Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles

    Average Rating:

    477 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 477

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2004

      I picked this for the chef of the day game and so glad I did! I did cut back on the sesame oil, and served the chicken seperately. I cooked veggies on the side(mushroom, carrot,celery,zucchini, broccoli and onion). I used some of the marinade for the vegetables. Thanks Mirj for a wonderful dish that my whole family liked!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      My family loved this dish. My son, a very picky eater gave it his stamp of approval. Actually he was the first one finished when I served it and he is always the last one at the table. The only thing I would do differently is add less oil to the noodles, they were a little too greasy for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      This recipe should definatly come with a warning!!I could have easily eatin all the noodles before the chicken was done!!!I was completly unprepared before making this so I had to do some creative substituting.I didnt have any seasame oil or teriyaki sauce so for the noodle part I used olive oil.For the chicken I used 1/4 cup soy ,a little honey, and a tablespoon of rice vineger.I also added red pepper flakes to marinade and used some of the remaning marinade while cooking the chicken.Absoloutley wonderful meal.My husband and picky,picky,picky kids all devoured it...husband said he would leave me some for lunch the nexy day and when I opened the fridge to get it.. it was gone...he said he couldnt resist himself!!Good reason to make another batch this time with the true ingredients!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      Thank goodness my 11 year old had dinner at a friend's house tonight, because my 10 yr.old, my hubby & I devoured this dish! Based on prior reviews, I halved the noodle recipe, but when all four of us are home, I will definitely make the full recipen (and add more chicken)! I accompanied the chicken/noodles with steamed broccoli/carrots. AWESOME!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      I have made this fantastic dish twice now. The first time exactly to directions. And I think next time I will follow leeannrs advice and put the sesame oil IN the marinade, as I wasn't thrilled with cooking in it. I also think I will cut the chicken into thin strips before marinating as the chicken was a bit dry by the time it was cooked....tasted incredible, but dry. The second time I made it I did it with baby scallops. I also threw some finely shredded carrot into the sesame noodles. Fantastic. Next time maybe some finely chopped cilantro for garnish! This is a fantastic recipe NO matter which way you do it. Thanks Mirj for sharing it with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2004

      Fabulous! I could not get my four year old to stop eating. I was a bit afraid that the flavors would be overwhelming, but it came together for a perfect mellow taste. I served it with a bag of frozen stir fry veggies on the side.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      I LOVED the sesame noodles! I reduced the amount of sesame oil by just a bit, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. They were a HUGE hit. I am going to experiment with using the noodles as a base for a cold salad, maybe with lightly steemed broccoli, carrots and diced chicken? I wasn't as crazy about the funky chicken, although 3 out of 5 at my dinner table loved it, as well. I will definitely be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      These were yummy! I didn't have any teriyaki sauce, so I subbed an equal amount of soy sauce, and used tofu instead of chicken. I marinated the tofu for about 40 minutes, then sauteed it with some snow peas and added all to the noodles. It tasted great for dinner, and tasted even better by the next day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      The most irritating sentence at our house these days is "Can I have chicken nuggets instead?" I didn't hear it the night we had this. Instead, this was eagerly devoured by all. Because I was short on marinating time, I cut the chicken into chunks before tossing it into the marinade so more surface area would absorb the flavors. I think I will always make it this way. I also grated the ginger rather than chopped it and used a toasted sesame oil. The combination of flavors was awesome!!! Thanks, Mirj, for another keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      The noodles make this dish! Very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      Very good recipe! I worked until late, so I pre-measured all the ingredients and combined just before cooking. The whole thing was done in 20 minutes! I did serve the noodles hot due to this, but they were very good. My boyfriend hated the smell of the sesame oil though, he's still talking about how bad it smelled. You know how men can be sometimes. ;) Anyway, thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2003

      Well, this was a real crowd pleaser all around. My 7 year old said that this was the best dinner EVER! I have to agree. It was very easy to make and took really no time at all to prepare, and the taste was out of this world! Wonderful meal. Everyone at the table had a comment about it. Thanks for sharing this winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2003

      This was a hit at my house. Didn't change a thing and was asked to keep this recipe around! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      This is very, very good. I grilled the chicken (brushing it with the marinade) instead of sauteeing in sesame oil and it was still very flavorful. I had some of the leftovers for lunch today. It makes a ton!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2014

      I'd like to try this but do to negative reviews and the fact that I don't know if it is supposed to be served hot or cold I have to pass. Sounds good but I'm looking for a hot dish. I'll keep looking but will check back here to see if instructions are more specific. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      I can only handle so much sesame oil, so I only added enough to suit my tastes(maybe 2 TBS total).<br/><br/>That said, I really like this recipe and my wife absolutely loves it.<br/><br/>By the way, if you have a vacuum sealer use it. :) I sealed the chicken and then noodles for only 15 minutes each and everything worked beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      If I could give this dish a half star I would. I've made many food.com dishes and loved almost all of them - this one however my family absolutely hated. It was so horrible that my husband took one bite and refused to eat any more. I had to throw away the entire lot of noodles. The consensus is that the sesame noodles were very bland and the sesame flavor was way too strong - even with the reduced 1/4 cup of sesame oil. To be honest, I could have reduced the oil even further but still would have ended up with bland noodles. The chicken was the best part and even that was mediocre. We ended up eating at subway for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      This was so delicious, my whole family love it! It made more like 8 servings or more and we cut up the chicken before marinating it. Might even just make the noodles sometimes. Thank you this is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      My family loved this recipe. It will definitely be included in the do over category. In an effort to reduce the number of ingredients, calories and sodium, I used Maries Sesame Ginger Dressing and Marinade instead of the soy, sesame oil and teryiaki sauce. I also included carrots and snow peas. It was really good and fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      I wasn't crazy about the noodles. I found them a bit too sweet. But I really enjoyed the chicken. This is very easy to make, which is also a plus. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 900.8
     
    Calories from Fat 206
    22%
    Total Fat 22.9 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 3857.2 mg
    160%
    Total Carbohydrate 124.5 g
    41%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 36.7 g
    147%
    Protein 48.5 g
    97%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites