12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just the directions you need to cook fava beans. Lots of prep time here for not a lot of finished product, but basic and tasty and really good for you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha March 09, 2011

Yum! Cooked on the short side 'cause we like our veggies that way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree June 04, 2010

My, these were good. We didn't have REALLY fresh liver, so I served with fresh grouper (it was still flopping) and a nice Sauvignon Blanc as we thought Chianti inappropriate for the fish. Hannibal and I enjoyed it all very much and we thank you for this easy recipe. I only wish we could get fresh fava beans more often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ April 07, 2008

A co-worker of mine brought me a few Fava beans to try out. He told me the basics on how to cook them. I searched for an easy recipe and I have to say this was GREAT!!! This was super duper easy recipe and the end result was definitely worth the work. I used granulated garlic instead of minced and it was still good. I will add onions to this next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TyThornton January 25, 2008

Yumm! These were great tasting beans! We ended up with a lot less than we thought (most of the bulk is the outer skin which was composted) but the little bit that was left was sure tasty. Thanks for this easy recipe that really highlights this vegetable that is new to our table.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker May 09, 2006

This is an excellent way to prepare fava beans. My entire family loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetPickles August 16, 2005

Fava beans are the Queen of beans. As you have shown you MUST peel the beans or you ruin their wonderful flavor. The work is shelling and peeling the beans once that's done it takes minutes - Excellent recipe! I also freeze the peeled beans Thanks Julesong for a recipe of one of my favorite veggies

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy July 23, 2005

My fava bean-hating husband has now decided he's the fava bean's biggest fan. While I'm delighted to have one more vegetable to tempt him with, I'll have to devote twice the garden space to them now. You've been warned.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea June 03, 2005

I am so glad that Gabe showed her how to fix fava beans. I want her to make these whenever she is able to find fresh fava beans!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steingrim April 28, 2005

The only time I make fava beans is when they come in my CSA farm box. I admit they are super yummy but they are also quite labor intensive and my husband couldn't we have to remove the pods off the beans TWICE! I had made them before so I knew about it. But they do taste very good and this recipe really makes them shine. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because I would never make fava beans except when they come to me as a surprise in my farm box. Knowing how much work they take to compare make me not want to buy them. But they do taste good when they are done!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
querian June 16, 2012
Gabriel’s Sauteed Fava Beans