481 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I guess I'm with the minority here also. The chicken was good...but the noodles were just not for us. I think it's the sesame oil...either you like it or you don't. I cut it back by half and it still didn't taste to us.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelli January 27, 2004

great dish!! cut back the sesame oil a lot, as I find it very strong. Used 1 tablespoon in the noodles, added a splash to the chicken, and cooked it in olive oil. I used thighs and cut them up, wonderful texture and flavour. One hint, if you cut up the chicken dont leave it is the marinade for more then 3 hours, or the flavour becomes a little strong. thanks mirj

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills January 21, 2004

This was a tasty and very easy meal to make. I did make a few changes to suit our tastes and schedule better. I let the chicken marinade overnight, I omitted the scallions, and I used 12oz of noodles (angel hair) instead of 16oz and then halved the other noodle ingredients. I served the noodles immediately after fixing, since we don't really care for noodles cold. I also ended up with way more noodles than chicken. I liked it, but DH said it was only ok. It was fun to branch out and make something different than normal, and I will be making it again. Thanks for posting, Mirj!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ January 19, 2004

Made this last night and it was delicious. I used reduced sodium soya sauce.I especially loved the noodles. I will probably make them on their own as a side dish. Thanks Mirj

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy January 12, 2004

Excellent and easy! I assumed the sesame seeds should be toasted so I did that first. Cut the chicken into strips for marinating and reduced the sesame oil by half (just for our personal taste). I also cooked the chicken in olive oil. The noodles were delicious - Mark went back for seconds - an unusual event! This will become a staple at our house - good enough for company, too! Thanks, Mirj!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee January 11, 2004

We loved the chicken but the noodles were only given an ok rating by my family. Like others I thought the sesame oil was a bit too much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie January 04, 2004

Another mixed response. My family loved the chicken, but thought the noodles were just okay ("too salty", "too oily", "sauce needs to stick to the noodles more"). FOr the chicken, I put about a tablespoon of sesame oil in the marinade, then sauted in canola oil rather than in sesame oil.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktdid January 01, 2004

A new all-time favorite! My kids don't usually like leftovers, but my husband said on the way home from practice our son said he hoped we were having that funky chicken again. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tobago Cay December 19, 2003

Great dish! The noodles are wonderful. We ate them heated. My chicken was still a bit frozen while I was marinating it so I don't think the meat got the full flavor - I'll make sure I've fully thawed the meat next time before I marinate it. It will be made again and I'm thinking you could stir fry some veggies along with the chicken strips and add it right into the dish - tasty!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW December 18, 2003

Served this at a family dinner and all enjoyed it. DS really enjoyed the noodles. However, there was a strong sesame taste to the noodles. Next time I would use a bit less sesame oil in the dressing. The chicken took a long time to cook and next time I will pound it to a uniform thickness. Also, there seemed to be too many noodles for the amount of chicken and I would either add a couple of additional chicken breasts or use less noodles. Thanks for a good recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky December 17, 2003
Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles