Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Funky Frito Fruckies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Funky Frito Fruckies

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2005

      These tasted great!!! I had trouble getting the pb mixture to spread evenly so I just mixed everthing together in the pan and flattened it back out; threw on the chocolate and popped it under the broiler for 2 minutes. Turned out great!! This recipe is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Love these!! I cheated and used a bag of milk chocolate chips. Popped it all in the oven for a few minutes. I took these to work and they were gone gone gone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      Great googley-moogley! I made these for a potluck and boy were they good! Everyone loved that sweet/salty combo. It was so quick and easy to put together too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      Amazingly easy to make. I will try these again with only a drizzling of chocolate. Is there anyway to keep them crisp? Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      These are a HUGE favorite with my crowd. I was asked to include them in a dessert buffet that I catered for a wedding -- but how to make them more attractive?? I used two bags of Fritos scoops and picked out the nicely shaped ones -- I placed them rounded side down on two wax-paper covered jelly roll pans -- put the rest of the "not so perfect ones" on a third covered sheet. Bring the sugar/corn syrup to a full roiling boil but then immediately remove from the heat and add the peanut butter and stir til smooth -- drizzle over the scoops, filling each little 'cup'. Move fairly quickly, so the caramel doesn't set up. Pour the rest of the mixture over the "not so pretty" pan. Let them cool. Melt 6 oz chocolate chips in a baggie - snip a corner and drizzle over the perfect chips. You will need some more chocolate, if you want to put chocolate on the "not so perfect" pan. Chill (fridge or freezer) for a few minutes and they will snap apart. The perfect scoops will be quite attractive and the "not so perfect" pan becomes the cook's treat. The bride was ALMOST sorry she had a "regular" wedding cake -- "Coulda just gone with the Fruckies" ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2005

      My kids didn't have any money for my birthday present, so I suggested they make dinner and dessert. I printed out this recipe (among others) for them to choose from and they chose the fruckies. They were an amazingly tasty blend of salty and sweet. We loved them (and had a lot of fun trying to say the title ten times fast)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2005

      Wonderful combination of sweet and salty. No one could figure out what they were made of! I made the recipe just as written except I had to pop them in the oven to completely melt the chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      Excellent!!! I did also use a Silpat like Mean Chef and instead of melting the chocolate over the layer I put it over my warming unit on my oven and added around a third of a bar of PARRAFIN WAX and melted it with the chocolate, I use parrafin when I make peanut butter balls and it works great. My family could not get enough of these my Dh thought they tasted like some candy bar he's had before perhaps 100 Grand, or Whatchamacallit

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      WOW, are these ever good!!! We loved the salty/sweet combination. I think the peanut butter mixture was too thick (making it hard to break them part.) I think the next time, I will use the same amount of chocolate, but I will experiment by using less of the peanut butter mixture and just kind of "drizzle" it over the Fritos rather than spread it all over. Wonderful treat that I can't wait to make these again. Thanks for sharing, Jaqueline30.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      Bizzarely delicious! If you can get your head around combining Fritos. pb. and chocolate, you are in for a terrific surprise! I, too, had to put these in a warm oven to melt the chocolate. Really fabulous and addicitive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      Fritos with gooey peanut butter and lots of thick chocolate. The more I eat, the more I like them! Very rich and not too pretty but a wonderful treat. Pan should be well greased. Like the others, I put it under the broiler for a couple of minutes to soften the chocolate. Thanks Jacqueline30!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      Super easy to make!!! Delicious!!! Fellow ladies, you will love these!!! :) and putting them under the broiler for a couple of secs does help in spreading the chocolate. Thanks a million for this gem of a recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      These were different. The "cookies" weren't the prettiest I've made but they did satisfy my sweet/salty craving. I didn't have to use all eleven candy bars as 10 bars pretty much covered the surface of the pan. The chocolate didn't melt completely so I put it in the oven for a little while in order to make the chocolate spreadable. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      Oh My Freakin' God were these awesome! This is my new PMS food...I followed Mean's advice & popped the tray in the oven for a few minutes to melt the chocolate & it worked like a dream. I also added a large handful of walnuts & that really made it for me (I love nuts). This was very easy to make & I had all ingredients on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      Ugly, but everyone at worked enjoyed! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      Made these for a potluck and everyone enjoyed them. I used chocolate chips and needed to put this in the oven for a few minutes to melt the chocolate. These were not easy to break apart since the peanut butter layer doesn't really harden. It was more like bend them them apart. I concur with another reviewer who stated that these were not terribly attractive (but got eaten nonetheless). I thought the peanut butter layer was "too heavy" and next time might just opt for chocolate and fritos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      You need to rename this recipe to Fabulous Funky Frito Fruckies! They were really good. Very easy to make and even easier to eat! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      A very good, and, as everyone else says, very addictive treat. I had to stick my pan in the oven for a bit to melt the chocolate. Otherwise, no problems...great treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2004

      this was really easy to make and very tasty. i wish i would have greased the pan a lot more as they were "stuck" in the pan until the house warmed up. oh, and i used pam spray, next time i'll use a silpat like mean chef did,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      Warning. This is highly addictive stuff. It's rich, salty, crunchy and sweet. A dieter's nightmare. LOL Though the fritos may sound odd they work really well in this. A definite crowd pleaser. Thanks J30!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Funky Frito Fruckies

    Serving Size: 1 (1581 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.7
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    43%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 3.1 mg
    1%
    Sodium 100.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 15.8 g
    63%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes