Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ga Kho (Ginger Chicken) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ga Kho (Ginger Chicken)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2011

      This was an excellent meal, accompanied by Tomato Rice. I started by preparing the rice to the point where I could leave it to cook, and then made the chicken, the timing was perfect. I found this recipe perfect as is and particularly liked the cubed onions. Only thing, I should have doubled the recipe, it would have been so nice to have extra to enjoy again today! I will be making it often. These recipes were made in loving memory of Annelies, gone too soon and sorely missed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      ***Made for Pets'R'us Cookathon event May 2010*** This was wonderful! The sugar was a pefect balance for the ginger. I used green onions for mildness and the "green" on top. I also used oyster sauce instead of fish sauce. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      It seemed to be missing something. I put in extra garlic and ginger but maybe a little sesame oil would help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      I made this last night and it was super easy and we enjoyed the flavors. I think next time I may increase the garlic and the ginger...just because I like a strong flavor. I also used oyster sauce like one of the other reviewers for the same reason. I didn't brown my garlic either because I've heard the garlic can get bitter if it's browned..so, just sauteed for a bit. Served with broccoli and egg drop soup. Thanks so much for this recipe. I will make this one often I'm sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      We loved this dish. I have made it twice. The 1st time I made it as stated, except I used half the sugar. The 2nd time I used half the sugar and changed the fish sauce to oyster sauce. I don't like the smell of the fish sauce. Very tasty with white rice and a few snow peas for color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I don't often rate recipes as five stars, simply because a lot of food is nice or even good, but its only the rare exceptions that are "outstanding". This I would rate 10 stars if I could. I absolutely love it. The Nam Pla (fish sauce) is a phenomenal addition and I will be making this again and again! Thank you for such an excellent dinner! (Oh, I might add a bit more ginger in future as I only got slight hints of the ginger, but that would be down to personal taste) Reviewed for Photo Swap 08

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      This makes very tasty chicken! The fish sauce adds depth of flavor. I used a red onion, sliced, and a little more than one pound chicken. I used the full amount of sauce, and it did not seem excessive. I think I'll add some blanched green beans to the mixture next time. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      TERRFIFIC! The ingredients make a mouthfeel you won't believe. VERY FAST dish to prepare. (i misread the instructions and tweaked too, semi-creating another dish which i'll post as Ga Gone Thai.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ga Kho (Ginger Chicken)

    Serving Size: 1 (439 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 908.0
     
    Calories from Fat 554
    61%
    Total Fat 61.6 g
    94%
    Saturated Fat 16.0 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 255.3 mg
    85%
    Sodium 1119.3 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 15.4 g
    61%
    Protein 64.8 g
    129%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites