Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans)

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2010

      Excellent side for a latin inspired stir fry I made tonight. The only things I did differently was to add a bit of stock with the rice because my rice was a tad dry, the juice of half a lime and salt and pepper to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Hello! I'm from Costa Rica!! The recipe is just fine, just the way we make it here! To add an extra touch you can use also chopped red bell pepper. We usually eat this for breakfast as it is a very filling dish. The best gallo pinto is made with left over beans, not freshly made ones. An other important observation; we don't exactly use worcetershire, we use a local version of it called salsa Lizano, a very traditional sauce, made by a local family, which resembles worcestershire, you can find it in the internet on costarican sites. It's great with sourcream or scrambled eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      This was very delicious. I thought the W sauce might be overpowering but I used 3 tablespoons and the flavours blended wonderfully! I used one can of black beans and the ratio of beans to rice was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      I love Gallo Pinto, after having spent a summer in Costa Rica. This recipe is good, but heed the advice of some of the Costa Ricans below and try to find some Salsa Lizano, add sour cream and even bacon if you aren't going vegetarian. I also think making sure your rice is quite firm helps, too (I used day old rice in mine). Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      This recipe is super yummy! I needed something to make for Lent, so I started experimenting with different bean recipes. Gallo Pinto is now part of my regular menu! We love it made with red peppers as other reviews suggested, as well as topped with sour cream, cilantro, green onions, and sometimes also my homemade Pico De Gallo. I've made this both by cooking the beans from scratch, or also just using two 14.5 oz cans of beans. Turns out yummy either way! I usually serve it with a side salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      This is a delicious rice recipe find. I halved the recipe, added minced fresh jalapeno, and about a 1/4 C. chopped bell pepper. I loved the bright flavor from the coriander. Thanks for sharing the recipe, I'll be making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This was so much better than I even expected! I followed the recipe almost exactly - I did add some extra black beans and used a large onion rather than a medium onion. For those who think it needs something extra - perhaps a pinch of red pepper flakes would help..? Just a thought. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2014

      This is nice. The flavor is a little different from what I am used to. It had a little spice and a little smokiness. I imagine it would be a nice full meal if you added some shredded chicken or pork or something. I think I'll stick with my standard cuban black beans but this is a nice way to mix it up sometimes. Thanks for the great recipe Kizmic Blues...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      I just returned from Costa Rica and while this dish is close it's not close enough. =( Sorry. This is a recipe best done the long way around: Use fresh or dried beans, preparing them accordingly; saute your UNCOOKED rice in a little oil, then add the onion, garlic, peppers, chicken broth or water and cook until rice is done (25 minutes-ish); once the rice and beans are cooked saute them together, using some of the "black water" from the beans. If you can find Lizano sauce to serve it with, all the better. If you want to get really authentice then serve with some plantains! - Pura Vida!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      I have only just now downloaded the recipe, so I cannot comment on this particular version's merits yet. However, I look forward to trying it.<br/><br/>We were lucky enough to live in Costa Rica for about six months in the late 1980s. In our experience, when you ate breakfast in a restaurant, this was what you were served 99% of the time. Obviously, each cook had their own variation, however it was always very good, and sometimes absolutely outstanding. So I suggest you keep tweaking it and looking for variations until it is truly a remarkable dish. Which this may be to begin with. We tried to duplicate it in our own kitchen, while we lived there. But, we were never completely happy with it. This recipe looks like it might supply the missing ingredients.<br/><br/>There was a particular local brand of steak sauce, sort of halfway between HP sauce and Worcestershire sauce, that we suspected was an important ingredient.<br/><br/>We were on a very limited budget and only ate at very economical restaurants. The sort of place that the lower income Costa Ricans ate. Gallo Pinto was always the primary breakfast suggestion and at mid day, the businessman's special, or blue plate special, the lunch of the day, was always a plate with a serving of white rice and a serving of black beans and an entrée in the middle of the plate and a side of chopped salad on the plate. So, it is no mystery where they get their white rice and black beans. But the way they combine them can be absolutely magical with the right chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      I'd been looking for more ways to eat beans since they're so good for you. This recipe is really tasty, and popular with the kiddo's to. I've reduced the amount of rice by a lot to cut the carbs. Even with reducing the rice to where it's about 3 or 4/1 (beans vs. rice) you use about the same amount of Worcestershire The blend of flavors is really different and this recipe went into my regular rotation right away. Thanks for this instant classic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      This is an awesome rendition of what I loved when I lived in Costa Rica. I recommend upping the proportion of beans and *definitely* adding cilantro. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      This was really good! I used brown rice and pinto beans as that is what I had on hand. Garnished with a little cheese (no sour cream) and the suggested cilantro and green onions. Served with chicken! Fantastic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

    • on December 19, 2010

      Excellent. Made it for a Costa Rican Potluck and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      Good vegetarian version of the recipe, although I would add some chopped red bell peppers. For those who complain about this recipe being bland, Costa Rican cooking is very mild compared with other Hispanic and Caribbean cuisines. The best breakfasts I had in Costa Rica included fried banana and either scrambled eggs or turialba (white) cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      I love this recipe! The seasonings for the beans were great and the addition of the rice made it even better. This was something different and I'm glad I tried it. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      Yum! This brought back memories of our Costa Rica travels! I can't believe how easy it was. I substituted brown rice and added chopped red bell pepper. I also added about a 1/4 cup of chicken broth to pull up spices from the bottom of the pan and get the consistency I was after. Great with chicken for dinner and I plan on eating the leftovers with eggs tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      This was completely wonderful. I was amazed at how the flavors melded so well and so quickly. This is great comfort food. Will try this with eggs next time as other reviewers spoke of. My only complaint (and it is a small one) is that it is a little dry. Over all a truly satisfying, quick to fix and filling dish. This is definitely going in the regular rotation

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I am going with three stars too. I really like beans and rice dishes and I like everything that went into here but I too felt it was missing something. I am not a lover of spicy foods but I think maybe it needed a little bit of heat or more of the spices that were already in there? That said, we did enjoy it rolled up in tortillas with refried beans (it is going to be a musical house tonight) and salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gallo Pinto (Costa Rican Rice and Beans)

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.3
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    19%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetarian worcestershire sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites