480 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh Mirj, I can't even tell you how much we loved this. You were so right about the inhaling part, lol! First off, I marinated the chicken. I added about 1 TBSP of sesame oil to the marinade, because I wanted to saute the chicken in olive oil. I also cut the chicken breast into fillets for faster cooking. When making the noodles, I realized I had no green onions, so I subbed shallots--worked just fine sliced nice and thin. Very easy dish with great flavor results. I had to take the bowl of noodles off the table to stop my husband from eating it. I also halved the recipe. Just delicious! Thanks for sharing!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao December 04, 2003

True, I have a picky family, but in case someone else does, too, I thought I might balance out all the raves by sharing that this dish was not a hit at my house. I made this for a dinner for 10 people. My husband and eldest took one taste of the noodles and returned them to the serving dish; they then ate just the meat and said I shouldn't make it again. My middle son tried the dish and pronounced it "ok". My younger son and daughter hated it and made omelettes. I was very disappointed in their reactions since I found it very simple to prepare and did think it was tasty. My brother and his family were eating here and they all seemed pleased with the dish -- my brother even called it "a prize-winning dinner". Still, nobody inhaled the noodles or freaked out over how delicious this was.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
libidess December 30, 2003

We did not like this at all. WAY too much sesame oil/soy/sugar in the pasta. I'd go with 1 cup stock with 1/3 of the other ingredients. The flavor was too overpowering and cloying with all that sugar/salt/sesame flavor. The chicken marinade was way too sweet. It was difficult to cook the chicken without the marinade turning black. Also, the fat content of this dish is very high. In my house, 1 pound of pasta does not feed 10 poeple. Clearly, given the reviews here we are not mainstream in our tastes, but this recipe was a disappointment.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oldowan January 26, 2004

Made this last night, and the chicken was FANTASTIC! I put my chicken in the marinade over night, and also cut the chicken into strips before putting in the marinade (to save on time) It turned out wonderful, will use same marinade again for sure. As for the noodles, I didnt much care for them. The sesame oil was abit much for me and my daughter. Next time I'll try something different. But I will definetly make again. Thanks for posting!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandi Ranta December 10, 2003

We loved this! I did make a sort of major substitution as I used salmon instead of chicken. I had went to the grocery to purchase all the ingredients and then realized at home I had no chicken. The salmon marinated overnight. I took this to a potluck and it was literally inhaled. I thought there would be alot leftover as it makes so much--no such luck. Many people wanted the recipe and we will definately make it again. I want to try it with the chicken but the salmon was divine! I think the salmon would be great grilled too! Thanks for a great recipe! 3-12-2007 Can I just say WE LOVE THIS RECIPE!! We are going to have it tonight and my mouth is watering. We always use salmon and love it that way!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimke March 12, 2007

Amazing! I love sesame noodles and these are the best! I made it with the chicken but I will eat the cold noodles without! I would give this recipe more stars if I could!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee December 08, 2003

Not sure why this is classified under healthy recipes on this website with the high fat and sodium content. In fact I modified it quite a bit to make it more healthy. I used low sodium soy and a quarter cup of honey (instead of sugar) and made only one cup of marinade which I divided between the chicken and the noodles. Skipped the oil in the marinade and added a few squeezes of fresh lime juice instead. I did not have fresh ginger so I added a dash of red curry instead. Instead of pouring oily marinade over the noodles I sauteed some crushed garlic in 2 tablespoons of oil and added the noodles. I stir fried the noodles with the soy/honey/ginger/currry/lime marinade for about 2-3 minutes and then added the sesame seeds. The noodles were a hit and they were not greasy or salty, The chicken was just okay which is the reason for the 4 stars. Next time I will add a few veggies like broccoli to the chicken to make it a little more interesting.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dr.momde47 September 27, 2010

I wish I would have read ALL the reviews before I made this! I liked the chicken, but the noodles?? Not my favorite - too much oil and my husband wouldn't even eat them. The chicken was good - I added some stir fry veggies, but I dont think I will make this dish again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blakey February 12, 2004

My husband LOVED it! The noodles had too much sesame oil for my taste. Next time I will do 1/2 sesame oil and 1/2 terriyaki. The chicken was FABULOUS and I will most likely make it without the noodles soon. My kids (4.5 and 2.5) did not like it at all which surprised me because they love chinese type food. I will make it again for hubby and I

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Creativewaystosave January 10, 2004

After tasting the noodles I knew they would be too bland for our taste,so I threw in a tsp or so of Thai chili garlic paste that I had bought for another recipe which gave them a little kick. Over all a good recipe but not as great as all the raves. Will be making again because of the ease of prep and nice flavor. I served the chicken over hot spaghett.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
earlybird February 01, 2004
Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles