Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans)

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-69 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2006

      I love Costa Rica and this dish takes me right back. I think it is served with almost every meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      MMMMMMMM this was absolutely FANTASTIC ! I LOVED it!!! Thanks for posting I will definitely be making this again and again and again! (I added 3 onions only because I love onions and I also added the cilantro and tons of green onions to garnesh)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      In my 3rd year of spanish class we were able to make authentic spanish recipes a few times that year and this was one of the recipes we enjoyed. I forgot how much I enjoyed this simple dish. I would say this is comfort food and brought back good memories. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      This was just wonderful. I used Pinto Beans,I did not use the coriender (just did not have any on hand) My son really is not ba bean person, he so surprised us, he kept commenting and ate seconds. Thank you for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      Oh fantastic! This is so fabulous I could eat this whole week: prefect balance of spices. I used brown rice and canned black beans, very easy and very tasty. Will wrap some into tortillas tomorrow and eat them for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      This was really good. I don't usually like rice and beans, but this will hopefully become a regular dish for me. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      Very nice and fairly easy family dinner (when your kids will eat beans as mine will). I too used olive oil (though only 1 tbsp.) and regular worcestershire sauce (2.5 tbsp) plus brown rice. Some of us ate if with tortillas, cheese, and fat free sour cream while some just ate it on its own. Really good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      Nice, simple rice and beans recipe! Very quick and easy especially if you have cooked beans and rice on-hand and an excellent dish to make from leftovers. I made the same substitutions that Evelyn did, using olive oil and regular worchestershire sauce, but we also added a scant tsp of minced fresh ginger (added with the spices), which added a nice extra bite. I also used brown rice (we don't eat white rice). We garnished with cilantro as suggested, which was really nice. We also added some sour cream- yummy! I used all organic ingredients. Really good, yet not overly pungent spicing. I have to agree with Evelyn as well that the proportion of rice to beans was right on-target. Very well balanced dish. Great if you want something simple and tasty. Thanks for another nice one, Kozmic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      These beans were delicious. My only changes were to use olive oil and regular Worcestershire Sauce, other than that, followed the recipe to the letter. The proportion of beans to rice was right on (I find there's usually too little of one in relation to the other) and the seasoning was very, very savoury and good. Quick and easy to make. All in all, a great, beany meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans)

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.3
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    19%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetarian worcestershire sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites