71 Reviews

This was completely wonderful. I was amazed at how the flavors melded so well and so quickly. This is great comfort food. Will try this with eggs next time as other reviewers spoke of. My only complaint (and it is a small one) is that it is a little dry. Over all a truly satisfying, quick to fix and filling dish. This is definitely going in the regular rotation

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelbo2u March 05, 2010

I am going with three stars too. I really like beans and rice dishes and I like everything that went into here but I too felt it was missing something. I am not a lover of spicy foods but I think maybe it needed a little bit of heat or more of the spices that were already in there? That said, we did enjoy it rolled up in tortillas with refried beans (it is going to be a musical house tonight) and salsa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne August 18, 2009

I made this recipe when I was looking for something different to add to our annual 4th of July BBQ. I didn't have any coriander, so I left it out. So easy to make - I was actually surprised at how good this was! Mellow flavor, great texture that tasted even better the day after!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzie-Q August 01, 2009

I hate to be the one to leave 3 stars after so many good reviews...but I made this precisely because of the reviews and was very dissappointed. I made it with quality, organic ingredients and both my SO and I agreed that is very bland - even when rolled up into a tortilla as other posters suggested. I'm not a vegetarian, but I usually enjoy veggie dishes. I will try this again and add a can of diced tomatoes, some sweet corn and spicy grilled chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz July 15, 2009

Five stars for taste, but mine looked a little funny... the black beans kind of smeared together with the rice and everything looked sort of grey. Again, the taste was excellent, but in terms of presentation, it was much better the next day in a veggie wrap!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
horseplay June 15, 2009

Great recipe. Straight forward and the results are exactly what you would expect. It's a great base to explore from as well. I chopped a whole jalapeno for some heat. Could add a wide variety of meats to enhance as well for the carnivores. Makes a great side or a really quick (provided you have rice and beans on hand - or canned if you go that way) meal on the fly. Tasty yum nums.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hillbilly Hungarian May 25, 2009

Made this today...used instant rice instead of cooked (didn't have time!). I only used onion, cilantro (fresh) and garlic as condiments...salt also of course! I refrained from using cumin, etc. bc my mom and sister are both very picky! I LOVED this...this reminded me of "Moros y Cristianos"...Classic Cuban dish! Thanks for posting this great...and easy....and DELISH DISH!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vanessa April 16, 2009

This is a killer rice dish that my DH and I enjoyed so much! I made it using brown rice, as that is all I used. What flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri T Is Me March 14, 2009

This was so delicious and easy. I've tried so many rice and beans recipes, and this is by far the best. I used the 3 Tbs of the Worcestershire sauce and brown rice, btw. Thank you. This is a new staple here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hlkljgk March 12, 2009

This dish is excellent! I don't make tons of bean dishes but of the ones I do, it seems that they all have a similar flavor. This one, however, is completely different. I love the flavor that the spices (ginger in particular) give to this dish. It is really fantastic. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelinaA March 04, 2009
Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans)