanted to put them directly into the soup but since it was the first time make this particular recipe, I did just what the directions stated...then I added to my soup! I will make these again and will make directly into the soup, I suggest doing that only when you have lots of liquid. Also next time I think I will add some white pepper and a dash of nutmeg. That will only enhance an already super dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Galuska for Stew (Dumplings)

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 308.1
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    41%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 123.5 mg
    41%
    Sodium 2464.1 mg
    102%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites