10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Another 5 star "star recipe". I did use a vegetable cube due to a vegetarian daughter, and threw in a few more mushrooms-we had this for the gravy portion of "fries and Gravy" for Canada Day. This would be excellent for a baked or twice baked potato topping.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's July 01, 2002

Very tasty and easy to make. I added thyme and served this over meatloaf and mashed potatoes....yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hayleysuzanne May 20, 2009

I referred to this recipe to serve with the meatloaf 33921. While I barely followed this recipe I felt it required a review. I had a tiny bit of some onion. garlic and celery and concentrated chick stock left in the pan from the meatloaf in which I fried the mushroom, then added red wine. more chicken stock, salt and pepper and instead of the cornflour I used arrowroot as directed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canthelpmyself November 24, 2008

I, too, made this to accompany SaraFish's Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (really!) [#33921] and they were perfect together. Bisto is available here Manhattan and I used Better Than Bouillon Mushroom Base. What was leftover lost its thickness, so a bit of cornflour or cornstarch could be added during preparation if Bisto is used. Thanks for sharing, Mille!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen in Gotham June 19, 2008

I used this gravy for a lentul loaf. It was very tasty. I wasnt sure what kind of bouillon cube was recommended so I used a beef cube. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngAustinBrody October 22, 2006

Fantastic. I totally forgot the onions and it was still great. Easy, cheap, yummy and vegetarian. What else could I ask for? I served this over a vegi-meat loaf and red mashed potatoes. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker October 25, 2005

Wow!!!, absolutly delicious!, thanks a lot for such wonderful recipe!...I was tipped about this wonder in one of the reviews of SaraFish's Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (really!) [#33921] Is amazing!.Alredy in my favs.Greets :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Ollin* September 22, 2005

Good Gravy this is good gravy! I had some meatloaf in the freezer and decided that I wanted some gravy with it - SSSsOoooo I picked this recipe. Miller I am sorry to confess I did not use onions because the meatloaf had lots of them in it - Forgive me? It was super gravy even with out the onions. Thanks Miller made my dinner I fork mashed it with my spuds too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy November 05, 2004

Bravo, Miller! I was really surprised that there don't seem to be more than two mushroom gravy recipes here on 'Zaar. I chose yours, and am glad I did. Very simple and very tasty. I used beef Better Than Boullion and served this over SaraFish's Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (really!) [#33921] and it was a great, healthy meal. I added about just shy of a tablespoon of sour cream to this because I was wanting a more creamy/milky texture and it was perfect. I also added a pinch of thyme because thyme and mushrooms are the tastiest combo I know of. Funny recipe title. As I was cooking this my boyfriend started calling from the bedroom, "Mmmm! Something smells GOOD!" It tasted as good as it smelled. Thanks for posting this; We really enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie April 30, 2004
Fungus Gravy