483 Reviews

I used asian rice noodles instead of spaghettini for more of an authentic flavour. The chicken was moist and delicious, the noodles tasty (I did cut back on sesame oil.) Only issue was that it made a TON. Maybe it was the asian noodles? No way 1 lb of those only serves 4! I ate it for 3 days before I threw in the towel, but it was really, really good. I will definitely make again. I think this would be great for entertaining, because you could do so much advance and just whip up the chicken at the end-Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolyn January 26, 2009

My first time making this and I have to admit, we loved it. Even my two finicky kids liked it (5 and 3). I did the smaller amount of sesame oil (less than 1/4 cup), more scallions and a bit more soy sauce. The chicken was super but the noodles made the dish but we as a family love sesame/ginger/teriyaki tasting food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenndog January 16, 2009

At first I just wasn't going to rate this recipe because so many people like it but I did make it as directed so I will just share my thoughts. I followed the lead of others and halved the oil, but the noodles just still were too oily. My family all agreed we didn't really care for the taste either. The chicken did taste alright. But we all agreed the thing this dish needs is veggies. The oily sesame taste really was overpowering I am sorry Mirj I am a fan of yours, and of other recipes just not this one. But I will not rate it because I believe this is obviously a "love it or hate it" recipe. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bri22 January 14, 2009

I don't know about this so I won't pick a star. Clearly I'm "odd woman out". I had to try it because of all the rave reviews. I followed the recipe exactly and just didn't think it was as great as all the other reviewers. I thought it was okay just not something I'd make again or get all excited about. We love asian and all the ingred. especially soy sauce but guess I was expecting more flavor than just soy sauce based on the reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk January 09, 2009

I have made this on 2 times now, both times we ate the noodles hot/warm I also used less then 1/4 cup of sesame oil on them. Everyone who I have made this for has enjoyed it except for my very picky husband who thought it was lacking flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama23 January 06, 2009

I doubled this recipe for a party and it was a great hit. I like that this recipe uses more sugar than most sesame noodle recipes as this recipe can taste very drab without it. I also left out the chicken as that's not what I was looking for but I will definitely make it with the chicken when I make it next.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scancan December 28, 2008

Yummy!!!! [I even used the organic whole wheat noodles that usually taste "funny."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
satchell December 22, 2008

The sesame noodles are almost a staple in our house now! The chicken is good, but it is the noodles that earned it 5 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather in Georgia December 21, 2008

I really wanted to like this. Made as directed. Just wasn't our thing. I think the noodles were overwhelming to the awesome tasting chicken. I will use the chicken marinade in the future. Good stuff. I am thinking maybe cook w/ chicken to safety, thicken marinade and serve over rice???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camaro Chic December 02, 2008

I made these last night with left over turkey from Thanksgiving. I just marinated the turkey in the sauce for the chicken then warmed it in the skillet. I prepared the noodles just as you posted it. My family ate so much that I had to make a second batch. My 3 year old said it was the best ever. My 11 yo said that I should be on Iron Chef. The 7 yo couldn't talk because he wouldn't stop eating them. My DH is the one that requested more and I made the second batch so he could have some for lunch the next day. These were awesome. Thank you so much for a winning recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KK_Cucina December 02, 2008
Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles