23 Reviews

Great recipe. Put it together in less than 15 minutes and it turned out great. I added some extra milk to make it runnier to flow through the funnel and added a pinch of cinnamon. Tastes just like at the carnival, just with less carny. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5 Mule Team July 17, 2010

I used this as a batter for deep fried oreos. It was a huge hit. I did have to add a tablespoon or two more milk to make it the right consistency. I was going to make a funnel cake with the leftover batter but there wasn't any after we got done with the oreos. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 August 22, 2010

I was really excited to make these since my Husband had NEVER heard of them. I knew he was missing out, and these were just as I remembered them! We did add a bit more milk to thin the batter a bit but other than that we followed the recipe to a T. They turned out WONDERFUL! And by the third one I actually had them looking good too lol. I didn't use quite as much oil as it called for and I used Canola. Such a yummy treat! Next time we might give some to our son too instead of eating it all while he is sleeping lol.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer April 02, 2008

This recipe is crazy good! Very easy to make. Light and fluffy. Just like other reviews I added additional milk; ended up using 1 full cup for the entire recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lidya February 28, 2012

I made 1/2 the recipe and they turned out perfect! They taste just like the funnel cakes you pay $5.00 for at the fair (for a fraction of the cost). Instead of using a funnel, I put the batter into a quart size ziploc bag and snipped off the corner to squeeze the batter through. It worked great! I will definitely use this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys October 25, 2011

Made it just as written was perfect topped with strawberries. I will double the recipe next time as it only made 5 (not 6-8) and the kids were begging for more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacy Gregory October 19, 2010

It satisified the craving and was a fun thing to do with the kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plumshadow June 14, 2010

Just wonderful! This is a great project with kids. Loved the vanilla in this. The batter was just the right consistency, came slowly enough from the funnel to swirl it successfully. I used the wok with about 5" depth of oil to really deep fry the batter. What a treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr October 13, 2009

great one! like previous review, though, I added a touch of milk to thin out the batter.great for a quick midnight snack:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tayder's momma May 25, 2009

Super easy to make, the batter was a little to thick so I added a few more tbs of milk to thin it down. They tasted just like carnival funnel cakes. Great recipe Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaDolce6499 January 27, 2009
Funnel Cake