Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gajar Halva (Carrot Pudding - an Indian Dessert) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gajar Halva (Carrot Pudding - an Indian Dessert)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2011

      This is almost like the dessert served in my local Indian restaurant. Very easy to make. I substituted evaporated milk for the half-and-half. It took less time for me than the recipe indicates -- only 30 minutes to absorb the evaporated milk, then only another 10 minutes until it was ready to serve. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      This recipe had such good reviews that I thought to try it since I had loads of carrots in my fridge. So delicious!!! I used less butter than the recipe and added a bit of cinnamon at the end. It has to be the best carrot halwa I have ever had! In fact I am making it right now for a potluck with my friends. Thanks for posting this awesome dessert!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Made this with dinner tonight and it was yummy! I didn't realize I didn't have the raisins until I needed them, so I had to leave them out. I will definitely be making this again, and won't forget to get the raisins! Also, I used fat free half and half and it was great. Thanks for a wonderful Indian dessert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      So delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, using pistachios. I always love this dessert at Indian restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      What else can you do with a forgotten carrot that grew to 14oz. Just the perfect size to make this recipe for my grandkids after our Labor Day BBQ. Went over well with all kids, parents and grandparents. I added whip cream as a topper with a sprinkling of freshly grated nutmeg. I didn't have quite enough golden raisins so supplemented with regular and added some cinnamon as a previous reviewer suggested. Will definitely make this again. Even my 5 year old grandson who doesn't like cooked carrots ate every bite. Mine wasn't as caramelized as the photos, so next time I will try the reviewer who suggested cooking the carrots in the butter before adding the cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Delicious. Ground the pistachios and added them into the recipe like our favorite Indian restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      Excellent recipe, this is a beautifully flavoured dessert. My tips for nice caramelization:

      On medium-high heat, melt butter and add carrots and sugar in a large non-stick skillet. Stir frequently until there's not too much moisture left and the carrots are getting browned. This may take awhile, about 30 minutes. Be sure to stir frequently to prevent burning.

      Lower heat to medium, then add milk, spices, raisins. Stir frequently, and allow mixture to get thick and caramelized. This step takes at least 30 minutes. Again, be sure to stir frequently to prevent burning.

      The time this takes is worth it!

      I used 2% milk, and I soaked the raisins in 1/2 cup rum (I added the rum to the mixture, too). Also added some cinnamon.

      Thank you for posting this :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      O! M! G!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      I don't know where I went wrong, but mine turned out awfully heavy & overly sweet. The consistency & texture was spot on to my favorite Indian restaurants', but the taste just wasn't quite there. I didn't make any substitutions or add any extra ingredients.. I may have to experiment with the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      I just tried this recipe tonight and it came out really yummy. If I had one suggestion, it would a request to be more specific in the amount of carrots needed. Six medium is a little vague but a measurement would have been helpful. I even went to Penzy's to buy fresh cardamom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      This was spot on in reference to what I have tasted in Restaurants! I made the following minor changes in the recipe to tweek it for myself. First I added only half the salt because I used salted butter. Then I added 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon freshly grated numeg. I feel this gave an earthier spice feel to it. What do you think?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      great, will make again. Used walnuts instead .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This was lovely. It's so unusual that I didn't have the confidence to serve it as my only dessert at a recent Indian dinner party, so also made Chocolate Kulfi from a recipe on Recipezaar. But the Kulfi was an awful lot of work, and the Gajar Halva would have been perfect on it's own - if only I'd believed the other reviewers! Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Only had baby carrots, so i had to use the small grater for finger-control's sake. I think that hindered the half and half from absorbing as much. I also had to 1/2 the recipe. Didnt have cardamom, so i subed it for cinnimon and mace. All and all it's pretty darn alright. I think this is a great starter recipe for me to build on. Thanks for teachin me the basics.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      First time I am making this wonderful dessert. Smells wonderful. It is making my mouth water! Taste so very satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      This is WONDERFUL! So creamy and good! If you have someone who doesn't like carrots, don't tell them what it's made of, they'd never guess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I've had this dessert in restaurants, and wanted to make it to take to an Indian dinner tonight. I gathered about 10 recipes and made this one because it sounded the best, didn't require any unobtainable ingredients, didn't require ghee. My Official Taster (husband) says this is better than any restaurant version we've had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      So delicious! I couldn't believe how all of the flavors fused together and created such an exotic, sweet burst of flavor. Instead of shredding the carrots, I used a grater so the carrots came out very fine, and made a perfect pudding-consistency. I also replaced the butter for ghee which gave it a rich, distinct flavor. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I wasn't sure the result would be worth the effort, but I'm so glad I found this recipe! It was yummy. It is perfect for a nice warm dessert in the fall or winter. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      I tried this recipe last year and it was absolutely gorgeous. I was pretty sure beforehand I would like it, but my boyfriend was pretty skeptical and yet he also loved it. I made the recipe exactly as shown and it turned out brilliantly. We had it with slivered almonds and vanilla ice cream, which was a great combination. The most time-consuming part was crushing the cardamom from the pods (I couldn't find ground cardamom) but it was worth it for the amazing flavour. I had wanted to make a full Indian meal and this was the perfect ending to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gajar Halva (Carrot Pudding - an Indian Dessert)

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.1
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    52%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 50.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 246.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 28.3 g
    113%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes