Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles

    Average Rating:

    477 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 477

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2004

      I just made this for my girlfriend for a Valentine's Day dinner. It was easy to make and she loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      HOLY MACKREL! let me just say, I plan on making this atleast every few weeks. I actually prefer the dish cold and the chicken is really good, but the noodles are to DIE FOR! super easy and relatively inexpensive...thanks, Mirj, for sharing this one! the only substitutions i made was in the cooking, i used olive oil instead of sesame (for fear of overpowering the dish, as far as my personal tastes go) and in the marinade for the chicken, i used white wine instead of soy sauce (only because i ran out of soy sauce). EXCELLENT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      OK...so add my hubby and I to the list of Funky Chicken devotees. We really liked this dish. Following the advice of other reviewers, I cut the amount of sesame oil in half for the noodles. I also didn't decide to make this until late in the afternoon, and therefore, cut my chicken breasts into strips before marinating (to allow more surface area to absorb the flavor). We preferred the noodles warm and I added about 1 1/2 cups of thawed frozen peas to the mix. Hubby thought that steamed broccoli or other stir-fry veggies would be a good addition, too. I had to stop hubby after his second bowl; I wanted leftovers for my lunch this week!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      We love this recipe! I've made it several times both with chicken and with tofu. It's great with both. DH and my kids love the noodles. I cut back on the sesame oil because we found the noodles to be excessively oily for our taste. Thanks for posting this easy and delicious recipe Mirj!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      Sorry, sorry, sorry, we tried so hard to like this recipe with all it's great reviews but we didn't. It was so easy to prepare and smelled great while cooking. I thought I followed the recipe exactly and haven't a clue as to what I did wrong but none of us cared for the taste. I'll give myself 10 lashes with a wet noodle for whatever I did wrong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2004

      I tried it with strips of pork chop...bad idea - they were tough as could be! I think if I had left the chops whole it would have been far better. Lots of great leftover noodles!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      This was really good. I did cut the recipe in half to start with and then cut back a bit on the sesame oil as I was affraid it would be too overpowdering. Also, after mixing the noodles with the sauce I drained most of the liquid off before I put it in the fridge, again I was affraid the taste would be too strong. When I sauted the chicken I didn't use any oil and precut the chicken into strips. Hubby LOVED this dish as he was stationed in Japan and that region for a year and loves this type of food. He thanks you very much for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      Mirj, its really hard to say anything new about this recipe. I used toasted sesame oil and a few more green onions. The noodles fabulous and the chicken was moist and flavorful. i'm sure I will make this many times in the future!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      This was very good. I cut the sesame oil in half and used thin fresh chinese noodles which slurped up the sauce and said thank you very much. I took the advice of Kimke and used salmon which I marinated all day then grilled, it turned out great with plenty of flavour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2004

      Ahhh, Mirj, this is truly fantastic! We are new members of a boating community, here, and I was desperately (and nervously, as this was my first "meeting") searching for a "new" recipe for the potluck dinner....chose yours, and I am so glad! Everybody ate it up, just as promised! I did marinate my chicken 24 hrs, and it was through and through oh-so-tender and tasty...am looking forward to trying it with salmon, as an earlier reviewer mentioned. (also served it at room temp and still fabulous!!!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2004

      This recipe is delicious! I made it with salmon like someone else suggested, and it tasted fabulous. We preferred the noodles warm. Oh, and I broiled the salmon for a couple minutes on each side. (Less clean-up)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2004

      Really great, simple recipe here. We loved the noodles and the chicken both. Very tasty, easy to put together, and I would redily have all the ingredients on hand at a time. Thanks for a definate keeper Mirj!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      My husband and I definently prefered the noodles warm, we both thought they were good, but man did our guests that night like them...They gobbled theirs right up faster that I did. They gave it more thumbs up than I even did. I haven't tried the chicken yet, plan to soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      We really liked this one! Even tasted great the next day. I only used half of the sesame oil only because I underestimated how much was in the bottle. Ooops. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      Yummy! I really liked the flavour in this dish. I used recipe 61198 for the Teriyaki Sauce and I also used dark soy sauce. I really like to do Once a Month Cooking and I think next time I will freeze the chicken in the marinade to cut out that step. That way all I have to do is pull the chicken the night before and it can marinade all day as it defrosts!) Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      Since Trader Joe's stopped carrying Annie Chun's Garlic Scallions Noodles, I have been trying to find a substitute. I used soba noodles instead of the spaghettini. Everybody loved it. I might add a little garlic and ginger next time. Thanks for posting this recipe. It is important to add only as much sauce as necessary, otherwise it might be too oily or too salty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      Wonderful, simply wonderful! I cut up my chicken prior to frying it, as well, I fried it in Wok oil (with garlic) instead of the sesame oil - hubby isn't a huge fan of sesame oil. I did cut the recipe in half - and we ate it up - even hubby loved it, and he usually doesn't like cold noodles! I did have a bit left over for lunch the next day, and I must say that I do prefer the noodles warm - it tasted better to me when it was reheated. The only change that I will make, besides warm noodles, is to use low salt soy sauce, as I found the recipe to be a bit salty for my liking. Other than that, this is a definite keeper! By the way Mirj, I passed this recipe on to my mom, and she said that it deserves 10 stars, not five! :) Thanks for sharing this! - Christina

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      I was reading the ingredients and all the reviews and thought, "I've got to try this recipe!" It looked delicious and I love sesame seeds! I even ran out to the store to buy a few of the ingredients! I made the recipe pretty close to how it was written, except I used leftover spaghetti noodles. I also was in a bit of a rush, so I mixed up the marinade and used it to marinate the chicken for a shorter time and I used it to cook the chicken in. The chicken was very flavorful. I thought the noodles were a little bit salty and that could have been because of the kind of soy sauce I used. So, maybe if I try this recipe again, I might try to use a low sodium soy sauce instead (or less soy sauce). I may also use a little more sugar, because I think I would have liked the noodles a little bit sweeter. I would like to try this recipe again with a few tweeks here and there like I mentioned to fit my and my family's tastes. But, Mirj, you have inspired me with a new flavorful dish and I thank you bunches for that!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      Loved it! Great recipe... I changed it a bit. I used Tamari instead of the original Soy sauce for the Funky Chicken, and I added chinese Vegi over the Pasta. I doubled the recipe cause it sounded so good I wanted left overs. The Seasame Noodles, OMG Awsome! Thanks Mirj

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      We loved this, mmmmmm.... there were no leftovers! I used a pkg. of fresh chinese noodles but I should have bought 2 because 1 was not enough for the amount of sauce, so I have some sauce left. Guess I'll just have to make more tomorrow!!! I also used less sesame oil because I had less than I thought. The chicken was really good too, loved the flavour the marinade gave it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 900.8
     
    Calories from Fat 206
    22%
    Total Fat 22.9 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 3857.2 mg
    160%
    Total Carbohydrate 124.5 g
    41%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 36.7 g
    147%
    Protein 48.5 g
    97%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites