481 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

At first I just wasn't going to rate this recipe because so many people like it but I did make it as directed so I will just share my thoughts. I followed the lead of others and halved the oil, but the noodles just still were too oily. My family all agreed we didn't really care for the taste either. The chicken did taste alright. But we all agreed the thing this dish needs is veggies. The oily sesame taste really was overpowering I am sorry Mirj I am a fan of yours, and of other recipes just not this one. But I will not rate it because I believe this is obviously a "love it or hate it" recipe. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bri22 January 14, 2009

I don't know about this so I won't pick a star. Clearly I'm "odd woman out". I had to try it because of all the rave reviews. I followed the recipe exactly and just didn't think it was as great as all the other reviewers. I thought it was okay just not something I'd make again or get all excited about. We love asian and all the ingred. especially soy sauce but guess I was expecting more flavor than just soy sauce based on the reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk January 09, 2009

I have made this on 2 times now, both times we ate the noodles hot/warm I also used less then 1/4 cup of sesame oil on them. Everyone who I have made this for has enjoyed it except for my very picky husband who thought it was lacking flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama23 January 06, 2009

I doubled this recipe for a party and it was a great hit. I like that this recipe uses more sugar than most sesame noodle recipes as this recipe can taste very drab without it. I also left out the chicken as that's not what I was looking for but I will definitely make it with the chicken when I make it next.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scancan December 28, 2008

Yummy!!!! [I even used the organic whole wheat noodles that usually taste "funny."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
satchell December 22, 2008

The sesame noodles are almost a staple in our house now! The chicken is good, but it is the noodles that earned it 5 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather in Georgia December 21, 2008

I really wanted to like this. Made as directed. Just wasn't our thing. I think the noodles were overwhelming to the awesome tasting chicken. I will use the chicken marinade in the future. Good stuff. I am thinking maybe cook w/ chicken to safety, thicken marinade and serve over rice???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camaro Chic December 02, 2008

I made these last night with left over turkey from Thanksgiving. I just marinated the turkey in the sauce for the chicken then warmed it in the skillet. I prepared the noodles just as you posted it. My family ate so much that I had to make a second batch. My 3 year old said it was the best ever. My 11 yo said that I should be on Iron Chef. The 7 yo couldn't talk because he wouldn't stop eating them. My DH is the one that requested more and I made the second batch so he could have some for lunch the next day. These were awesome. Thank you so much for a winning recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KK_Cucina December 02, 2008

July 10, 2007 - DELICIOUS I served this warm and the only change I made was to leave out the scallions because of the onion phobic people in my house. Not only is this so easy (put the chicken in the marinade the night before) but it is DELICIOUS!! Dec 1, 2008 UPDATE: I was craving this dish again but did not have time to marinate the chicken. Instead I marinated it while I was cooking the noodles, then dumped the chicken along with the "Funky" sauce into a Wok and sauteed it until the chicken was done. Then I threw the Sesame Noodles into the Wok and tossed it all together. STILL delicious and now I can have this on a whim!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks December 01, 2008

Wow, what a wonderful dish. I just made this tonight for the first time, but I changed the recipe a little because I already had some cooked chicken. So I sliced the cooked chicken and soaked it in the marinade for about 10 minutes, then poured it and the marinade into a pan, simmered it until the sauce had thickened, then mixed it with the noodles that had been made per the directions. The flavor was astounding, and all 4 of my children loved it. Next time I make this I'll marinate it as directed, but it's good to know that if I need a great dish quickly I can simply forgo marinating it and just quickly cook some chicken with the sauce, and have great results. Thanks for sharing this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HSMOM24 December 01, 2008
Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles