Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles

    Average Rating:

    477 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 477

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2003

      Oh Mirj, I can't even tell you how much we loved this. You were so right about the inhaling part, lol! First off, I marinated the chicken. I added about 1 TBSP of sesame oil to the marinade, because I wanted to saute the chicken in olive oil. I also cut the chicken breast into fillets for faster cooking. When making the noodles, I realized I had no green onions, so I subbed shallots--worked just fine sliced nice and thin. Very easy dish with great flavor results. I had to take the bowl of noodles off the table to stop my husband from eating it. I also halved the recipe. Just delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      True, I have a picky family, but in case someone else does, too, I thought I might balance out all the raves by sharing that this dish was not a hit at my house. I made this for a dinner for 10 people. My husband and eldest took one taste of the noodles and returned them to the serving dish; they then ate just the meat and said I shouldn't make it again. My middle son tried the dish and pronounced it "ok". My younger son and daughter hated it and made omelettes. I was very disappointed in their reactions since I found it very simple to prepare and did think it was tasty. My brother and his family were eating here and they all seemed pleased with the dish -- my brother even called it "a prize-winning dinner". Still, nobody inhaled the noodles or freaked out over how delicious this was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      We did not like this at all. WAY too much sesame oil/soy/sugar in the pasta. I'd go with 1 cup stock with 1/3 of the other ingredients. The flavor was too overpowering and cloying with all that sugar/salt/sesame flavor. The chicken marinade was way too sweet. It was difficult to cook the chicken without the marinade turning black. Also, the fat content of this dish is very high. In my house, 1 pound of pasta does not feed 10 poeple. Clearly, given the reviews here we are not mainstream in our tastes, but this recipe was a disappointment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2003

      Made this last night, and the chicken was FANTASTIC! I put my chicken in the marinade over night, and also cut the chicken into strips before putting in the marinade (to save on time) It turned out wonderful, will use same marinade again for sure. As for the noodles, I didnt much care for them. The sesame oil was abit much for me and my daughter. Next time I'll try something different. But I will definetly make again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      We loved this! I did make a sort of major substitution as I used salmon instead of chicken. I had went to the grocery to purchase all the ingredients and then realized at home I had no chicken. The salmon marinated overnight. I took this to a potluck and it was literally inhaled. I thought there would be alot leftover as it makes so much--no such luck. Many people wanted the recipe and we will definately make it again. I want to try it with the chicken but the salmon was divine! I think the salmon would be great grilled too! Thanks for a great recipe! 3-12-2007 Can I just say WE LOVE THIS RECIPE!! We are going to have it tonight and my mouth is watering. We always use salmon and love it that way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      Amazing! I love sesame noodles and these are the best! I made it with the chicken but I will eat the cold noodles without! I would give this recipe more stars if I could!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      Not sure why this is classified under healthy recipes on this website with the high fat and sodium content. In fact I modified it quite a bit to make it more healthy. I used low sodium soy and a quarter cup of honey (instead of sugar) and made only one cup of marinade which I divided between the chicken and the noodles. Skipped the oil in the marinade and added a few squeezes of fresh lime juice instead. I did not have fresh ginger so I added a dash of red curry instead. Instead of pouring oily marinade over the noodles I sauteed some crushed garlic in 2 tablespoons of oil and added the noodles. I stir fried the noodles with the soy/honey/ginger/currry/lime marinade for about 2-3 minutes and then added the sesame seeds. The noodles were a hit and they were not greasy or salty, The chicken was just okay which is the reason for the 4 stars. Next time I will add a few veggies like broccoli to the chicken to make it a little more interesting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      I wish I would have read ALL the reviews before I made this! I liked the chicken, but the noodles?? Not my favorite - too much oil and my husband wouldn't even eat them. The chicken was good - I added some stir fry veggies, but I dont think I will make this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      My husband LOVED it! The noodles had too much sesame oil for my taste. Next time I will do 1/2 sesame oil and 1/2 terriyaki. The chicken was FABULOUS and I will most likely make it without the noodles soon. My kids (4.5 and 2.5) did not like it at all which surprised me because they love chinese type food. I will make it again for hubby and I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2004

      After tasting the noodles I knew they would be too bland for our taste,so I threw in a tsp or so of Thai chili garlic paste that I had bought for another recipe which gave them a little kick. Over all a good recipe but not as great as all the raves. Will be making again because of the ease of prep and nice flavor. I served the chicken over hot spaghett.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      Well, I hate to be in the minority here, but my family really didn't care at all for the noodles, they just sort of pushed them around the plate. The chicken on the other hand was ok. I might try the chicken cut into strips and sauted with veggies and served with fried rice next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      We all loved the chicken. It turned out great - very tasty outside and moist inside. But the noodles didn't appeal to us - may be a matter of taste, but we thought they were a bit too oily, even though I had cut the amounts in half. I'd definitely use the chicken marinade again though. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      While I wouldn't say this was a recipe that people would die over, it was still a very good recipe and will be served often! With some changes to bring down the calories a bit. I used perhaps just 2 T of sesame oil for the noodle mixture. Used lower sodium soy sauce, too. Instead of spaghettini, I used Tofu Shirataki noodles, which are found usually with the tofu products in your local grocery store (only 40 calories for a whole bag, and I used 2 bags in this recipe to equal 1 pound of pasta. Wow, can't beat the calorie savings!) I also diced the chicken prior to marinading it, and added another 2 T of sesame oil to the chicken marinade. Did not sautee in sesame oil, used EVOO instead. Turned out great! If you ever try it with the Shirataki noodles, be sure to read the directions well and follow them exactly for cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      I REALLY liked the chicken and its marinade. But the sesame noodles were a little heavy/dull for my taste. I'm going to play mad scientist and make your chicken with the noodles from Bill Gary's Chinese Spaghetti #35894. They seemed to pop a little more in my mouth. Thanks again for the chicken marinade, Mirj. I will use that over and over! It's fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      Excellent dish! I don't know which I like better, the chicken or the noodles?! They are both so flavorful and could be a meal on their own. This recipe had all my favorite ingredients so I knew I'd love it. It was very easy to prepare. I used reduced sodium soy sauce and teriyaki sauce and it was perfect. I will definitely be using the marinade for grilling this summer too. Thanks Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2003

      Amazing! If I could give it more stars I would. I loved that it made a lot as I could share it with my mom. My family loved it, half liked the chicken the best and half the noodles so its perfect. Taste like you spent forever in the kitchen but you don't. We did eat it warm as we not really into chilled food. It will be a favorite for a long time and I've emailed copies to friends thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      WONDERFUL, WOW, EXCELLENT! I can not say enough about this recipe. I absolutely LOVE it. I made it exactly as posted and wouldn't change a thing. This is a definite keeper and will be showing up on our table many times. Served cold or hot, you can't go wrong. Thank you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2004

      Reading over the reviews it appears that people either loved the recipe or were not too fond of it Well I loved the whole recipe . I cut the recipe back to two servings - no problem. I did as suggested, cut back on the Sesame oil for the spaghetti , used black sesame seeds, and Splenda in stead of sugar. I had chicken thighs (boneless) on hand so used them instead of breasts. I warmed thepasta to just above room temp before serving and had the chicken hot with steamed asparagus on the side. Thanks Mirjam for a great recipe - yep we inhaled it!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2004

      We really enjoyed this dish. I took the comments of others into consideration and only put about 2 tbsp of sesame oil in - or even less. I also added black pepper to the noodles and some peas which gave it a great flavor. We will make this again - would be great with toasted cashews too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      You can please some of the people some of the time - you can please all of the people some of the time - but you'll never please all of the people all of the time and so it is with this dish! You either like the noodles or you don't - its all a matter of taste. We didn't like the noodles BUT we loved the chicken! I'll use that part of the recipe again in a standard veggie stir fry. Thanx Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 24

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 900.8
     
    Calories from Fat 206
    22%
    Total Fat 22.9 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 3857.2 mg
    160%
    Total Carbohydrate 124.5 g
    41%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 36.7 g
    147%
    Protein 48.5 g
    97%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes