8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was an excellent meal, accompanied by Tomato Rice. I started by preparing the rice to the point where I could leave it to cook, and then made the chicken, the timing was perfect. I found this recipe perfect as is and particularly liked the cubed onions. Only thing, I should have doubled the recipe, it would have been so nice to have extra to enjoy again today! I will be making it often. These recipes were made in loving memory of Annelies, gone too soon and sorely missed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth July 14, 2011

***Made for Pets'R'us Cookathon event May 2010*** This was wonderful! The sugar was a pefect balance for the ginger. I used green onions for mildness and the "green" on top. I also used oyster sauce instead of fish sauce. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Wisconsin May 06, 2010

It seemed to be missing something. I put in extra garlic and ginger but maybe a little sesame oil would help.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 February 22, 2009

I made this last night and it was super easy and we enjoyed the flavors. I think next time I may increase the garlic and the ginger...just because I like a strong flavor. I also used oyster sauce like one of the other reviewers for the same reason. I didn't brown my garlic either because I've heard the garlic can get bitter if it's browned..so, just sauteed for a bit. Served with broccoli and egg drop soup. Thanks so much for this recipe. I will make this one often I'm sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate December 12, 2008

We loved this dish. I have made it twice. The 1st time I made it as stated, except I used half the sugar. The 2nd time I used half the sugar and changed the fish sauce to oyster sauce. I don't like the smell of the fish sauce. Very tasty with white rice and a few snow peas for color.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curlee February 13, 2008

I don't often rate recipes as five stars, simply because a lot of food is nice or even good, but its only the rare exceptions that are "outstanding". This I would rate 10 stars if I could. I absolutely love it. The Nam Pla (fish sauce) is a phenomenal addition and I will be making this again and again! Thank you for such an excellent dinner! (Oh, I might add a bit more ginger in future as I only got slight hints of the ginger, but that would be down to personal taste) Reviewed for Photo Swap 08

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luschka January 08, 2008

This makes very tasty chicken! The fish sauce adds depth of flavor. I used a red onion, sliced, and a little more than one pound chicken. I used the full amount of sauce, and it did not seem excessive. I think I'll add some blanched green beans to the mixture next time. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao September 11, 2006

TERRFIFIC! The ingredients make a mouthfeel you won't believe. VERY FAST dish to prepare. (i misread the instructions and tweaked too, semi-creating another dish which i'll post as Ga Gone Thai.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ciocia Laura May 16, 2003
Ga Kho (Ginger Chicken)