69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'd been looking for more ways to eat beans since they're so good for you. This recipe is really tasty, and popular with the kiddo's to. I've reduced the amount of rice by a lot to cut the carbs. Even with reducing the rice to where it's about 3 or 4/1 (beans vs. rice) you use about the same amount of Worcestershire The blend of flavors is really different and this recipe went into my regular rotation right away. Thanks for this instant classic!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
walks702 May 12, 2013

This is an awesome rendition of what I loved when I lived in Costa Rica. I recommend upping the proportion of beans and *definitely* adding cilantro. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel L. January 20, 2013

This was really good! I used brown rice and pinto beans as that is what I had on hand. Garnished with a little cheese (no sour cream) and the suggested cilantro and green onions. Served with chicken! Fantastic

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in Kansas September 06, 2012

Excellent. Made it for a Costa Rican Potluck and everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bob Marshall December 19, 2010

Good vegetarian version of the recipe, although I would add some chopped red bell peppers. For those who complain about this recipe being bland, Costa Rican cooking is very mild compared with other Hispanic and Caribbean cuisines. The best breakfasts I had in Costa Rica included fried banana and either scrambled eggs or turialba (white) cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
widow-b December 09, 2010

I love this recipe! The seasonings for the beans were great and the addition of the rice made it even better. This was something different and I'm glad I tried it. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas August 21, 2010

Yum! This brought back memories of our Costa Rica travels! I can't believe how easy it was. I substituted brown rice and added chopped red bell pepper. I also added about a 1/4 cup of chicken broth to pull up spices from the bottom of the pan and get the consistency I was after. Great with chicken for dinner and I plan on eating the leftovers with eggs tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PBShakes August 17, 2010

This was completely wonderful. I was amazed at how the flavors melded so well and so quickly. This is great comfort food. Will try this with eggs next time as other reviewers spoke of. My only complaint (and it is a small one) is that it is a little dry. Over all a truly satisfying, quick to fix and filling dish. This is definitely going in the regular rotation

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelbo2u March 05, 2010

I am going with three stars too. I really like beans and rice dishes and I like everything that went into here but I too felt it was missing something. I am not a lover of spicy foods but I think maybe it needed a little bit of heat or more of the spices that were already in there? That said, we did enjoy it rolled up in tortillas with refried beans (it is going to be a musical house tonight) and salsa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne August 18, 2009
Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans)