20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is almost like the dessert served in my local Indian restaurant. Very easy to make. I substituted evaporated milk for the half-and-half. It took less time for me than the recipe indicates -- only 30 minutes to absorb the evaporated milk, then only another 10 minutes until it was ready to serve. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohyoucook October 02, 2011

This recipe had such good reviews that I thought to try it since I had loads of carrots in my fridge. So delicious!!! I used less butter than the recipe and added a bit of cinnamon at the end. It has to be the best carrot halwa I have ever had! In fact I am making it right now for a potluck with my friends. Thanks for posting this awesome dessert!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eboneham December 19, 2008

Made this with dinner tonight and it was yummy! I didn't realize I didn't have the raisins until I needed them, so I had to leave them out. I will definitely be making this again, and won't forget to get the raisins! Also, I used fat free half and half and it was great. Thanks for a wonderful Indian dessert!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzTheQ June 23, 2007

So delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, using pistachios. I always love this dessert at Indian restaurants.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda C. November 12, 2013

What else can you do with a forgotten carrot that grew to 14oz. Just the perfect size to make this recipe for my grandkids after our Labor Day BBQ. Went over well with all kids, parents and grandparents. I added whip cream as a topper with a sprinkling of freshly grated nutmeg. I didn't have quite enough golden raisins so supplemented with regular and added some cinnamon as a previous reviewer suggested. Will definitely make this again. Even my 5 year old grandson who doesn't like cooked carrots ate every bite. Mine wasn't as caramelized as the photos, so next time I will try the reviewer who suggested cooking the carrots in the butter before adding the cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawny and John September 02, 2013

Delicious. Ground the pistachios and added them into the recipe like our favorite Indian restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deeroma January 04, 2013

Excellent recipe, this is a beautifully flavoured dessert. My tips for nice caramelization:

On medium-high heat, melt butter and add carrots and sugar in a large non-stick skillet. Stir frequently until there's not too much moisture left and the carrots are getting browned. This may take awhile, about 30 minutes. Be sure to stir frequently to prevent burning.

Lower heat to medium, then add milk, spices, raisins. Stir frequently, and allow mixture to get thick and caramelized. This step takes at least 30 minutes. Again, be sure to stir frequently to prevent burning.

The time this takes is worth it!

I used 2% milk, and I soaked the raisins in 1/2 cup rum (I added the rum to the mixture, too). Also added some cinnamon.

Thank you for posting this :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusticgirl July 19, 2012

I don't know where I went wrong, but mine turned out awfully heavy & overly sweet. The consistency & texture was spot on to my favorite Indian restaurants', but the taste just wasn't quite there. I didn't make any substitutions or add any extra ingredients.. I may have to experiment with the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. August 17, 2011

I just tried this recipe tonight and it came out really yummy. If I had one suggestion, it would a request to be more specific in the amount of carrots needed. Six medium is a little vague but a measurement would have been helpful. I even went to Penzy's to buy fresh cardamom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetsara2100 February 27, 2011
Gajar Halva (Carrot Pudding - an Indian Dessert)