Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gabriel’s Sauteed Fava Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gabriel’s Sauteed Fava Beans

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2011

      Just the directions you need to cook fava beans. Lots of prep time here for not a lot of finished product, but basic and tasty and really good for you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      Yum! Cooked on the short side 'cause we like our veggies that way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      My, these were good. We didn't have REALLY fresh liver, so I served with fresh grouper (it was still flopping) and a nice Sauvignon Blanc as we thought Chianti inappropriate for the fish. Hannibal and I enjoyed it all very much and we thank you for this easy recipe. I only wish we could get fresh fava beans more often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      A co-worker of mine brought me a few Fava beans to try out. He told me the basics on how to cook them. I searched for an easy recipe and I have to say this was GREAT!!! This was super duper easy recipe and the end result was definitely worth the work. I used granulated garlic instead of minced and it was still good. I will add onions to this next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      Yumm! These were great tasting beans! We ended up with a lot less than we thought (most of the bulk is the outer skin which was composted) but the little bit that was left was sure tasty. Thanks for this easy recipe that really highlights this vegetable that is new to our table.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      This is an excellent way to prepare fava beans. My entire family loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2005

      Fava beans are the Queen of beans. As you have shown you MUST peel the beans or you ruin their wonderful flavor. The work is shelling and peeling the beans once that's done it takes minutes - Excellent recipe! I also freeze the peeled beans Thanks Julesong for a recipe of one of my favorite veggies

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2005

      My fava bean-hating husband has now decided he's the fava bean's biggest fan. While I'm delighted to have one more vegetable to tempt him with, I'll have to devote twice the garden space to them now. You've been warned.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      I am so glad that Gabe showed her how to fix fava beans. I want her to make these whenever she is able to find fresh fava beans!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2012

      The only time I make fava beans is when they come in my CSA farm box. I admit they are super yummy but they are also quite labor intensive and my husband couldn't we have to remove the pods off the beans TWICE! I had made them before so I knew about it. But they do taste very good and this recipe really makes them shine. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because I would never make fava beans except when they come to me as a surprise in my farm box. Knowing how much work they take to compare make me not want to buy them. But they do taste good when they are done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2012

      Absolutely delicious! Also, it was easier than I expected. I will make this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Made this tonight and love it, I will make this again soon! I get fresh lava beans right across the street from where I live and now I know how I will be making them from now on! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gabriel’s Sauteed Fava Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (476 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 574.6
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    15%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 73.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 90.2 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 24.5 g
    98%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 34.7 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites