69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe tastes OK, but it is not quite authentic Costa Rican Gallo Pinto. I wanted to see if I could make something that didn't require Salsa Lizano, but I think it's the worchestershire sauce and ginger that give it that vaguely off-taste. Cilantro and Salsa Lizano is a must!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica T January 06, 2009

Excellent recipe! Even my picky 5 year old had no complaints. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2BigMommas January 05, 2009

I fell in love with this dish while in Costa Rica in late 2006 and have cooked it numerous times since using this recipe. I use brown rice and and one can of organic black beans. Today's menu included gallo pinto as a side to some vegan breakfast burritos with veggie sausage, lots of hot sauce and plenty of pineapple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
exoticfauna December 19, 2008

I studied in Costa Rica for a semester in college and this is exactly how the Ticos (costa ricans) make this dish. It is delicious served with some pico de gallo (tomatoes, onion, cilantro and garlic) and sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
993627 December 06, 2008

Oh man, this was sooooooooo good. I think I may have had too much rice, so I needed to add 1-2 more Tbsps of the worcestershire sauce. It was AMAZING. I wil be making this over and over again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodid November 03, 2008

Quick update: I saw TheMom51's comment and Chef Jonny Ringo's post to make it viewable to the public. I have to say that the costa rican sauce "Salsa Lizano" makes ALL the difference in the world! Thanks for mentioning it and posting your recipe!! http://www.recipezaar.com/292846 On our trip to Costa Rica, Gallo Pinto was by far the culinairy highlight. I have yet to find a recipe that matches this Costa Rican national dish. This one comes close however. Thought the cumin was a little bit overpowering, so i am trying half a teaspoon next time. Also it turned out a little sweet. Dont get me wrong the recipe is very good! and if i had never tasted gallo pinto in costa rica i would give it 4.5 stars. it needs work, and i plan on playing around with it till i got it hopefully close to the way i remember it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matoszinho October 28, 2008

Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racehorse87 October 25, 2008

I thought this dish was good. It was super quick and did only take about 15 minutes to prepare. I used brown rice instead of white and thought the ratio of beans and rice was perfect. I used only 2 tbsp of the worcestershire sauce and used fresh ginger, not powdered. This is a very economical meal and will be repeated. Thank you for posting. EDIT: I forgot to add that this recipe only fed the two of us for dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie October 22, 2008

Loved it! This was nice and easy for a weekend lunch. I happened to have 3 cups of cooked brown rice in my fridge that needed to be eaten, and this was a great way to use it. I didn't have coriander, so I used fennel seed and a sprinkle of lemon juice. Kids were OK with it but we would happily have this again and again! I thought it would be especially good with a little salsa on top, so we'll probably do that next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seedbeads October 18, 2008
Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans)