9 Reviews

Had always heard people advocating adding chocolate to chili , which I never quite got but thought I'd give it a shot with this recipe. Turned out fabulous, absolutely a chocolate in chili convert now :) Kids devoured it, even without being told there was chocolate in there. Had a bunch of lentils kicking around so we made it a vegetarian chili by swapping them in for the beef. Still worked like a charm. Would recommend this to anyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stewartwhite April 23, 2012

This turned out very rich! I was surprised. I think it's the addition of the chocolate! I did end up adding a can of black beans, cuz I love beans. Topped with cheddar cheese and sour cream and served with corn bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 October 05, 2011

This was good, hubby and I both enjoyed it. I used dark chocolate and a little mexican chocolate. It was a bit to sweet for my taste but a scoop of sour cream seemed to level it out. I will make this again but next time i will use only dark chocolate or maybe just cocoa powder... thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Genevieve July 20, 2010

This is a great chili with deep flavors and I loved the addition of the chocolate. My friend and I give it 5 stars plus, so you know it's good stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wholelottagall April 09, 2009

I used Hershey's special dark chips in this (because I couldn't give up my Lindt bar!). I also used 1# lean beef and 1# of ground poultry (chx or turkey, can't remember which). We got 2 full dinners (served with bread, some cheese, and salad) and some lunches. For the 2nd dinner, I was a little worried as it was thawing that it was not going to be enough, so I added a bag of frozen chopped spinach, and this was wonderful, too, and a bit of extra nutrition. Thanks for a great, horizon-broadening recipe. I've had a dessert called something like chocolate chili pots de creme, which is a dark chocolate, not-too-sweet dessert that has cayenne (served w/dulce de leche and some whipped cream). So you could have chili dinner with chocolate in it, followed by a chocolate dessert with chili in it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith C-ville March 03, 2007

The chocolate in this recipe added a rich complex flavor that was quite pleasant. It made the color a nice deep mahogany. Four out of five people who tried it gave it five stars. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan July 14, 2006

Deb, I have to tell you I was leary about Mexican Chocolate in chili, but this was absolutely delish! I did add a little Emeril's Hot Sauce-BAM!, but that is just personal taste. Thank You for yet another delicious recipe! Nick's Mom

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. July 09, 2006

This was fabulous. I used Mexican chocolate in the recipe, which gave it a delicious, rich sweetness. MMMM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugaredAlmond July 03, 2006

Man this is good chili. I would never have thought of adding a candy bar. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pokey in San Antonio, TX June 29, 2006
Gabby Gourmet’s Southwestern Chili