Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Galaktoboureko (Greek Custard Pie) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Galaktoboureko (Greek Custard Pie)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2004

      OMG ! I made this recipe for Greek Easter - it's my husbands favorite dessert - he said "WOW"! Then he proclaimed "It tastes Greek!" - which I took as a compliment because he is Greek and I am not. He said it was the best he's ever had. Thanks Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Exactly the way this dessert should taste. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      I made a greek dinner last night. We had this for dessert. It was very good. It wasn't difficult to put together. I love the lemony flavor. I added a cinnamon stick to the syrup recipe. Will definetly make again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I LOVE this recipe. This has always been one of my favorite Greek desserts and finding out that it is fairly simple to make at home totally made my year. I've brought this to work a couple of times now and everyone is crazy about it. I used the cream of wheat as suggested by the recipe and couldn't imagine it made with rice flour. If you make this definitely get the semolina (also known as cream of wheat or farina) - you won't be sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Excellent recipe and one of our favorites. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      Sorry we were not impressed. I used rice flour for the filling. The filling was way too thick, not sweet enough and not worth all the work. Maybe it tastes better with fine semolina?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      My favourite Greek dessert! Each time I visit 'the Danforth' in Toronto I buy myself a slice of Galaktoboureko! I made this recipe at Easter and it was excellent! I added a cinnamon stick to the syrup as it boiled, a hint from a Greek friend of mine! Wonderful dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      This is so delicious. Instead of the syrup here, I actually used a honey syrup, like you soak baklava in. Great comfort food and easy as far as phyllo recipes goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      I only made the custard filling, and I halved it. Ummm...I used Cream of Wheat, and the filling had the consistancy of and tasted like Cream of Wheat. Don't get me wrong, I love Cream of Wheat, but it was not exactly what I was hoping for. Ah, well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Galaktoboureko (Greek Custard Pie)

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 429.5
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    34%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 93.8 mg
    31%
    Sodium 315.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.8 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 30.1 g
    120%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites