Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Funnel Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Funnel Cakes

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2002

      Very good, very easy! My family loved them, I did add 1/4 cup of sugar and it came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      Almost didn't search for a duplicate recipe as this is a very old family recipe at least back to our ggrandmother. Glad I did. This is the exact recipe that she used, except that the cooking oil was Crisco or lard. They are SO good. I cook them in my cast-iron skillet. My father-in-law recalls his grandmother making them for him for breakfast and topping them with butter and syrup. He didn't know how to spell it, but he said they called them "Strautsa". If anyone knows the origin or correct spelling of this description, please let me know. When I made them, I had to add between 1/4 and 1/2 C more milk to make them flow through my funnel. This made 4-5 large funnel cakes for us. Try drizzling the initial to your name over the top with the batter. I think a bit of lemon or vanilla extract would be nice. Optional yummy toppings: Cinnamon sugar, spiced apples, strawberries, chocolate syrup, ice cream, and whipped cream, and the traditional powdered sugar. Mmmm... I want some now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      These were delicious!! 4.21.10 Made them again last night, I added a little bit of sugar to the batter and vanilla and got to use the funnel this time. AWESOME!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Perfect! Added sugar and vanilla and put in a cleaned out ketchup bottle...couldnt be easier or yummier!! We found the crispier ones were a bit tastier. Thanks so much for this, it will be repeated for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      My daughter and I made these for a fun supper ~ It brought back great memories of the day the two of us spent together at Knott's Berry Farm when she was about ten-years-old. We liked these funnel cakes just as much as those we enjoyed at Knott's! I did add 2 1/2 tablespoons sugar to the batter. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      Better than fair funnel cakes! Even my husband agreed, they're not greasy like you get at the fair sometimes. Super simple to make. I did add just a tablespoon or so of sugar. Couldn't find my funnel after I got it all mixed up so I put it in a zippy bag and snipped off the end. Note. Try to hold whatever it's coming out of close (but not too close) to the oil. The first one I was a little high up and when the batter hit, the oil splashed on my arm. But that was my bad! Great recipe though! Kids and husband loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      This recipe is really good! I make it at home and my school even uses it to teach kids how to learn to bake, its that easy! And YUMMY! Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      Great recipe! Thank you for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      I LOVE funnel cakes, and this did not disappoint! I reduced the recipe by half, added a touch of sugar and vanilla, as suggested by other reviewers, and we scarfed these down. Next time, I will use my candy thermometer, as I think my oil was a bit too hot, and they were a little dark. Good, nonetheless, and they have inspired me...Sorry I didn't get a photo, but I'll try to post one next time! Mine were not very pretty, as my technique needs some improvement...but, I'll work on that! Thanks so much for sharing this fabulous festival offering, Tonkcats..now I can make them whenever I'd like!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      I had no idea how easy it would be to make funnel cakes at home. My kids loved them. I added a splash of vanilla and 2 tbsp of sugar to the batter. I would suggest adding more sugar than that. These were great. I got 10 large funnel cakes. Since funnel cakes are best fresh, I would cut the recipe in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Made these yesterday for my mother in law, she loves funnel cakes. She enjoyed them. Just read the suggestions to add sugar and vanilla, will try that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      These were super good!! I did add some sugar and vanilla also, and they were just like the ones you get at the fair! The only trouble I had was in turning them over, I splashed oil all over the place. If you don't make them too big the spatula works just fine, and that is all I had, I just got carried away!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      These were so good, I had saved them some time ago to give a try and finally got around to making them. I had trouble getting the shape right and they arn't so pretty but OMG they taste great. I did cut the recipe in half as there's only 2 of us, and added a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. They are so easy to put together and once you drain them on the paper towel not greasy at all. Remember the nutrition facts think you are using the full 2 cups of oil so it's not as bad as it looks. I can't wait to make this for my DGSs the next time they visit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      delicious! i added about 1/2 cup sugar, and dumped about 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon and 1 teaspoon nutmeg, too, and that made it taste like the churros at the state fair!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      wonderful funnel cakes,we worked at WDW and they were so expensive,but so easy to make wonderful, thumps up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      ok, this was awesome, BUT.....what are they supposed to look like?? My son said as thin as a pencil. I did something wrong cause they were thick and not done in middle. Don't understand how to pour it in. like a round thing or what??? I took some dough and drizzelled it in and they were like pencils and very good. LOVE IT!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I made these for breakfast this morning and they tasted just like the ones at the fair. I added 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp vanilla to my batter. They turned out pretty and fluffy. The only reason I choose 4 stars instead of 5 is because the recipe didn't call for the sugar and vanilla, but the funnel cakes, in my opinion, definitely needs it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      Added a little sugar and vanilla and these were awesome. I need to work on my technique of pouring them, cuz they turned out all different shapes. Kids didn't care, they snarfed them down! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Made these for the kids tonight, followed recipe exactly. (Didn't need any added sugar, vanilla, etc.) They turned out fantastic. Used funnel cake kit (includes the ring and funnel) that we bought and fried in a cast iron pan. Sprinkled with powdered sugar. Kids loved them and these will be a definite special treat in our house from now on. Thanks for the simple and great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      i liked the funnel cake i maked good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Funnel Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 857.3
     
    Calories from Fat 692
    80%
    Total Fat 76.8 g
    118%
    Saturated Fat 11.3 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 70.5 mg
    23%
    Sodium 308.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites