481 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well, I hate to be in the minority here, but my family really didn't care at all for the noodles, they just sort of pushed them around the plate. The chicken on the other hand was ok. I might try the chicken cut into strips and sauted with veggies and served with fried rice next time.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimm January 13, 2004

We all loved the chicken. It turned out great - very tasty outside and moist inside. But the noodles didn't appeal to us - may be a matter of taste, but we thought they were a bit too oily, even though I had cut the amounts in half. I'd definitely use the chicken marinade again though. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP January 09, 2004

While I wouldn't say this was a recipe that people would die over, it was still a very good recipe and will be served often! With some changes to bring down the calories a bit. I used perhaps just 2 T of sesame oil for the noodle mixture. Used lower sodium soy sauce, too. Instead of spaghettini, I used Tofu Shirataki noodles, which are found usually with the tofu products in your local grocery store (only 40 calories for a whole bag, and I used 2 bags in this recipe to equal 1 pound of pasta. Wow, can't beat the calorie savings!) I also diced the chicken prior to marinading it, and added another 2 T of sesame oil to the chicken marinade. Did not sautee in sesame oil, used EVOO instead. Turned out great! If you ever try it with the Shirataki noodles, be sure to read the directions well and follow them exactly for cooking.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris #5 May 15, 2010

I REALLY liked the chicken and its marinade. But the sesame noodles were a little heavy/dull for my taste. I'm going to play mad scientist and make your chicken with the noodles from Bill Gary's Chinese Spaghetti #35894. They seemed to pop a little more in my mouth. Thanks again for the chicken marinade, Mirj. I will use that over and over! It's fantastic!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sidMILB February 12, 2004

Excellent dish! I don't know which I like better, the chicken or the noodles?! They are both so flavorful and could be a meal on their own. This recipe had all my favorite ingredients so I knew I'd love it. It was very easy to prepare. I used reduced sodium soy sauce and teriyaki sauce and it was perfect. I will definitely be using the marinade for grilling this summer too. Thanks Mirj!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J e l i s a December 18, 2003

Amazing! If I could give it more stars I would. I loved that it made a lot as I could share it with my mom. My family loved it, half liked the chicken the best and half the noodles so its perfect. Taste like you spent forever in the kitchen but you don't. We did eat it warm as we not really into chilled food. It will be a favorite for a long time and I've emailed copies to friends thanks for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pumpkie December 16, 2003

WONDERFUL, WOW, EXCELLENT! I can not say enough about this recipe. I absolutely LOVE it. I made it exactly as posted and wouldn't change a thing. This is a definite keeper and will be showing up on our table many times. Served cold or hot, you can't go wrong. Thank you for sharing this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lesa S December 13, 2003

Reading over the reviews it appears that people either loved the recipe or were not too fond of it Well I loved the whole recipe . I cut the recipe back to two servings - no problem. I did as suggested, cut back on the Sesame oil for the spaghetti , used black sesame seeds, and Splenda in stead of sugar. I had chicken thighs (boneless) on hand so used them instead of breasts. I warmed thepasta to just above room temp before serving and had the chicken hot with steamed asparagus on the side. Thanks Mirjam for a great recipe - yep we inhaled it!.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 03, 2004

We really enjoyed this dish. I took the comments of others into consideration and only put about 2 tbsp of sesame oil in - or even less. I also added black pepper to the noodles and some peas which gave it a great flavor. We will make this again - would be great with toasted cashews too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blisstir March 02, 2004

You can please some of the people some of the time - you can please all of the people some of the time - but you'll never please all of the people all of the time and so it is with this dish! You either like the noodles or you don't - its all a matter of taste. We didn't like the noodles BUT we loved the chicken! I'll use that part of the recipe again in a standard veggie stir fry. Thanx Mirj!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady February 11, 2004
Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles