12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YES!!! This deserves 5 stars for sure! It taste exactly like Furr's Millionaire Pie...The only thing I may do different next time is add a little more powdered sugar because my filling was not as firm as it should have been.(could have been that my eggs were too large) This was absolutely FABULOUS!!! Thanks...I will be fixing this for our church's Father's Day dinner for sure!! PS..only used one deep dish pie crust.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texaspollock May 21, 2009

Hello, my family and friends just raved over this recipe, The only difference I made was using a no bake NILLA Pie shells and it was simply MAVOOLUS!!!! Thanks for this recipe. We went to Furrs in Houston TX off I45 and miss it soo. Five starr ***** all the way

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smiley81261 December 04, 2009

I fell in love with this pie when I lived in San Marcos, TX. The biggest thing to remember is to use a butter or margarine stick, and not a spread. Make sure that you cream your butter with the powdered sugar before adding the other ingredients, to insure that you have a thick, creamy filling. You can also cheat if you don't have a lot of time by spreading your pineapple directly onto the filling after it has chilled, and then use Cool Whip to top it off. I have actually gotten better reviews by altering the recipe in this way, than by sticking to the original recipe. Just make sure that your pineapple is strained and patted dry, no matter which version you decide to go with.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thartman8 August 30, 2009

I was a baker at Furr's Pie kitchen in the 1970's We used 4 egg yolks instead of 2 whole eggs.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dugg501 September 04, 2013

I made this pie and it was great! I REALLY drained the pineapple, REALLY whipped the mixtures 'till they were fluffy, then scraped the kitchen aid bowl and whipped them again. As straight forward as the recipe is, the details and techniques mentioned are important. This recipe is great and I'll make it again for sure.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
signalmessiah July 09, 2009

This is my dad's favorite pie and being his birthday I decided to make it. A huge hit! The funny thing is that he's a diabetic and this is the one thing he lets himself go a little nuts on! Thanks for the recipe

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shy617 March 07, 2008

I have made this pie for 45 yrs. Unbelievably delicious and rich! (Not a pie for diabetics, but it is wonderful none-the-less.) I use Cool Whip now instead of heavy cream. It is still wonderful. Try it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patsyce6 May 15, 2006

The recipe is excellent. If I could rate the topping alone it would get 3 stars as it would come from the fact that there is not enough topping to make 2 pies out of this. I made 1 topping for each pie. YUMMIE!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bourn77373 November 10, 2012

My mother in law was talking about this pie one day and I thought I would make one (or two) and surprise her. She was SO HAPPY & said this was exactly like it. I made it just as stated except I used cool whip in place of whipping the cream. It was pretty amazing and we have had it several times since then. I always use no roll pie crust My No Roll Pie Crust. This recipe is a keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skpg80 October 31, 2011

It was perfect it tastes better than furr to me just follow instructions and make sure you have all the ingredients and you will have a rich sweet flavorful pie/ dessert

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
edwardstiffaney December 05, 2013
Furr's Cafeteria Pineapple Millionaire Pie