Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans)

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2009

      I made this recipe when I was looking for something different to add to our annual 4th of July BBQ. I didn't have any coriander, so I left it out. So easy to make - I was actually surprised at how good this was! Mellow flavor, great texture that tasted even better the day after!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      I hate to be the one to leave 3 stars after so many good reviews...but I made this precisely because of the reviews and was very dissappointed. I made it with quality, organic ingredients and both my SO and I agreed that is very bland - even when rolled up into a tortilla as other posters suggested. I'm not a vegetarian, but I usually enjoy veggie dishes. I will try this again and add a can of diced tomatoes, some sweet corn and spicy grilled chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Five stars for taste, but mine looked a little funny... the black beans kind of smeared together with the rice and everything looked sort of grey. Again, the taste was excellent, but in terms of presentation, it was much better the next day in a veggie wrap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Great recipe. Straight forward and the results are exactly what you would expect. It's a great base to explore from as well. I chopped a whole jalapeno for some heat. Could add a wide variety of meats to enhance as well for the carnivores. Makes a great side or a really quick (provided you have rice and beans on hand - or canned if you go that way) meal on the fly. Tasty yum nums.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Made this today...used instant rice instead of cooked (didn't have time!). I only used onion, cilantro (fresh) and garlic as condiments...salt also of course! I refrained from using cumin, etc. bc my mom and sister are both very picky! I LOVED this...this reminded me of "Moros y Cristianos"...Classic Cuban dish! Thanks for posting this great...and easy....and DELISH DISH!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      This is a killer rice dish that my DH and I enjoyed so much! I made it using brown rice, as that is all I used. What flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      This was so delicious and easy. I've tried so many rice and beans recipes, and this is by far the best. I used the 3 Tbs of the Worcestershire sauce and brown rice, btw. Thank you. This is a new staple here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This dish is excellent! I don't make tons of bean dishes but of the ones I do, it seems that they all have a similar flavor. This one, however, is completely different. I love the flavor that the spices (ginger in particular) give to this dish. It is really fantastic. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Yum! I've been trying to learn more bean-based recipes, and this one is the best I've made so far. If you are looking for a quick and easy bean recipe, that is satisfying to meat eaters, this is a great one. We loved the scallions on it. I used canned black beans. WIN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      I haven't made this recipe and I'm not going to because this is not real gallo pinto. I spent 4 months studying abroad in Costa Rica and watched my host mom make gallo pinto every morning for breakfast. She fried up the previous days leftover rice and beans from lunch and put very little else into her gallo pinto and it was the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

    • on January 06, 2009

      This recipe tastes OK, but it is not quite authentic Costa Rican Gallo Pinto. I wanted to see if I could make something that didn't require Salsa Lizano, but I think it's the worchestershire sauce and ginger that give it that vaguely off-taste. Cilantro and Salsa Lizano is a must!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Excellent recipe! Even my picky 5 year old had no complaints. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      I fell in love with this dish while in Costa Rica in late 2006 and have cooked it numerous times since using this recipe. I use brown rice and and one can of organic black beans. Today's menu included gallo pinto as a side to some vegan breakfast burritos with veggie sausage, lots of hot sauce and plenty of pineapple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      I studied in Costa Rica for a semester in college and this is exactly how the Ticos (costa ricans) make this dish. It is delicious served with some pico de gallo (tomatoes, onion, cilantro and garlic) and sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Oh man, this was sooooooooo good. I think I may have had too much rice, so I needed to add 1-2 more Tbsps of the worcestershire sauce. It was AMAZING. I wil be making this over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Quick update: I saw TheMom51's comment and Chef Jonny Ringo's post to make it viewable to the public. I have to say that the costa rican sauce "Salsa Lizano" makes ALL the difference in the world! Thanks for mentioning it and posting your recipe!! http://www.recipezaar.com/292846 On our trip to Costa Rica, Gallo Pinto was by far the culinairy highlight. I have yet to find a recipe that matches this Costa Rican national dish. This one comes close however. Thought the cumin was a little bit overpowering, so i am trying half a teaspoon next time. Also it turned out a little sweet. Dont get me wrong the recipe is very good! and if i had never tasted gallo pinto in costa rica i would give it 4.5 stars. it needs work, and i plan on playing around with it till i got it hopefully close to the way i remember it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      I thought this dish was good. It was super quick and did only take about 15 minutes to prepare. I used brown rice instead of white and thought the ratio of beans and rice was perfect. I used only 2 tbsp of the worcestershire sauce and used fresh ginger, not powdered. This is a very economical meal and will be repeated. Thank you for posting. EDIT: I forgot to add that this recipe only fed the two of us for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      Loved it! This was nice and easy for a weekend lunch. I happened to have 3 cups of cooked brown rice in my fridge that needed to be eaten, and this was a great way to use it. I didn't have coriander, so I used fennel seed and a sprinkle of lemon juice. Kids were OK with it but we would happily have this again and again! I thought it would be especially good with a little salsa on top, so we'll probably do that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans)

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.3
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    19%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetarian worcestershire sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes