481 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a very good dish. There were mixed reviews from the family on the noodles, but everyone really loved the chicken. It is a little messy doing the chicken...I guess the sugar in the marinade tends to get sticky and burn a bit, but it was worth it. I did upload a picture...for some reason my noodles didn't get as dark as anyone elses (looking at the other pictures) but I did follow the recipe. Thanks for sharing...I will make the chicken again and maybe serve over rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= November 06, 2004

The ONLY reason I can't give this 5 stars is that DH wasn't that crazy about the noodle part - he's of the ilk that believes if it's in the pasta family, it has to have tomato sauce on it. I'm not eating carbs these days, so I can't comment on that part. HOWEVER, the chicken was just outrageous and we both felt that it deserved 5 stars. I will make just the chicken again. I used boneless thighs and marinated it overnight. Splenda instead of the sugar, and I might have skimped a bit on the sugar part. Overall, a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie April 21, 2004

This was an excellent recipe. I used about 200gr of "rice sticks" noodles and halved the sauce for them, and they were fabulous, but I think the green onions are a must, do not omit them! I had 3 chicken breast halves (which I cut into thirds) and marinated them for 3 hrs (made the whole sauce recipe).Cooked as directed, and everything turned out fabulous. We loved it! I think it is really important to use good quality ssesame oil and soya sauce in this. I made a special trip to the asian market for this, and I think it makes all the difference. Thanks Mirj, this is the best I've had in a while.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nat Da Brat April 17, 2004

Getting ready to make this tonight for the 4th time. Really, really delish! Thanks, Mirj!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmjunko April 12, 2004

Delicious combination of flavors. I used whole-wheat speghetti, and doubled the amount of noodles and sause. I also steamed some broccoli and asparagus over the boiling water of the spaghetti, and combinged these veggies with the noodles. I liked the chicken a lot, but I definately think the noodles are the highlight of this dish. I served it with a mango salad (#24779).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
federico April 01, 2004

I really enjoyed this dish, although I omitted the sugar for the noodles and used angel hair pasta. The amazing thing is that my kids ate it too and I have never had them willingly eat anything with an Asian influence (boy have they been missing out!). Thank you for a fast and easy recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerkitten D March 31, 2004

The sweetness and nuttiness of this recipe are a surprising and pleasant combination. I've learned I really like sesame oil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy Beard March 28, 2004

The younger generation in my family really liked everything - I thought the noodles were lacking a little something. The chicken was great.I think when I try this again I will add pnut butter to the noodles.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tante B March 26, 2004

I thought it was too salty! (Maybe try low-salt soy sauce). Also 1/4 cup sesame seeds was way too much. I would use less and toast them first. I agree with others that sesame oil was a bit overpowering. I would cut that in half at least. Overall, an interesting change of pace and I would probably make it again with these modifications.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W March 24, 2004

My family enjoyed this a lot. My DD wouldn't eat the noodles - but my DH and I loved them. I wasn't sure whether to serve the noodles hot or cold, so I split them in half and served half of them hot and the other half cold. We definitely liked the warm noodles better. Overall a great recipe and we will be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Giggle Box March 20, 2004
Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles