Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans)

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2008

    • on July 21, 2008

      This was a good, basic tasting beans and rice dish. We ate it with fresh made tortillas, lettuce, tomato, cilantro, scallions and plain yogurt. I used olive oil, brown rice, and the full 3 T of worcestershire. I think next time I'll cut back a bit on the worcestershire, it kind of took over the flavor. The spicing was very good aside from that though. It's a great way to use up leftover brown rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Just returned from Costa Rica...this recipe mimics what we had all week....very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      This was very good and spiced nicely. This could be a meal on it's own but I served tilapia with it and a side salad. I will be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      This was really good, but a little bland compared to the Gallo Pinto I have had in Costa Rica. I added some green pepper and cayenne, and a little chicken stock because it was dry. Very good recipe Kozmic Blues, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      This was delicious! I used a little more oil (extra virgin olive oil), a touch more of the spices, 4 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce, (the black beans were salt-free, so it needed the extra salt), and about 2 1/2 cups of brown rice. I tried both garnishes, and preferred the cilantro. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      Just thought I'd add my Costa Rican daughter-in-law's recipe. It uses the traditional Salsa Lizano (you can order it over the Internet) which is probably why Matoszinho didn't think this recipe was quite right: Gallo Pinto Ingredients: 3 tablespoons of oil 1 tablespoon of Salsa Lizano 1 1/2 cups of cooked black beans 2 1/2 cups of cooked rice 2 tablespoons of bell pepper, chopped 2 tablespoons of chopped onions 1 tablespoon of chopped coriander Saute onion and bell pepper for about 2 minutes. Add the black beans and salsa and simmer for about 10 minutes on medium heat. Then, add the cooked rice and mix in the coriander. Cooked bacon, pork, chicken or sausage can be added. For breakfast, scrambled eggs can be added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      Really good, quick and easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      If you have any doubts about making this recipe - toss them out the window and give it a chance! It smells wonderful cooking and has a really neat mix of flavors. I can't wait to share it with the family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      This was delicious! I was looking for a way to fix pinto beans with a lot of flavor. This recipe was perfect. I did add two jalapeno peppers for some extra zing. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      One of the best rice and bean dishes I have tried yet. I substituted with pinto beans because that is what I had on hand and I tried it with cilanto.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      This was really good. I especially liked the seasonings. I topped with green onions and shredded cheddar. The leftovers were great in tortillas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      A great variation for black beans and rice! I liked this, but I think its saving grace was the Worcestershire sauce. It mixed really well with the black beans. I liked this recipe but it didn't stand out. We definitely enjoyed our meal and it's a nice "staple" dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

    • on December 24, 2006

      Excellent recipe! I have been making this for sometime now, we have it every couple of weeks, we like it so much. I add juice and zest of one lime for a little more zing and about a tablespoon of red or yellow pepper for color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      I prepared this with dinner tonight as a side dish which complimented our enchiladas nicely; it's definately a keeper and will be prepared again and often. I followed the directions as written with the exception of using canned pinto beans instead of the black beans because I had them on hand. We used the optional garnishes of cilantro and green onions as was suggested and we were all glad we did as they were a very nice addition to an already terrific dish. Thanks Kozmic Blues for providing us with an awesome recipe which will be added to my collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      This was a great recipe! It's fast, simple, and flavorful. I added two chopped tomatoes to mine, as I had them on hand. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      These were great! DH gave them 5 stars too. We aren't vegetarians, but we like to put more beans in our diet. Anyway, it went well with flank steak and tortillas. I put them in my Beans the Musical Fruit cookbook :) LOL!! Thanks for the recipe post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      Zoweee! This was so good even my three year old ate lots! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      So yummy! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans)

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.3
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    19%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetarian worcestershire sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes